Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1342
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:39 pm

Look in the Magnum TT manual which RAM Modules is required and which is not working ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby tenox » Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:20 am

frank.lukas wrote:Look in the Magnum TT manual which RAM Modules is required and which is not working ...

Link?

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1062
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby qq1975b » Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:34 am

http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/

TT 030 Section

"Magnum TT (RAM expansion for the Atari TT030, English) [undated]"
Trying to learn...

User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby tenox » Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:10 pm

This doesn't have much more info apart from what Simbo already said.

I concur with Dal, that it would be best to have the SIMMs soldered directly on the board in max amount.

Even so we need to help Simbo find suitable SIMMs.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4049
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Dal » Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:22 pm

I wasn't really talking about trying to find suitable simms. Just use dram chips and solder these straight on the board - these will be much easier to source I would expect.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1062
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby qq1975b » Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:01 pm

Yes, like on some Falcon 14MB boards or some Amiga ram boards like BigRAMplus (256MB) or ZorRam (128MB).
Trying to learn...

User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby tenox » Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:36 am

Even better! :cheers:

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Fri Jan 16, 2015 10:41 pm

i have a solution
i made up a design that just buffers the mach the AD lines the data and control as needed
i used LDV chips linear dual voltage
but just the ram lines too 3.3v
so i decided to make 25 of each board
to fullfill this run
already upfront guys can choose
its fair this way as some will have ram already suited
so as needed ill make more
and im working on a 1GB dimm version
so try to get some 1GB dimms or 512MB types 60ns four bank 3.3v non buffered edo is ok
ill try shape up the code and board simm next week
using the right stimulus i can simulate the whole design
this is where the multidio.dll i made comes into proteus
i can slow step simulate 1Mhz per pin over 40 i/os in realtimes within proteus vsm simulations running simms dedicated other dlls like dma access and stimulus

... the TT ram port can address 138GB total space 1GB is a drop in the ocean
adding the address ranges for the ide as a pair of dual ide ports would be quite easy
and adding lan is also easy

ive pooled all the design i can find

if YOU have a design code for other stuff for the TTRAM port let me know

i have ide dual port dual drive and lan mapped..

i also need a cart with just a boot block on it that i can then set a call within

i think this is a handy cart

one 27010 contains {just contains the first 16k boot block lo hi up to cart too boot from cart }
and the next block 29010 contains its first 96k then {switched bank } as a nice debug cart
can add redirectors can flash it too any added block driver boot block debug
routine capture etc .... {yes capture} i worked out the 2.06 flash ppera and popsel made
can be used for debug and reflash of a cart upper rom

just having a handy cart rant....


the good thing is i have 50 yes

50

connectors for the TTRAM port

if you want one ask me ...
yet knowone cares enought too even offer help

with code or orginisations nothing!!!!

no wonder things go slow
cash yes help no terrible :contract: code need help and heads....
the compilers for the mach are crap ive translated it too fpga ...

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:11 pm

look all

SIMMS FOR THE MAGNUM if you have an issue getting them then read this carefully

download/file.php?id=16587

then read this expo

for 128MB or even a pair of 64 i would use EDO !!! 5v supply is the main thing PS2!!! type
some edo are LDV IO
"
Caution should also be exercised if a V occurs in
the middle of the marking, or if the marking of a
Siemens chip begins with HYB31. This indicates a
3.3V chip; these do not always work properly in
the TT.
"
if you see a C and not !!!! a V then its ok ish XXXvXXXXX is no good
XXXcXXXXX is ok except from some tiawan and jap types they use a C and an H
H is no good and also a note a few pages back shows indo types{hyundi}
the datasheet tells you all you need to know

if its EDO 72pin prob ok if the chips have a C its mostly ok...

the only way you can tell is the chip number and matrix size of the actual simm module
like 64X64 or 128X128 32X32
and there data sheet
so you need both the chips and the simms before casting the cash out
however ram is still worth cash for sure,,,

NOTE !!!!!
The Magnum TT card can be fitted with PS2 !!! IBM STANDARD.... NOT INTEL!!!! intel made nothing till ibm showed them
SIMM modules (FPM or EDO)

of 16MB, 32MB, 64MB, or 128MB capacity.
Note that these modules must !!!!! be symmetric.

Insert the SIMM module(s) in the sockets of the
Magnum TT card. The size of the modules will be
recognized automatically.

If a SIMM module is not recognized correctly, the
bridges within the module for size coding are not
set correctly. {ask me!!}
In this case the jumpers PD00/PD10 (or PD01/PD11)

bank1={simm1}={4-128MB total as two banks}
pd00=LB0 2-64MB
pd10=LB1 2-64MB

bank2={simm2}={4-128MB total as two banks}
pd01=UB0 2-64MB
pd11=UB1 2-64MB

on the Magnum card must be set
according to the diagram on the PDF or the later one ill rework for the later boards as ive changed the layout
or even by blocking pins of the simms {some ibm types of FPM ive heard}
"
Unfortunately there are various asymmetric
modules on the market that do not!!!! function
in the Magnum TT card.
You can only recognise these modules by the markings on the chips
of these modules
"
so be warned
and also warned from false labels on simms on ebay
showing rubbish as per the chips types per PDF


if your not sure look for the PDF datasheet and study the chip

you can also look for almost all datasheets for the actual simm
enter the part number too google it has a full just about every makers database on tap

then you know how its layed out and what buffers and resistors have been added too it

in the course of time simms are hard too find now of bigger sizes

when simms of 128MB EDO OR FPM 5v etc where avalible then they cost like $4000 each
i payed over 150 quid for my first 4mb simm 72pin fpm 80ns 486 level
in 1996
and 128MB fpm PS ram is like rocking horse manure

edo is easier too get and works better
because EDO is better for the magnum
edo is the new name or was for nibble mode or word mode or more ram

so.. extended data out is just one extra byte uses up the ecc pins

as the magnum and the TT just requires nibble mode then word mode isnt even fully used by it within EDO simms

... so EDO is faster with the magnum
FPM is slower and harder too find

i think the rule here is FPM memory doesnt support bust data mode {word mode} TTRAM mode
where EDO more readly does and faster....

i see this from other cards made by german makers that support 64MB {there is i think 3}
only the magnum when used with the right pair of simms will support both burst mode and fast 60ns... 256MB
or more

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby 1st1 » Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:06 pm

Hello, today I talked with Idek/joebar from Atari-home.de forum on our ATARI exibition here in Germany. He reported me that also the original MagnumTT card has trouble to detect the SIMM size correctly. He told, that it has to do with the Jedec implementation on the Magnum TT board. When modifying the jedec coding on the memory module it will be detected correctly. The solution is here:

http://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?to ... 50#msg2850 - post no. 13

You need to identify the jumpers PD0 and PD1 on the SIMM module

PD0 = Pin 67 of the simm connector
PD1 = Pin 68 of the simm connector

This is the original assignment for PD0 and PD1 on the Magnum TT:

Size PD0 PD1
4 MB 0 0
8 MB 1 1
16 MB 0 1
32 MB 1 0
64 MB 0 0
128MB 1 1

1 = jumper open, 0 = jumper closed

But most 128 MB modules have the following coding, please note that the logical level of PD0 and PD1 is inverse to the above list:

PD0 = 0
PD1 = 1

That is the same as 32 MB, so two 128 MB modules are only detected as 64 MB in total. Just open PD1 on the modules and it should work.

In postin 7 of that thread there is also another thing about memory chips on the modules:

16 MB: 8 memory chips, label xx1740x => works
16 MB: 8 memory chips, label xx1640x => does not work
16 MB: 2 memory chips, label xx6516x => works
16 MB: 2 memory chips, label xx6416x => does not work

32 MB: 16 memory chips, label xx1740x => works
32 MB: 16 memory chips, label xx1640x => does not work
32 MB: 4 memory chips, label xx6516x => works
32 MB: 4 memory chips, label xx6416x => does not work

64 MB: 8 memory chips, label xx6540x => works
64 MB: 8 memory chips, label xx6440x => does not work

128 MB: 16 memory chips, label xx6540x => works
128 MB: 16 memory chips, label xx6440x => does not work

And it says if the chip label contains a "V" or it is Siemens chip with HYB31, then it is 3,3 V memory which would not work in every TT.

Hope that helps. If you provide me a Magnum TT for testing, I have two 128 MB SIMMs.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:12 am

ok

i decided to add a row of high and a row of low and PD1 and 0 can be set for each simm
as per a table and its size
and do away with the auto size

ill start too adjust the design tomorrow and pub the modded circuit too muse over first
before i do the pcb work,,,,!!! :cry: not so good


a needed mod i feel
we know the code and size is aok and works just the PD pads as you say

so dis the pd simms details
and just set high low as the pd is my view

?? comments please :angel:

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Thu Jan 22, 2015 10:50 pm

ok well looking at things
i made adjustments too the schematic to allow for 4 added jumpers
they allow the user to disconnect the PD 0,1 signals completely from the simms sometimes bad choice
this is caused by two things 1K choice on simm resistors {doesnt overide the res pak on the magnum to the PD lines will float }
and missing PD2 and 3 signals used to properly ident high size simms
{TT doesnt need this memory is memory to a TT if its there if its not you get an expeption ...

so you can pull high or lo at the auto jumper and the simms PD line can be selected to have no effect

ive done this too my own magnum old card just cut the lines from the simms
and it works just fine when you preset the jumpers with a pair of 128S

dont have a pair with bad PD res setup {well good but not good too the magnum}

all high

the other solution with the 128MB simms thats PD lines are pulled harder {1k res not ten on the simms size jump pads}
you can change the resistors or remove them

look up the datasheet for the simm

if you find it and need help
you can ask i can help in a flash... no probs
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Guest on Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:21 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Fri Jan 23, 2015 4:07 am

so here it is the adjusted design

ready to process for the pcbs
ive fixed the lot
realigned the simmsocket as it has size issue pin spacing etc

reworked the jumper setup
so the PD0 and PD1 from each simm can be disabled {so the simm doesnt control it}
as the auto detection as pointed out above caused issues

so this is the solution 4 extra jumpers
and i think i layed it out in a descriptive way
as the same PD jumpers in the line ive adjusted the auto mode or preset block for also ...

i removed one ceramic cap not needed and mounted the mach210 one under the board
so... all done
i can now get back too making some of these

few weeks ill have the pcbs back
this time ill need to order from a fireproof factory...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Guest on Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Fri Jan 23, 2015 4:07 pm

even replacing all the ics in the board too allow for dual voltage 3.3 or 5v ram
will take i think about 8 added or changed ics and change out the mcu for vhdl or a dual cpld from another maker
at least 12ic's in total
just too be carefull .... a total redesign is needed and this is a years work and testing

ive unitated the mach210 code and have reworked it too an algurithm {pointed node register based } so porting too vhd is mega easy...
the code is mainly used for size detection and is quite bloated anyway for what it does
i think i could reduce it in half at least within the mach the compiler for it isnt free...!
but ill need also too work in extra choices and make use of PD2 and 3 on each simm
and also a 3.3v jumper
for perhaps each simm
then a pair of any types will do .... but carefully set!!! or boomb!!
is it worth it ???
twice the size of board
or i can mount a small daughter board as i/o control {and v sel}

easy done

but is it worth it ???
how many TT users are there compaired too how many good sets of 128MB simms 5v edo or fpm
i think there is plenty so 3.3 v isnt worth the extra effort

i need views
everyones saying nothing
as usual no feedback no advice

this makes it hard for me too choose for you :|
tell me the old story again
so this is what i am going too do
and thats that

pcb will be on its way too me tonight after i spend a few hours and finalise the design by alliging all tracks and bends etc
to be really nice and centered between pins etc

finishing touches

ill card a deal in china tonight

above all adding this choice gives rise to frying your TT or the magnum or the simms more often

sticking to the datasheet details of the ics and the simm module datasheet

is the best way and stick to 5v
just adds problems

so this this the final update too the magnum ill make
we need another name and more of an ide and some other stacks port added to a design that has perhaps an ssd or some nv RAM
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------#
all the mpu does is map this whole port like a massive can be upto 138GB space...... but at like 60ns access...
60ns timings is only the limit imposed on the 68030 MMU by the ram speed avalible
tos adjustment can speed it up

and drivers and tos does map it out
as we know and you can load the whole TT o.s and drivers and software to fast ram
or what we all want fast NVRAM so we can power down power fail etc etc etc
and still it works at max speed

there is heeps and stacks of space...


so.... i think ... we need to think along some added niceness..
and use the TTRAM port with more of a choice...


these days its a better choice too just use a couple of 16bit nvram chips to form like 256MB or 1GB TTram
cheep and chearful

say

sdcard fixed ... or removable on its own TTRAM address as a fixed slow access NVRAM {can be called}

usb stack and i<>o { stack fixed boot held on sdcard {fixed for this purpose to a memory range }}

ide {dual or quad} same as st and ste falcon ranges

LAN {dual port 100Mb direct too ram }

its what i would do perhaps an i2c interface and a decent LPT com port controller

and it takes 1VHDL and a CPLD for interface...bridge with a rasp pi...

ide is another matter so far the ide design for the TT uses TWO cpld
and its a bit hard to get your head round {im trying }
lan is easy
usb is in progress anyway and the port would just need to overlay back to the tos locations in slow ram ...
not sure what state the usb stack in mint etc is at???

obviously 256MB of SSD nvram is a good idea
turn on the TT tos is there.. after just a warm reset

so it becomes a warm boot machine

so sleep mode and hybernate is an easy choice

sdcard keeps the usb stack
and can also be used like lan too wake the machine up {psu enable }
and psu runs 3.3v too run the lan and usb controllers and shares sdcard power {so both machines can power the dedicated stack sdcard }


eeek so easy

cant wait too see what jookie is up too after what he posted he is up too im not keen to start a big project
better add an interface too what we have for expanssion

he is very quiet...???? :?

would be nice too get a heads up if im gona work on something

its better we do it as groups with a topic added for the projects

in the project section
like
{ATARI HARDSOFT PROJECTS...
{OFFICAL PROJECTS LIST}
{
projects software
project hardware
projects available to join in with
}
known ATARI hardware projects + sources + details full done projects referance lib ONLY COMPLETE PROJECTS
}

:angel:

There is too much bleed over from members wanting to fit a different floppy and problem hardware

to actual hardware project issues and details
this needs pruned and some grafts
its almost spring

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Fri Jan 23, 2015 7:43 pm

as you go well you find errors

i found i failed to connect a resistor to JP 1 and left it connected to another pin on the PD chain

now fixed



this is the send version

so off it goes ...

:|
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Guest on Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:10 am, edited 5 times in total.

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:34 am

the pcb have been ordered

so 25 days perhaps three weeks then ill start too build...

best i can do.... :|

to get a cheeper price i removed the vias and tidied it all up ...

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby TXG/MNX » Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:02 pm

great news my TT is waiting for extra mem 8)

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:31 pm

tnx man wont B long been worked hard to reduce the pcb to very clean all sizes nice
the proto board wasnt aligned well and i have a bad few months...

i removed the vias and tidied it up

so ill get the pcbs i think in 14 days time or less and build all 50 in a week or two

its looking very nice and sweet now

User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby tenox » Tue Feb 24, 2015 4:11 am

Well it's official. I can't get any RAM to work with Simbo's prototype magnum card. I always get 64MB max.

Can anyone help source right 128MB SIMMs?

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby 1st1 » Tue Feb 24, 2015 7:20 pm

Tenox, hae you tryed the things from my posting?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby tenox » Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:14 am

1st1 wrote:Tenox, hae you tryed the things from my posting?


Yes I did and I really appreciate your help, but unfortunately your instructions do not translate in to an actual eBay listing.

Can someone help and send me eBay item id for a suitable memory?

Or sell me a pair of suitable simms?

My point is, how are we supposed to get qty 25-50 of suitable SIMMs, if I can't get just qty 1 in half a year or more.

User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby tenox » Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:35 am

I will pay $150 USD + shipping cost for a pair of 128MB SIMMs suitable for Simbo's Magnum TT board.

magwanted.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby 1st1 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 9:25 pm

I personally wait already allmost one year to get a Magnum TT card to test my 2x 128 MB modules which previously have been used by someone in an Amiga 4000. (By the way, I also search for another ST RAM card for my 2nd TT)
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4049
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Dal » Wed Feb 25, 2015 9:30 pm

I think it was a bad idea to keep the design based on hard-to-obtain secondhand SIMMs.

Should have integrated the RAM on the board imho - no SIMMs required and everyone gets 256MB.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby tenox » Sun Mar 01, 2015 5:14 am

Today I've got a 3rd pair of 128MB SIMMs. Original IBM pulled from PS/2 machine. All spec match. Even the voltage of each individual chip is 5V as required.

Only 64MB shows up in Atari.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests