Phweather - weather app for Mint ( New version 2.1 !!)

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby jfl » Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:02 pm

wongck wrote:New version 1.20 available at the usual place. :mrgreen:
- Now with city weather details and 5-days forecast !!
- Faster start up by only loading the needed graphics file.
- read the doc for new features and fixes.

Perfect timing. I was just about to check out the weather for tomorrow :) It works fine on my FireBee. Thanks.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:29 pm

jfl wrote:Perfect timing. I was just about to check out the weather for tomorrow :) It works fine on my FireBee. Thanks.


:D Thanks for the feedback.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby vido » Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:43 am

Great to see new version but the latest one does not work on my FireBee. Previous version worked altought I saw sometimes it doesnt get the data from the net.
This version it starts and runs but there is no weather data at all.
I will try again today when I get home.

ldv-01
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby ldv-01 » Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:48 am

wongck wrote:New version 1.20 available at the usual place. :mrgreen:

Great wongck!
A real improvement over the previous release. No more delays in weather infos..

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:29 am

ldv-01 wrote:A real improvement over the previous release. No more delays in weather infos..
yes. previous version loads all graphics when it is using 1 only. This version only loads the 1 graphics it needs, and then if the weather grpahics changes, loads the new one. You will never know when that is happening as it is checking the weather without needing your attention.

I hope this gives a better experience :D
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:32 am

vido wrote:Great to see new version but the latest one does not work on my FireBee. Previous version worked altought I saw sometimes it doesnt get the data from the net.
This version it starts and runs but there is no weather data at all.
I will try again today when I get home.


The weather location name changed slightly.
Can you let me know the city you're trying to get the weather information?
I will then test it out.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby vido » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:43 am

wongck wrote:The weather location name changed slightly.
Can you let me know the city you're trying to get the weather information?
I will then test it out.

Maybe that is the problem. I didnt have time to test more options.
My location is "Grosuplje, Slovenia". That worked in previous version ok.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:45 am

vido wrote:Maybe that is the problem. I didnt have time to test more options.
My location is "Grosuplje, Slovenia". That worked in previous version ok.


Oh my goodness... I am sorry there is really no data for this city using the new web services.
The previous web services does have data for the city. So you will have to continue with the old one :(
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:56 am

It is funny that nearby Gatina & Malo Mlacevo both is able to get weather information but not Grosuplje :( .
I wonder why this is so. I see from google map that Grosuplje is bigger than the 2 places above. :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby vido » Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:00 pm

wongck wrote:It is funny that nearby Gatina & Malo Mlacevo both is able to get weather information but not Grosuplje :( .
I wonder why this is so. I see from google map that Grosuplje is bigger than the 2 places above. :roll:

Hehe ... that should be bug from their side. No problem at all. Weather forecast for the nearby villages will be ok :)
Thanks for checking that!

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:15 pm

No problem. Thank you for trying out PH weather. :D
Ahh... so those are villages, They looked much smaller than Grosuplje.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby vido » Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:26 pm

Now I am using it for "Ljubljana, Slovenia" and it works great! I really like the weather forecast.

I wonder if your utilities could become a part of the FireBee official MiNT OS setup? Offcourse with documentation pointing to your website for updates etc.

This would make FireBee more user friendly regarding internet usage.

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby vido » Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:26 pm

Now I am using it for "Ljubljana, Slovenia" and it works great! I really like the weather forecast.

I wonder if your utilities could become a part of the FireBee official MiNT OS setup? Offcourse with documentation pointing to your website for updates etc.

This would make FireBee more user friendly regarding internet usage.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:05 pm

vido wrote:Now I am using it for "Ljubljana, Slovenia" and it works great! I really like the weather forecast.
I wonder if your utilities could become a part of the FireBee official MiNT OS setup? Offcourse with documentation pointing to your website for updates etc.
This would make FireBee more user friendly regarding internet usage.


Thanks for your positive feedback. :D

The FB team is welcome to add this to their setup. But I am not part of the FB team and so can't comment on it.
Also I do not own a FB, so I couldn't even test the programs on a FB before releasing them.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:05 pm

vido wrote:Now I am using it for "Ljubljana, Slovenia" and it works great! I really like the weather forecast.
I wonder if your utilities could become a part of the FireBee official MiNT OS setup? Offcourse with documentation pointing to your website for updates etc.
This would make FireBee more user friendly regarding internet usage.


Thanks for your positive feedback. :D

The FB team is welcome to add this to their setup. But I am not part of the FB team and so can't comment on it.
Also I do not own a FB, so I couldn't even test the programs on a FB before releasing them.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3530
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby joska » Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:00 pm

wongck wrote:New version 1.20 available at the usual place. :mrgreen:


Just tried it on my Firebee. A great little utility, I really like it. Please continue making such programs :)
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Wed Jul 04, 2012 11:09 pm

Thanks.
Happy to see another happy user.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 624
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby Mathias » Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:51 am

Just wanted to say as well "thank you" for that application. I even can use the locale name "Wien" instead of "Vienna" and it works very well! Also the forecast is really useful!
And I agree, if the rest of the team gives its ok, I would like to bundle it with the next bigger FreeMiNT setup for the FireBee. Thanks for your time!
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby jfl » Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:14 am

wongck wrote:Happy to see another happy user.

One very small complaint, though: get rid of the border in the Details/Forecast box. It looks horrible with XaAES :wink:
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:52 am

jfl wrote:
wongck wrote:Happy to see another happy user.

One very small complaint, though: get rid of the border in the Details/Forecast box. It looks horrible with XaAES :wink:


Yes. It does, doesn't it. In fact it is not ugly but fugly,,, Ha Ha.... :lol: :lol:
I can't really remember why it was there.
I think it may be because initially there was some issue with windowed dialog box.
I used a different method to make it works and it needed to have borders as that solution was borderless.

So it stuck with it.... :roll:

Now that the issue is resolved, I should have removed that border. Thanks for reminding. :wink:

I will do that and update the one on my webpage. You can use your own editor.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:58 am

Mathias wrote:Just wanted to say as well "thank you" for that application. I even can use the locale name "Wien" instead of "Vienna" and it works very well! Also the forecast is really useful!
And I agree, if the rest of the team gives its ok, I would like to bundle it with the next bigger FreeMiNT setup for the FireBee. Thanks for your time!


Glad it works even for the local name. :D
I would be delighted if it makes it into the setup for FB. :angel:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
MadMax2023
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 7:57 am
Location: France, Aix
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby MadMax2023 » Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:38 am

Thanks Wongck, i updated my phweather and i am astonished by the new features.
The preview for the next day is really useful, a lot more useful than to only know the current weather.

Please continue on the same way, you are doing pretty cool softs for our computers :)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Sat Jul 07, 2012 9:20 am

Thanks. Glad you liked it. :D
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby jfl » Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:19 pm

I noticed that Phweather gets confused if the computer is left running overnight. The change of date isn't taken into account so that it displays the preveious day's forecast.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11848
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Phweather - weather app for Mint (new with Forecast !!)

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:19 pm

jfl wrote:I noticed that Phweather gets confused if the computer is left running overnight. The change of date isn't taken into account so that it displays the preveious day's forecast.

Been sometime since... so it not apparent to me the issue.
My guess is that date is taken only at start up....
But I am sure the sunrise and sunset calculations are done every refresh to select the day/night graphics with fresh time information from the clock.

I will take a look over the weekend.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest