looking for falcon nvram...

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

yungjoon
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:15 am
Location: France

looking for falcon nvram...

Postby yungjoon » Sat Jul 12, 2014 1:25 pm

Hi,

I would like to replace my falcon nvram but I don't know where I can find one. I thought best eletronics was the solution but no more nvram to sell now.

Where can I buy one ?

Thanks...

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: looking for falcon nvram...

Postby rpineau » Sat Jul 12, 2014 3:52 pm

I got mine from Jameco in USA :
https://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/store ... _133452_-1
Works perfectly.
Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1128
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: looking for falcon nvram...

Postby dhedberg » Sat Jul 12, 2014 6:00 pm

yungjoon wrote:I would like to replace my falcon nvram but I don't know where I can find one. I thought best eletronics was the solution but no more nvram to sell now.

You can get samples for free from Maxim as long as you have a company e-mail address, i.e., not gmail, yahoo, etc.
https://shop.maximintegrated.com/storef ... DS12887%2B
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo and feel the JOY.

Guest

Re: looking for falcon nvram...

Postby Guest » Fri Aug 01, 2014 9:23 pm

just fix the battery

post a pic of the type inside your machine use macro mode on a camera with no flash and good all round light

and you can simply drill in and connect a cell two wires using a burr bit and any drill
a cell holder for a CR2032 etc £1 shop 6 or 8 pack lithium cells
in essence any cell in these packs will mostly do even a cr 2016 will work for 5 years

drill the chip solder two wires

take some pics. -.-

yungjoon
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:15 am
Location: France

Re: looking for falcon nvram...

Postby yungjoon » Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:25 am

Hi,

I was given a new dallas DS12887 chip and installed it.

But my falcon don't boot, I still get a black screen.

From simbo posts, I saw that I had to shortcircuit pin 12 and 22 for 5s. I am a bit noob, are they pins I spotted in the picture?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: looking for falcon nvram...

Postby Dal » Thu Sep 18, 2014 9:03 am

Pin 22 is one more to the left.

Don't just solder the new chip in place, install a low profile good quality dip socket. Then plug the chip into it - you'll thank yourself in years to come.

Also, check your soldering, you need a fair amount to make a good solid connection either side of the board.

Finally, you can initialise new NVRAM by holding CTRL+ALT+RIGHTSHIFT+UNDO during boot.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: looking for falcon nvram...

Postby paul92706 » Wed Oct 29, 2014 5:50 am

Nice desoldering and cleanup, wish my work was that good! :cheers:
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests