68882 fpu ?

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

68882 fpu ?

Postby nativ » Mon May 26, 2008 2:51 pm

motorola 68882 fpu

Hello all,

I'm intending on getting a Power Up2 or PhantomS at some point, although if I don't
is a 68882 25MHz PGA (33 MHz tested) the right type to get?

Thanks

Ashley
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: 68882 fpu ?

Postby Greenious » Mon May 26, 2008 5:41 pm

This question have been asked a number of times in the past, a quick search would not have killed you, you know...

Anyway, regarding your question.

No, PGA is not suitable in F030.

You want a PLCC 68882. Any speed will do, since the slowest available is 16 MHz, which is the speed it runs at in a standard F030. You can speed it up if you want to, and then it might be better to get a faster one right away, the price difference is not that much.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: 68882 fpu ?

Postby nativ » Mon May 26, 2008 6:14 pm

Sorry ! Thanks
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Re: 68882 fpu ?

Postby 030falcon030 » Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:43 pm

If you have any lucky getting the phantoms let me know I am in the market for one too.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Re: 68882 fpu ?

Postby 030falcon030 » Sat Oct 11, 2008 4:43 pm

well...
Last edited by 030falcon030 on Mon Oct 13, 2008 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
karlm
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Top of the World - Australia

Re: 68882 fpu ?

Postby karlm » Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:23 am

030falcon030 wrote:Why the cluck would I want to?

excuse me!? want to what? and there's nothing wrong with a little decorum ...

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Re: 68882 fpu ?

Postby 030falcon030 » Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:52 am

someone announced you could join his anime site thing :!:
but the post were deleted.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci

User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Re: 68882 fpu ?

Postby Desty » Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:24 pm

030falcon030 wrote:someone announced you could join his anime site thing :!:

Not someone, something. No point responding to spambots. :D
tá'n poc ar buile!

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Re: 68882 fpu ?

Postby 030falcon030 » Mon Oct 13, 2008 5:51 pm

True. It did send me an email though just to say a reply had been posted. I checked so I felt I had to say something just for the time it took to read.
Also it gets my posts up...
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests