Page 3 of 6

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Mon May 09, 2016 10:36 pm
by Xerus
nanard wrote:
MM41 wrote:
MM41 wrote:It's better on my Falcon, but i can't play (freeze again after selected a clan) :shrug:
(may be my HD have weakness)

could be a problem with sound.
Dune II waits for the voice "House Ordos" / etc to be finished at this screen. Do you hear something ?

I have the same crash, no sound before the freeze in 030 mode.
Otherwise the game works perfectly with a CT60+MT32 (music, voice, framerate & mouse).

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Mon May 09, 2016 10:46 pm
by nanard
I definitely need help from a real Falcon coder to tell me what's missing in the DMA sound code :
https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/bl ... sp_atari.c
https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/bl ... ma_sound.s

I guess there is some if(falcon) { init some registers } to add in the initialisation phase ;)

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Mon May 09, 2016 11:28 pm
by Atari030
Still getting a bus error or two bombs on the CT2. I'll try the stock Falcon and TT when I get a chance.

Is there any possibility you could provide a link to the correct files? Pretty sure I got the right ones, but..................... :-)

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Tue May 10, 2016 8:30 am
by nanard
@atari030: when did you get the bombs ? after the graphic mode is set and screen goes black ? whats the content of error.log ?

here is the MD5 of the files I'm using (Dune II v1.07eu)

Code: Select all

9f0fd308f64709b749fed88b1490b6a4  ATRE.PAK
c6243b437711111b1aff1082e6fb8ea6  DUNE.PAK
5cff0b41bc7e246da094641feeb79974  ENGLISH.PAK
20f91f6b67c20305936b79528a7b4ca5  FINALE.PAK
8bbb75c37718b30cc3acf5671208e425  FRENCH.PAK
6425e69905d35e92b882f00778833b48  GERMAN.PAK
72268db03ec685241be7fdceb93fde39  HARK.PAK
fcdfda49a0765cdf155112158847b296  INTRO.PAK
f7e2cd778899a542538ca0ba24c3fef8  INTROVOC.PAK
7a8f3af658d768a0abf249b9332aa82a  LEGACY.PAK
7213c73939a817e001bcd20d051ff006  MENTAT.PAK
bd06bcc712c09a88ce226d86bb91a8d9  MERC.PAK
1e8551ee6d25ce6334db71d6d3716895  ORDOS.PAK
45fa0eaca986558c8fcade5551b07fd9  SCENARIO.PAK
515e86d995222776d59d4634dafdb57a  SOUND.PAK
afe359874848e2cd65913b6d9765302b  VOC.PAK
fb6a5e8c9e80eda8de8a9832b85ce235  SETUPENG.DIP
57d6338b6790088e2afc1f1044de30d5  SETUP.EXE
637006b788fb0e0943ac47a70d6b6d11  SETUPFRE.DIP
2e9130df5f31cc7b5b5aad5dd66f5336  SETUPGER.DIP
8b650651e6c6d5bfd8199da68fccddfa  DUNE2.EXE
5ee3c8fccf6f064890132805b5306324  DUNE2.ICO

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Tue May 10, 2016 8:38 am
by vido
nanard wrote:
vido wrote:This is great news!
But I have a question ...
Is it possible to compile OpenDUNE also for the Coldfire CPU?
I believe it would be very playable on the FireBee computer :)

should be possible as long as GCC and VASM have option for it, and some one code the sound / midi / ikbd/mouse support.

For such version it may be simpler to use SDL, which I thought was too heavy for TT and Falcon's with plain TOS.

Sorry ... I tought it uses SDL.
Yes GCC and VASM have option for it and yes for sure it is simpler to use SDL.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Tue May 10, 2016 12:29 pm
by Atari030
White screen then bus error, Nanard. Thanks for the list, I'll double check it. I'm betting that is my problem.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Tue May 10, 2016 4:45 pm
by nanard
Atari030 wrote:White screen then bus error, Nanard. Thanks for the list, I'll double check it. I'm betting that is my problem.

So you dont get to "Video_Init()". What's in error.log ? nothing ?

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Tue May 10, 2016 7:30 pm
by MM41
@ Nanard , no probem of redraw on TT when i return to desk (by exit game),
I use ST and TT video mode to try and the game come without draw bug :D .
More test this weekend.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Tue May 10, 2016 7:41 pm
by nanard
MM41 wrote:@ Nanard , no probem of redraw on TT when i return to desk (by exit game),
I use ST and TT video mode to try and the game come without draw bug :D .
More test this weekend.

Well I guess it is only a bug of Hatari 1.6.2.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:19 pm
by Atari030
Nothing, mate. I'll delete the lot and start over. I'm sure its just down to lack of sleep and not paying attention. :-)

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Wed May 11, 2016 12:38 am
by Xerus
I have a problem after completed the mission 1.
On the map to choose his next destination, you can not select the area of your choice, the mouse goes outside the map, the cursor is blocked under the map 8O
So impossible to start the mission 2.

Another thing, is there a way to choose the MT32 to the MIDI output as on PC?
Because I think is configured in General MIDI, standard appeared after the release of the MT32.
The songs sound very strange way, I think this is not always the right instruments selected.

Again, thank you for your great job.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Wed May 11, 2016 5:12 am
by paul92706
ok i got the game going on my TT030, 4mb/16TTFastram. The game plays smooth, but i came across a problem, upon completeing 1 mission, i can not select next conquest in the conquest menu. The mouse pointer sits at the bottom of screen and does not allow me to select next region. Same problem as Xerus.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Wed May 11, 2016 7:25 am
by mjvans
On my Falcon 14Mb/VGA the intro runs but it is squashed using only 1/3 of the screen.
Midi sounds great with Roland Soundcanvas SC-88vl.
Only after the intro I can select play game and then the Falcon freezes to a halt.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Wed May 11, 2016 9:51 am
by Atari030
ID'd 6 files with different Md5. Legacy.pak isn't in any of the archives I've downloaded. I have 4 other distros too, MD5 doesn't match them either. I'm guessing it is only the PAK files that are required?

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Wed May 11, 2016 11:31 am
by nanard
I have spotted the "mouse stuck" bug, and fixed it : https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/co ... eb42e6283b

New zip : http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160511.zip
I have included both Release and Debug executables.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Wed May 11, 2016 11:41 am
by nanard
@Atari030: right I think only PAK are used :)
@Xerus: I don't master Midi code in Opendune at all. It was converted from original executable to C, but the midi code was not really well reverse engineered. And maybe the code permetting to select MT32 or GM was lost... I have to test how it works with the original Dune2.exe under DOS ;)

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Wed May 11, 2016 12:18 pm
by nanard
@Xerus: here is what is in my dune2 DOS setup : MT-32/LAPC-1
Image

LAPC-1 is an integrated card with MPU401+MT-32

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Wed May 11, 2016 1:22 pm
by Atari030
Got it running. Wow, it looks stunning. Well done. I went over the files, some versions are different, but it works.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Wed May 11, 2016 6:04 pm
by Xerus
nanard wrote:@Xerus: here is what is in my dune2 DOS setup : MT-32/LAPC-1
LAPC-1 is an integrated card with MPU401+MT-32

It's very strange, I wanted to test OpenDune PC to see if I had the same problem.
I downloaded version 0.7 here http://www.gamesrevival.ru/modfiles.htm ... frame=true
I took the 64bit and 32bit version of (my configuration is Windows 7 64Bit).
My test is done on the main menu music (after the intro).
The 64bit version, the music sounds good.
The 32bit version of the music is horrible ... just like Falcon !!!

I tried to reverse dune.cfg to see if the difference came from there, but no change.
Perhaps the compilation is different, I don't know.
I hope it can give you a lead to find the problem.

EDIT:
Oh I forgot to mention, I made the test with Munt (emulator MT32).
I use Putzlowitsch's Vista MIDI Mapper Control Panel (essential with win7) to select munt instead of Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Thu May 12, 2016 8:11 am
by nanard
@Xerus : v0.7 is pretty old now.
Have you the same problem with http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160512.zip this is a 32bit windows version compiled with MS Visual Studio 2010.
What is the exact configuration of your windows machine setup ? (regarding MIDI)

I'm thinking the MIDI code may be sending malformed MIDI, and depending on the MIDI setup it's accepted or not

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Thu May 12, 2016 8:34 am
by shoggoth
Tandy 3-voice can fairly easily be converted to YM on the fly. If there's interest, I have some rudimentary code for it.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Thu May 12, 2016 9:04 am
by nanard
shoggoth wrote:Tandy 3-voice can fairly easily be converted to YM on the fly. If there's interest, I have some rudimentary code for it.

I'm afraid Tandy 3 voice sound driver has been lost in conversion, but once everything is fixed for MIDI (and DMA sound on stock falcons !)
I can ask original OpenDUNE developpers to help me retrieve it.
Tandy 3 voice is TI SN76489 chip, right ?

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Thu May 12, 2016 12:20 pm
by shoggoth
nanard wrote:Tandy 3 voice is TI SN76489 chip, right ?


Yes. 3 square wave voices + 1 dedicated noise channel (periodic and non-periodic). It's possible to approximate this fairly well with the YM (3 voices + switchable noise). Addressing etc is a bit different but it's not rocket science.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Thu May 12, 2016 1:02 pm
by nanard
@Xerus: Try on your Falcon with : http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160512.zip
I'm now properly sending the right number of bytes for each MIDI message.

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Posted: Thu May 12, 2016 6:12 pm
by Xerus
nanard wrote:@Xerus : v0.7 is pretty old now.
Have you the same problem with http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160512.zip this is a 32bit windows version compiled with MS Visual Studio 2010.
What is the exact configuration of your windows machine setup ? (regarding MIDI)

I have an error message "Unable to open file 'OPEN.CFG", can you do a complete compilation please?
The files of the previous version are not compatible.

Otherwise my configuration is basic, just a poor realtek chip (inside motherboard), no sound card; and the midi mapper use the emulator MUNT (with the two MT32 ROM).

nanard wrote:@Xerus: Try on your Falcon with : http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160512.zip
I'm now properly sending the right number of bytes for each MIDI message.

Sadly, the problem is still present, here you can listen the normal sound with the music Hope Fades (menu) :
https://youtu.be/kQADZeB-z8M?t=2m41s

The sound from my Falcon:
http://falcon060.free.fr/divers/opendune-mt32-falcon.mp3
The result with Opendune 0.7 32Bits is identical.

It would be interesting to hear the version of mjvans with its SC-88vl!