Falcon Centscreen NVDI two bombs on boot

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

JoeAtari
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Falcon Centscreen NVDI two bombs on boot

Postby JoeAtari » Tue Feb 14, 2017 12:34 am

I have a new Falcon, and I have been working on using Centscreen and Centvidel to get a higher screen resolution. The Centscreen version is 3.5.2, with NVDI 5.03. Centscreen is sorted after NVDI in the auto folder. I have stripped everything down so no other Auto programs, desk accessories or CPXs are running for testing purposes. If I run Centscreen with NVDI, I get two bombs at boot every time. Without NVDI, Centscreen works as it should.

This Falcon has no clock patch or SCSI mod installed. Does this have anything to do with the problem? I'm not using it for Cubase right now, so I would like to leave the main board clean without the patches if I can.

Thanks!
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

JoeAtari
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Falcon Centscreen NVDI two bombs on boot

Postby JoeAtari » Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:00 am

I think this was a problem with video settings in NVRAM. Once I changed the NVRAM settings and saved them the bombs went away. I set it to boot in 256 colors, 80 columns, no double line, NTSC.

Thanks!
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 533
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Falcon Centscreen NVDI two bombs on boot

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:10 am

Just a quick tip, if you want to have a faster boot, set the NVRAM to boot in mono, you can after adjust the right resolution on the desktop.
I am using VIDEL INSIDE to have extended resolutions and it works great with NVDI 5.03 on my unmodified Falcon
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11459
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Falcon Centscreen NVDI two bombs on boot

Postby wongck » Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:48 am

I run VIDEL INSIDE at 800x600 (592) 256C on my CT63 Falcon before I got my CTPCI/Radeon.
IIRC I had NVDI 5 as well.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest