PHNews and atari-forum.com

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, lp, [ProToS], moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Kroll » Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:57 am

Hi,

I have some problem with PHNews, It can not to connect with this server, It is OK when change feed URL to news.google.com.
Do you have the same?

Regards
Kroll

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4155
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Dal » Sat Sep 27, 2014 9:26 am

The rss feed provider is broken on the forum. I'm currently looking at this
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4155
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Dal » Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:02 am

Smartfeed is working again, please use the link at the Smartfeed link to configure your personal feed and generate a url.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Kroll » Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:42 am

HI,

sorry but I dont know what I need to do. I run phnews and in configure new feed url and what next ?
Thanks for any help

Regards
Kroll

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4155
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Dal » Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:46 am

I imagine it should just work? I've created my own smart feed url here and pasted it into a news reader I use on my mac and it seems to be working ok
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Kroll » Sat Sep 27, 2014 11:20 am

I add in configure news feed url www.atari-forum.com/index.php but still not working

Regards
Kroll

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4155
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Dal » Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:16 pm

nope, that's not the way...

1. Click on the smart feed link in the forum banner (top right hand corner where you see links for logout, Members, FAQ etc)
2. Configure your feed (by default your feed will contain posts from all forums to which you have access). You can remove forums that don't interest you from your feed.
3. look at all the other settings - for example you can include PM notifications in your own feed.
4. Finally, at the bottom, click the Generate button. This will give you your own personal feed url. This is what needs to go into your client.

Alternatively you can use the native phpbb feed which is just: www.atari-forum.com/feed.php
But this is not configurable like smart feed is.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Kroll » Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:42 pm

Still the same, problem is because

www.atari-forum.com/feed.php is not working too

Regards
Kroll

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12324
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby wongck » Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:48 pm

Not sure why but the url feed.php seems to be returning a HTTP 403 error - forbidden.

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//IETF//DTD HTML 2.0//EN">
<html><head>
<title>403 Forbidden</title>
</head><body>
<h1>Forbidden</h1>
<p>You don't have permission to access /feed.php
on this server.</p>
</body></html>



Does it expect some sort of cookies headers ?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12324
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby wongck » Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:54 pm

Kroll... you should see a file called news.xml inside /ram. The error message is inside the file.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4155
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Dal » Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:52 pm

Ah - that would explain the critical mod security alerts in my audit log.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12324
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby wongck » Sun Sep 28, 2014 1:51 am

Previous forum setting allows feed without authentication.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Kroll » Sun Sep 28, 2014 8:50 am

wongck wrote:Kroll... you should see a file called news.xml inside /ram. The error message is inside the file.


it seems to me that the problem lies elsewhere, Look at this, but the this completely unreadable for me. I run PHnews during the start computer it connect with news.google.com and I can change category etc. but in the windown configure news feed URL whe I change and set feed.php It does not react (stille google news). Maybe you knon other news which can I check.

Wongck:
I dont know but I can not upload this file (I send you on e-mail)

Regards
Kroll

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12324
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby wongck » Sun Sep 28, 2014 10:37 am

My bad.
You will not get a file. The program will return the error. But l changed my program to save the error so that i can see it.
So your program will not save the file if an error happens.

We know the issue now.
May be Dal will lower the security.

I have not seen how to fix this yet but probably need you to logon to it before it works. But old forum does not need you to.

Anyway, I am away from my atari this week.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Kroll » Fri May 18, 2018 7:31 pm

I wolud like ask you again, bacause, for several days I have also noticed that I have a problem again that I do not want to connect to this forum (the address is: feed.php). Have you noticed a similar problem or something wrong with my configuration again ?
Other RSS feeds are working properly.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12324
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby wongck » Sat May 19, 2018 5:00 am

I am away from my Atari on business trip and will be back only on Sunday night. So I guess I only have time on Monday.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby Kroll » Sat May 19, 2018 7:00 pm

Wongck:
Today I have noticed that this forum works again. It is mean that it was a problem with server. I'm sorry for the trouble

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12324
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PHNews and atari-forum.com

Postby wongck » Sun May 20, 2018 2:23 pm

Glad it is working for you now.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests