What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk video

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
AtariSociety
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:38 pm

What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk video

Postby AtariSociety » Fri Feb 07, 2014 1:42 am

I like this status bar style docky at the bottom left of this zDesk video.

Is this a 3rd party app I can use with Mint system on say a Firebee?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBBYCUf3XbQ

I have also seen square icon boxes at the bottom of some Atari videos (like NeXTSTEP) and wondered what that app or docky is.

TJ

User avatar
Rajah Lone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 12:27 pm
Location: Lyon / France
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby Rajah Lone » Fri Feb 07, 2014 1:48 am

http://the.zorro.free.fr/ztask.html

This version need 68881 processor, so this archive doesn't work. I see the sources besides, and wonder why a recompilation for ColdFire hasn't been done yet. I'll try to do it myself this week-end.

User avatar
Rajah Lone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 12:27 pm
Location: Lyon / France
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby Rajah Lone » Fri Feb 07, 2014 2:31 am

Well, it was quick with gcc-cross-compilation under Xcode/MacOSX... and it seems to work fairly on my FireBee.

Please use it at your own risk. I'm not a C guy, just a GFA coder. Sources are provided: Makefile and debug.c were modified.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby joska » Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:43 pm

AtariSociety wrote:I have also seen square icon boxes at the bottom of some Atari videos (like NeXTSTEP) and wondered what that app or docky is.


You mean something like this?

taskbar.jpg


This is an upcoming version of Taskbar.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
AtariSociety
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby AtariSociety » Sat Feb 08, 2014 11:31 pm

Joska, yes love it!

What desktop are you using here? Thing? Teradesk? Other?

Can the taskbar be pinned to right or left side rather than at bottom?

Btw, with a running app from the taskbar, how do you know the app is running or in background? Does the taskbar icon change or ?

Very cool!

TJ

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12801
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby wongck » Sun Feb 09, 2014 2:18 am

joska wrote:You mean something like this?


Whoa, Joska ... Nice mono theme desktop you got there. :thumbs: :angel:
The wall paper is Pacman (could also be minion) ?

And that new taskbar looks fantastic. :D
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby joska » Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:09 am

AtariSociety wrote:What desktop are you using here? Thing? Teradesk? Other?


It's Teradesk. The icons can be found here. The same icons are used in Taskbar.

AtariSociety wrote:Can the taskbar be pinned to right or left side rather than at bottom?


Not yet.

AtariSociety wrote:Btw, with a running app from the taskbar, how do you know the app is running or in background? Does the taskbar icon change or ?


Take another look at the screenshot :)
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby joska » Sun Feb 09, 2014 11:29 am

Rajah Lone wrote:Well, it was quick with gcc-cross-compilation under Xcode/MacOSX... and it seems to work fairly on my FireBee.


I just tried it under XaAES on my Firebee. It seems to be using 8-9% CPU constantly, which IMO is way too much for such a tool.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

OL
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 522
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby OL » Sun Feb 09, 2014 1:19 pm

joska wrote:
Rajah Lone wrote:Well, it was quick with gcc-cross-compilation under Xcode/MacOSX... and it seems to work fairly on my FireBee.


I just tried it under XaAES on my Firebee. It seems to be using 8-9% CPU constantly, which IMO is way too much for such a tool.


Yes Ztask use a very small timer in evnt_multi() this is why it load so many the system.

Olivier
OL

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5171
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Feb 09, 2014 1:50 pm

joska wrote:
AtariSociety wrote:I have also seen square icon boxes at the bottom of some Atari videos (like NeXTSTEP) and wondered what that app or docky is.


You mean something like this?

taskbar.jpg


This is an upcoming version of Taskbar.



Would a backport to 16color EGA palette and 32x32 pxiels size be possible? Those look great and I think they would work nicely in 32x32 too...
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby joska » Sun Feb 09, 2014 2:45 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:Would a backport to 16color EGA palette and 32x32 pxiels size be possible? Those look great and I think they would work nicely in 32x32 too...


The icons are not mine. Taskbar itself can handle icons of "any" (within the limitations of the AES) size. You can use the 32x32 version (which already exists) of the icons in my screenshot, no problem.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

OL
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 522
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby OL » Sun Feb 09, 2014 7:51 pm

AtariSociety wrote:I like this status bar style docky at the bottom left of this zDesk video.

Is this a 3rd party app I can use with Mint system on say a Firebee?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBBYCUf3XbQ

I have also seen square icon boxes at the bottom of some Atari videos (like NeXTSTEP) and wondered what that app or docky is.

TJ


Or something like this:

yopla.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
OL

mdivancic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:59 pm
Location: Lyman, Maine USA

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby mdivancic » Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:23 pm

Where does one find the stuff to do the cool 3D windows and stuff?
Mikey
Atari Falcon 030, CT-63 w/128MB @ 76MHz, 14 MB RamGizmo, SuperVidel + SvethLANa
Atari TT030, CaTTamaran, 4 MB ST-Ram, 16 MB TT-RAM, ECL2VGA
Amiga 4000T (QuickPak), OS 3.9, QuickPak 060 w/128 MB, Picasso IV, A2065, AD516
Commodore 128D, 1084S monitor, RAMLink, CMD 4.1GB Hardrive
Commodore SX-64

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby joska » Mon Feb 10, 2014 6:38 pm

mdivancic wrote:Where does one find the stuff to do the cool 3D windows and stuff?


The screenshots shows XaAES and MyAES. So you need one of these :)

http://wiki.sparemint.org
http://myaes.lutece.net
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

mdivancic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:59 pm
Location: Lyman, Maine USA

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby mdivancic » Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:06 am

joska wrote:
mdivancic wrote:Where does one find the stuff to do the cool 3D windows and stuff?


The screenshots shows XaAES and MyAES. So you need one of these :)

http://wiki.sparemint.org
http://myaes.lutece.net


I'm running XaAES on my MiNT installation, but haven't been able to find much on this part of the system.
Mikey
Atari Falcon 030, CT-63 w/128MB @ 76MHz, 14 MB RamGizmo, SuperVidel + SvethLANa
Atari TT030, CaTTamaran, 4 MB ST-Ram, 16 MB TT-RAM, ECL2VGA
Amiga 4000T (QuickPak), OS 3.9, QuickPak 060 w/128 MB, Picasso IV, A2065, AD516
Commodore 128D, 1084S monitor, RAMLink, CMD 4.1GB Hardrive
Commodore SX-64

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby joska » Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:43 am

mdivancic wrote:I'm running XaAES on my MiNT installation, but haven't been able to find much on this part of the system.


Which part are you referring to? My screenshot is showing plain XaAES on a truecolour screen. Olivier's screenshot is showing MyAES in truecolour. Maybe you're using 16 or 256 colours? Both XaAES and MyAES will look a lot "flatter" in lesser colour depths.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

mdivancic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:59 pm
Location: Lyman, Maine USA

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby mdivancic » Tue Feb 11, 2014 12:03 pm

joska wrote:
mdivancic wrote:I'm running XaAES on my MiNT installation, but haven't been able to find much on this part of the system.


Which part are you referring to? My screenshot is showing plain XaAES on a truecolour screen. Olivier's screenshot is showing MyAES in truecolour. Maybe you're using 16 or 256 colours? Both XaAES and MyAES will look a lot "flatter" in lesser colour depths.

Both have 3D window gadgets and 3D themes for the desktop, not the standard one I'm running. Basically I'm asking where you got the theme from?
Mikey
Atari Falcon 030, CT-63 w/128MB @ 76MHz, 14 MB RamGizmo, SuperVidel + SvethLANa
Atari TT030, CaTTamaran, 4 MB ST-Ram, 16 MB TT-RAM, ECL2VGA
Amiga 4000T (QuickPak), OS 3.9, QuickPak 060 w/128 MB, Picasso IV, A2065, AD516
Commodore 128D, 1084S monitor, RAMLink, CMD 4.1GB Hardrive
Commodore SX-64

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby calimero » Tue Feb 11, 2014 6:26 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:Would a backport to 16color EGA palette and 32x32 pxiels size be possible? Those look great and I think they would work nicely in 32x32 too...

I was wonder same question :)

EDIT: apparently, 16 colors version is included! from readme.txt:

"All the icons are available in the
standard size of 48x48 pnts., in the 256 (NVDI palette), 16 (NVDI palette)
and 2 colour variants."


btw joska, can we expect your new task bar/manager? :angel:
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby joska » Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:30 pm

mdivancic wrote:Both have 3D window gadgets and 3D themes for the desktop, not the standard one I'm running. Basically I'm asking where you got the theme from?


I can't speak for MyAES as I'm no MyAES user, but the "theme" in my screenshot is standard XaAES except for the window widgets.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12801
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby wongck » Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:25 am

mdivancic wrote:Both have 3D window gadgets and 3D themes for the desktop, not the standard one I'm running. Basically I'm asking where you got the theme from?


Not sure about "theme". I don't have any themes myself but some settings for Xaaes that makes it looks nicer.

Try in your Xaaes.cnf file

Code: Select all

gradients=1

or

Code: Select all

gradients=g_blue

( or any of the g_*or n_* files).
I thought that the default should be 1, meaning you should be already seeing the 3D effects or at least that (ugly to me) texture effect.

I also changed the widget to my own creation. But you can use one of those predefined ones, like Magic style:

Code: Select all

widgets= widgets/magicwdg.rsc


The wallpaper, well you already know how to do that...
(or there were already plenty queries about this in this forum)
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12801
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby wongck » Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:42 am

BTW... you need to turn colour to 32 bits or hi-colour mode.
Not sure what it is called in SV.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

OL
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 522
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby OL » Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:18 pm

joska wrote:
mdivancic wrote:Both have 3D window gadgets and 3D themes for the desktop, not the standard one I'm running. Basically I'm asking where you got the theme from?


I can't speak for MyAES as I'm no MyAES user, but the "theme" in my screenshot is standard XaAES except for the window widgets.


I can answer for MyAES as for Joska, this is the standard windframe. On new version this windframe is loaded for screen from 256 colors to true color, for less than 256 colors the windframe is not loaded and use an internal windframe that is very near from the TOS 1! I think MyAES doesn't display correctly in black and white screen my goal was to design it for true color screen.

OL
OL

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Feb 18, 2014 4:45 am

joska wrote:This is an upcoming version of Taskbar.


Joska, where can we find this version of Taskbar ?

Philippe
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

User avatar
AtariSociety
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: What is the status bar dock at bottom of this zDesk vide

Postby AtariSociety » Wed Jul 09, 2014 6:37 pm

Any new news on this ultra cool dock for my Firebee? Hope to see it 2014?

TJ


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests