VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., lp, [ProToS], Moderator Team

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Saturnin51 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:38 pm

OK It runs at last ! After reinstalling Blowup, I have the 1024*768 2C that I wanted. I think with an english manual of Blowup I would success quicker !
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dhedberg » Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:39 am

Saturnin51 wrote:OK It runs at last ! After reinstalling Blowup, I have the 1024*768 2C that I wanted. I think with an english manual of Blowup I would success quicker !

Great! Enjoy the higher resolution! It makes a huge difference!
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org

dimfil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dimfil » Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:30 am

Has anyone found a solution for XAAES yet?
MyAES is working OK with BlowUp but somehow I prefer XAAES over MyAES on my stock Falcon.

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Saturnin51 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:33 pm

Curiously the resolution is not 1024*768 but 1280*768!
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 579
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Atari030 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:54 pm

That is a widescreen resolution. Is the Falcon giving you res info or the monitor?

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Saturnin51 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:06 pm

This info is given by the screen menu. The max for this screen, Dell 2007PFb, is 1900*1200. And with the 50mHz oscillator.
Wich resolution can we achieve with the 40mHz ?
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

RetroNother
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:07 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby RetroNother » Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:46 pm

Hi,
is the adapter still available? I would be interessted.
Thanks!
>> 2 x ATARI Falcon 030 * Atari 1040 STE TOS 2.06 4MB UltraSatan * C64 with 1541-Ultimate-II * C64II * C64 RetroPi mod* Amiga 500 * Gameboy classic * PSP 1000 <<

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3956
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby joska » Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:56 pm

dimfil wrote:Has anyone found a solution for XAAES yet?
MyAES is working OK with BlowUp but somehow I prefer XAAES over MyAES on my stock Falcon.


Videlity is working fine with XaAES, and allows the use of an external pixelclock.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

dimfil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dimfil » Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:18 am

joska wrote:
dimfil wrote:Has anyone found a solution for XAAES yet?
MyAES is working OK with BlowUp but somehow I prefer XAAES over MyAES on my stock Falcon.


Videlity is working fine with XaAES, and allows the use of an external pixelclock.


OK. Thank you!
I will give it a try...

Last time that I checked though, in plain TOS, I could not set a proper 1024x768 resolution. The default setting did not worked right away and I had to spent much time getting it to work somehow with my monitor. Not quite good result though...
I will try again when I have some time free. In the mean time, if someone has already some settings to share it would be more than appreciated!

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Saturnin51 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:55 am

Hi,

With the 1024x768 resolution, how is it possible to avoid having as a virtual screen on the right edge of the screen? The mouse cursor does not stop at the right edge of the screen. And what are the values 1216 and 772 found in the STANDARD.BCF and we retrieve into the BLOWCONF screen as W and H?

MS 1024 768 0 2 1216 64 128 244 790 18 772 2 1 50.000000

Which resolution can we achieve with the 40 kHz oscillator and a standard Falcon 14 Mo ? 1024 x768 possible ?
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Saturnin51 » Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:23 am

Is there anybody out there ?
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Saturnin51 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 1:44 pm

Could someone tell me how to get a true 1024*768 with the 3-IN-1 card ? With the modified standard.bcf It seems to be a 1216*784 and I can't see the right windows lift.
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

dimfil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby dimfil » Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:23 pm

Saturnin51 wrote:Could someone tell me how to get a true 1024*768 with the 3-IN-1 card ? With the modified standard.bcf It seems to be a 1216*784 and I can't see the right windows lift.


The configuration lines mentioned in previous messages should be in the default.bcf and not in the standard.bcf
I use them and have a perfect clear 1024x768x16 vga mode on my 19 inch NEC monitor...

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Saturnin51 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 5:39 pm

True. I wanted to say default.bcf. I omitted also the end of the last phrase: with Papyrus, I can't see the right windows lift by example.
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Saturnin51 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 1:15 pm

Here the parameters I use with Blowconf: http://rmor.free.fr/Atari/P1010009.JPG

It seems that the two values left blank (92) and right blanck (104) are not used. So the screen is 1220 pixel and not 1024. Could you give me the line of your standard.bcf for this resolution please ?
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby ctirad » Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:51 pm

What frequency is your pixelclock? For a standard SVGA 1024x768 at 60Hz non interlaced 65MHz is needed. For a nonstandard 50Hz you still need around 52MHz. If you have 50MHz fixed only, try to decrease the refresh frequncy by a couple of Hz to a point that your LCD is still able to handle and then add the newly gained cycles to the horizontal blank time.

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: VGA adapter with Blow Up and VGA/RGB switch

Postby Saturnin51 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 5:56 pm

I don't understand what you say.

I try to play with left and right blank, Hsync and XRes with any result. The screen is always larger than 1024 !
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests