connecting atari falcon to portfolio

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

connecting atari falcon to portfolio

Postby Mr.JT » Tue Mar 09, 2004 9:40 pm

does anyone know what software i could use to connect my portfolio to my falcon? I see that the falcon has a standard 9-pin serial port on the back of it so am i right in thinking i could connect to this using a serial interface?

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Wed Mar 10, 2004 12:45 am

you need a parallel or serial interface made for the portfolio .....

from http://www.sumo.clara.net/Port/shop.htm
Combined Interface : (Serial and Parallel). Only to Order. £75:00 + £4:50 p+p

Parallel Interface : 25 pin with file transfer software and manual. used to connect a Portfolio to a printer and/or PC/Atari for file transfer. £29:00 + £3:00 p+p

Serial Interface : 9 pin. (no software) with manual. used to connect to a modem and some computers ie Older Apple Macs, Amiga etc.



you could find this on ebay too

you could start here and look at the links
http://www.palmzip.de
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby Mr.JT » Wed Mar 10, 2004 1:34 pm

well i've got a serial interface, but as far as i can find, the only software available for atari to pofo over serial interface involves using the document print command over a null modem cable... (http://www.atari-portfolio.co.uk)...so therefore you can only transfer things in one direction. The software at the link you posted is in german...so not 100% comprehensible to me! As far as i could work out the serial program can transfer over a standard ST serial port or a TT's second serial port....is this the same as a falcon's second serial port? I've tried looking for details of this but so far have been unsucessful.

Otherwise may be a case of writing the software for myself! Would be great to have a program that could synchronise the portfolio's diary with a diary on the atari in the way that psions/pocket pc's do. Anyone else interested in something like that? Couldn't start it til the summer at least though...too much uni work in the way!

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Thu Mar 11, 2004 1:45 am

well i know Xport2 app but it was in french

http://membres.lycos.fr/nef/

go down the page to find it
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

Tarak
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: connecting atari falcon to portfolio

Postby Tarak » Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:33 pm

Hi!

I own a portfolio and a serial interface.I used to transfer files with acom on a pc running with windows xp and that worked fine,until i upgraded my operating system to vista! could anyone tell me how i should organize my security setting to allow a transfer?

Thanks a lot!!

Tarak
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: connecting atari falcon to portfolio

Postby Tarak » Wed Oct 21, 2009 8:39 pm

hi does anyone have the communications program "TransporT" for the atari st by artisan software? it helps transferring files from the st to the atari portfolio!!!

Tarak
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: connecting atari falcon to portfolio

Postby Tarak » Sun Aug 26, 2018 8:03 pm

Does anyone know where I can find the serial transfer program xload.com? Thank You have a nice day !

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1403
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: connecting atari falcon to portfolio

Postby paul92706 » Wed Nov 21, 2018 4:50 am

Tarak wrote:Does anyone know where I can find the serial transfer program xload.com? Thank You have a nice day !

hi tarak did you find the software for file transfer?
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
ICS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2002 12:26 am
Location: .de

Re: connecting atari falcon to portfolio

Postby ICS » Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:52 am

This was a very long time ago (15+ years) but on my TT I used a software to make backups using the interface.
The files in the folder are FOLITRAN.PRG and FOLITRAN.RSC, so you can maybe guess a name from there.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests