TT Clock Battery

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

TT Clock Battery

Postby dexterslab » Wed Aug 19, 2009 6:06 pm

easy fix, take the old battery, pull it apart. Simply buy a new Tadiran AA cell and remake it. Batteries are £5.00 from RS http://uk.rs-online.com/web/5268469.html

tt_clock_battery.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby FatRakoon » Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:38 am

Youd be better off with one of these

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/sear ... m_vc=av_uk

and maybe a holder for it...

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/sear ... &R=5123574

This is yet another hting that irritates my nipples with Atari...

They make the TT clock that does not know what time it is, and yet put a lovely and realtively simple way to replace the clock
And they put a precision clock into the Falcon, but oh, in order to replace the battery you are going to have to desolder a trillion little legs, or cut the head off an IC?
Atari retards.


My STE I went one better... I still have the docs, but my STE ran on a Dallas clock that I built from a Maplins Chip. There was some software for reading teh CHIP via the serial port, but did it internally and it works great because when you run the AUTO PRG it reads the dalls chip and sets the clock.

I was going to do this on my TT but I gave my STE to Barrie
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby dexterslab » Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:23 am

:?: there's nothing wrong with the clock in the TT, providing the battery is good

the original battery holder is the one shown in the pic, it just velcros onto the chassis, no need to purchase battery holders!

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby FatRakoon » Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:37 am

Nothing wrong with it?
Arck, Mine gains about 40 minutes a day

Every one is different I know, but there is also a TTCLOCK.CPX that was been written purely to address this well known TT clock issue.

---

Battery.
This is a good cure if your TT has that clock battery, but mine does not. ( Why is mine always bloody different eh? )
But mine was originally a square one... I did at first use 2xAA but then I resorted to another Panasonic.... BR something or other - I dont know right now.
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby dexterslab » Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:29 pm

never noticed on mine... i think i read an atari doc on calibrating the clock, maybe worth finding

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4377
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby joska » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:03 pm

FatRakoon wrote:They make the TT clock that does not know what time it is, and yet put a lovely and realtively simple way to replace the clock
And they put a precision clock into the Falcon, but oh, in order to replace the battery you are going to have to desolder a trillion little legs, or cut the head off an IC?
Atari retards.


I have never heard of this. My TT's clock was always precise during the 12 years I had it. It was a very early revision with a 6V clock battery.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby dexterslab » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:34 pm

my first one is a 6v battery one, i dont recall it drifting at all... the new one is 3.6v, i will have to see if it runs out

is it a different clock ic in the later ones then?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12709
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby wongck » Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:30 pm

joska wrote:I have never heard of this. My TT's clock was always precise during the 12 years I had it. It was a very early revision with a 6V clock battery.

Both my TT and Falc clock drift... by some amount but it's minutes in months.
TT one is the worst. :(
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12709
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby wongck » Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:33 pm

dexterslab wrote:my first one is a 6v battery one, i dont recall it drifting at all... the new one is 3.6v, i will have to see if it runs out
is it a different clock ic in the later ones then?

I read from some TT docs that state it is a 3.6V battery. But mine is a 6V one using - 4 x 1.5V AAA batteries.
So not issues for changing batterys.... just get from the supermarket. No need to source for special battery.
I had them in since April last year & they are still going strong.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12709
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby wongck » Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:35 pm

FatRakoon wrote:Nothing wrong with it?
Arck, Mine gains about 40 minutes a day
Every one is different I know, but there is also a TTCLOCK.CPX that was been written purely to address this well known TT clock issue.

TT clock is bad, but I do not recall 40mins a day. May be 15min a month.
TTCLOCK.CPX? Thanks. I will give it a try. :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby FatRakoon » Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:11 pm

When I got my TT and I went to replace the battery, I had a Panasonic 3.6v Battery in there.

On checking up on the docs, it clearly states that my motherboard requires 4.5v

I then find out that there are some TTs that require 6v
So, what we have is 3 different voltages 3.6 / 4.5 and 6.0

Maybe mine is under powered I dont know?
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4377
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby joska » Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:13 pm

wongck wrote:I read from some TT docs that state it is a 3.6V battery. But mine is a 6V one using - 4 x 1.5V AAA batteries.
So not issues for changing batterys.... just get from the supermarket. No need to source for special battery.
I had them in since April last year & they are still going strong.


I replaced the battery in my TT with a 4xAA battery back when I bought it in 1996. When I sold it a bit over a year ago, the same batteries were still in there. Never had an issue with the clock.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby dexterslab » Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:27 pm

ok, looking at the datasheet for the clock, it operates between 3 and 6v, so either battery will be ok

i also noticed that the clock ic has a programmable square wave output, this is interesting to me because i built a PIC based calibration tool for calibrating a Philips clock IC i used on a 12 month timer i built and managed to tune it so it only drifts by about 15 seconds/year. There's a chance i can use it to calibrate the 32khz crystal on the TT.

Interestingly, on this new TT there seems to be some modification/rework on and around the clock ic which looks very much like a tuning circuit. I'll have to investigate further...

...but not just yet, we're about to move house in a week so it'll be a good project to start after Dexter gets his new Laboratory :mrgreen:

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby FatRakoon » Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:31 pm

dexterslab wrote:ok, looking at the datasheet for the clock, it operates between 3 and 6v, so either battery will be ok

i also noticed that the clock ic has a programmable square wave output, this is interesting to me because i built a PIC based calibration tool for calibrating a Philips clock IC i used on a 12 month timer i built and managed to tune it so it only drifts by about 15 seconds/year. There's a chance i can use it to calibrate the 32khz crystal on the TT.

Interestingly, on this new TT there seems to be some modification/rework on and around the clock ic which looks very much like a tuning circuit. I'll have to investigate further...

...but not just yet, we're about to move house in a week so it'll be a good project to start after Dexter gets his new Laboratory :mrgreen:



Interesting indeed Dr Dexter... Interesting indeeeeeed..( Rubs hands )
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12709
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby wongck » Fri Aug 21, 2009 3:19 pm

dexterslab wrote:ok, looking at the datasheet for the clock, it operates between 3 and 6v, so either battery will be ok

Good snooping, doc.

dexterslab wrote:...but not just yet, we're about to move house in a week so it'll be a good project to start after Dexter gets his new Laboratory :mrgreen:

Ahh.... a bigger lab I see ..... or a bigger garage?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby dexterslab » Fri Aug 21, 2009 4:03 pm

well somewhere i can setup a permanent work area thats ESD safe with my scopes, soldering station etc

i have a few PIC micro projects i want to work on in the near future along with the atari stuff

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12709
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby wongck » Sun Aug 23, 2009 3:03 pm

Take a look here DIY: new cell for NVRAM chip, Simbo making a rechargable battery for his NVRAM. Same can be done for the TT. :wink:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby dexterslab » Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:03 am

yea i saw that, but for the cost and ease of replacing a lithium battery every 3-4 years i dont think it's worth it for me

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby FatRakoon » Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:31 am

My TT has batteries you can get at and see.
The Falcon's Clock is now a socketted 12887 ( or whatevva! )
Both are easily replaced.

To have a rechargeable battery module will be incredible fun, but only that... Fun.

is it sad? - yes, Is it lazy? - yes, Do I want it for my TT/Falc? - hell yes
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12709
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby wongck » Mon Aug 24, 2009 3:12 pm

The 4xAA batteries (yeah AA, I though they were AAA until I open the case) in the TT are there for over 1.5 years and not replaced yet.

dexterslab wrote:yea i saw that, but for the cost and ease of replacing a lithium battery every 3-4 years i dont think it's worth it for me

I agree that it may not worth the effort, because 4 AA cost me less than a quid at the supermarket.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12709
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby wongck » Mon Aug 24, 2009 3:28 pm

FatRakoon wrote:My TT has batteries you can get at and see.
The Falcon's Clock is now a socketted 12887 ( or whatevva! )
Both are easily replaced.

I don't know because you have to find that chip again in 10 years time. :roll:

FatRakoon wrote:To have a rechargeable battery module will be incredible fun, but only that... Fun.
is it sad? - yes, Is it lazy? - yes, Do I want it for my TT/Falc? - hell yes


:lol: Simbo putting solar cell now.... now that is fun.
Keep a light on during the night. :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby FatRakoon » Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:55 pm

I would not risk my TT with cheap batteries.
Less than a quid also means tacky and very possibly going to leak out!
Id rather pay a couple of quid knowing that I have used good quality batteries... Plus the good quality ones will last longer.

Oh, I have just found my original TT battery ... This is the one from my oldest TT
Its a Panasonic BR-E3 6v
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby dexterslab » Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:29 pm

2CR5 Lithium Camera batteries are the best replacement for the early batteries, but you'll need to solder the wires onto the terminals

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby dexterslab » Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:36 pm

wongck wrote:The 4xAA batteries (yeah AA, I though they were AAA until I open the case) in the TT are there for over 1.5 years and not replaced yet.

dexterslab wrote:yea i saw that, but for the cost and ease of replacing a lithium battery every 3-4 years i dont think it's worth it for me

I agree that it may not worth the effort, because 4 AA cost me less than a quid at the supermarket.


tbh you could use two energizer lithium AA batteries, which have a higher capacity than the best nimh cells but dont self-discharge like nimh. but non-rechargeable of course.

but then, two energizer lithium AA cells will set you back the similar money as buying a real tadrian lithium thionyl chloride cell, which also will have a more stable discharge voltage

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12709
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT Clock Battery

Postby wongck » Tue Aug 25, 2009 1:43 pm

FatRakoon wrote:I would not risk my TT with cheap batteries.
Less than a quid also means tacky and very possibly going to leak out!
Id rather pay a couple of quid knowing that I have used good quality batteries... Plus the good quality ones will last longer.


That's Panasonic Alkaline and Duracells. Cheaper ones are from China where I can get them for less than 40p for 4 AA. :mrgreen:

I found that batteries normally leaks when they are not turned on but left connected.
So for my Falc, if I am using it, there 's a chance of it leaking - because they are not turned on but connected.
So I have to NOT use my Falc, then the batteries are used. :wink: :lol:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest