Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Anima » Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:08 am

Xerus wrote:If you make a Falcon version, will you choose between a better framerate or keep this one and add the parralax?

The main goal is to preserve the gemaplay as good as possible. So if a parallax layer will eat up too much performance on a Atari Falcon I would not implement it.

So far I think it is possible and using a planar mode for this makes more sense here instead of the direct colour mode (like Cho Ren Sha 68k does). I am not sure which mode I should choose for this: eight bitplanes with like 32 colours (five layers for sprites and background) + 8 colours (three layers for parallax background) or four bitplanes with 16 total colours where the parallax background has to be blitted into the background. :coffe:

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 538
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby dhedberg » Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:12 am

Regardless if you choose 8 or 4 bitplanes, you'll end up blitting/updating the parallax background each frame as you''ll hardscroll the foreground.
You should have enough time to do 5 + 3 bitplanes. We did 6 + 2 bitplanes in Willie's Adventures.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Anima » Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:33 am

dhedberg wrote:Regardless if you choose 8 or 4 bitplanes, you'll end up blitting/updating the parallax background each frame as you''ll hardscroll the foreground.
You should have enough time to do 5 + 3 bitplanes. We did 6 + 2 bitplanes in Willie's Adventures.

Thanks for the info. I haven't tested it so far how much time will be spend on this. Well, I think that 6 + 2 could also be another option.

Just curious: does the sprite drawing in Willie's Adventure use the Blitter?

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 538
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby dhedberg » Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:04 pm

I do remember that we had sprite routines using the blitter, but I also remember implementing sprite routines using the CPU. I think we eventually used the blitter for most (all?) sprites though. We had lots of animations and wanted everything to work on 4 MB so we could not afford using preshifted sprites if I remember correctly.

Sorry for not being more specific, but I haven't touched the code the last 20 years. :-D
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:33 pm

question: sprite on a STE when is it better to blitter and when is it better to use CPU?
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Anima » Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:49 pm

FedePede04 wrote:question: sprite on a STE when is it better to blitter and when is it better to use CPU?

On the Atari STE I would say that you cannot beat the Blitter for this task. Especially when you need space for animation frames where the precalculation is not an option at all.

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:05 pm

ok thx, i read some place, that if the object was to small, then i would be better to use the cpu.
how about object that is being shift, like 8x8, chrs?
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Anima » Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:00 pm

Ok, guys... :cheers:

Here's a first test version for you to try. It shows the attract mode but has still some issues while redrawing some screens. However, it should work on Atari STE machines with 4 MB of RAM and colour monitor/TV set.

Please note: you also need to put the original arcade program ROMs from Daimakaimura (Japan Resale Ver.) in the same folder and please try to load the HD driver as the only program to save memory.

Here's the README.TXT:

Code: Select all

Daimakaimura - Test 1 [2017-10-16]
----------------------------------

Arcade version (c) 1988 by Capcom.
Atari STE port by Sascha Springer.

Requires an Atari STE with 4 MB RAM.

You also need to add these two ROM
files from the arcade machine in
this folder to run:

DAMJ_23.8F (CRC32: C3B248EC)
DAMJ_22.7F (CRC32: 595FF2F3)

Please refer to the Atari-Forum
thread for details.

http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=31479


Have fun!
Last edited by Anima on Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:17 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Frank B
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Frank B » Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:07 pm

Anima wrote:
FedePede04 wrote:question: sprite on a STE when is it better to blitter and when is it better to use CPU?

On the Atari STE I would say that you cannot beat the Blitter for this task. Especially when you need space for animation frames where the precalculation is not an option at all.



+1
Hardware wins always.... Use the blitter guys ;)

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:11 pm

Ok thx
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby mpattonm » Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:05 pm

Thank you!

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1044
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:13 pm

I tried the demo and it loaded the files, but then stuck on a white screen with no text.

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Anima » Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:40 pm

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:I tried the demo and it loaded the files, but then stuck on a white screen with no text.

Ok, I still need to check the binaries on real hardware by myself.

Can you please give me your system specification details?

Edit: please make sure that only the HD driver is being loaded into memory.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1044
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:26 pm

Ok, I turned off everything and just booted with HDDriver and now it is running.

But the castle scene at the beginning is cut in half. But the forest scene is good. The game demo mode is working with some graphical errors, but what is there is truly amazing! Can't believe it's running on a STE!

4mb STE NTSC, HDDriver 10.10 and tried with both TOS 1.62 and TOS 2.06.

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Anima » Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:05 pm

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:Ok, I turned off everything and just booted with HDDriver and now it is running.

I'm glad that it works now. I just forgot that Hatari does not have any memory problems due to the built in driver and the current approach doesn't check the available memory. Well, those are things to fix for the second public test version. :coffe:

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:But the castle scene at the beginning is cut in half. But the forest scene is good. The game demo mode is working with some graphical errors, but what is there is truly amazing! Can't believe it's running on a STE!

Thanks. Unfortunately there's a problem with the proper screen refresh so the observed display issues are known to be present in this version. Hint: you can refresh the screen manually by pressing F7.

User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4094
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Brume » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:11 am

Tried on my STE 4 Mb / HDdriver 10.10 / French TOS 1.62 :
--> sorry, black screen for me after the message Press Space to start.

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Anima » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:14 am

Brume wrote:Tried on my STE 4 Mb / HDdriver 10.10 / French TOS 1.62 :
--> sorry, black screen for me after the message Press Space to start.

Sorry for the inconvenience. Actually there's no warning about insufficient memory so can you please try again with the HD driver loaded from disk as the only program in memory?

User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4094
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Brume » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:27 am

I'm just coming to try with a clean boot (HDdriver only is loaded) and... it works fine!
Congratulation Anima, impressive work :)

User avatar
Estrayk
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Estrayk » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:58 pm

Great work Anima.

I tested in MegaSTE and works like a charm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0OlC_h8Ok8

・Falcon 030+FPU 14mb CosmosEX・Atari MegaSTE 4Mb CosmosEX・Atari STe 4Mb GotekHxC+Satan・Amiga A600 Vampire V2・Amiga A1200 030/50・MIST・

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Anima » Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:56 am

Wow, thanks for the report. Great to see it running on a MegaSTE.

So was the cache enabled in the video?

User avatar
Hazzardus
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Hove Beach

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Hazzardus » Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:17 am

I'm not going to believe anything about this project, because it blows my mind so much.

Anima, you are a legend.

:cheers:

dimfil
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby dimfil » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:46 am

Tested on Mega Ste all modes, TOS 2.06, hddriver 10.10, booting only with driver and xcontrol plus default cpx. Working!
Looking forward to the rest!

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2049
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby calimero » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:11 am

Estrayk wrote:Great work Anima.

I tested in MegaSTE and works like a charm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0OlC_h8Ok8


This is 16MHz and cache on?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
Estrayk
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby Estrayk » Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:57 pm

Anima wrote:Wow, thanks for the report. Great to see it running on a MegaSTE.

So was the cache enabled in the video?


calimero wrote:This is 16MHz and cache on?


yep. 16Mhz and cache ON.
・Falcon 030+FPU 14mb CosmosEX・Atari MegaSTE 4Mb CosmosEX・Atari STe 4Mb GotekHxC+Satan・Amiga A600 Vampire V2・Amiga A1200 030/50・MIST・

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2049
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Daimakaimura (Ghouls 'n Ghosts) for the Atari STE

Postby calimero » Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:57 pm

Can you record game play? O:)
On 16mhz and cache on?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X


Social Media

     

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests