Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Fri May 13, 2016 9:46 am

shoggoth wrote:
nanard wrote:Tandy 3 voice is TI SN76489 chip, right ?


Yes. 3 square wave voices + 1 dedicated noise channel (periodic and non-periodic). It's possible to approximate this fairly well with the YM (3 voices + switchable noise). Addressing etc is a bit different but it's not rocket science.

I cannot get the original DOS Dune II to play music through Tandy 3 voices in dosbox :(
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

User avatar
mjvans
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:08 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby mjvans » Fri May 13, 2016 3:35 pm

Xerus wrote:
The sound from my Falcon:
http://falcon060.free.fr/divers/opendune-mt32-falcon.mp3
The result with Opendune 0.7 32Bits is identical.

It would be interesting to hear the version of mjvans with its SC-88vl!


ok i managed to produce an mp3.

SC-88vl version:
http://tempsend.com/D0743BCB5D

Still not coming further than the choose your house menu.

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby paul92706 » Fri May 13, 2016 6:02 pm

does anyone have the Answers to the questions for the next conquest? or were can i find them? thanks guys
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Xerus » Fri May 13, 2016 8:27 pm

You can download the manual here: http://hol.abime.net/440/manual

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby paul92706 » Fri May 13, 2016 8:46 pm

Xerus wrote:You can download the manual here: http://hol.abime.net/440/manual

thanks xerus! you are cool! :cheers:
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Xerus » Sat May 14, 2016 4:02 am

mjvans wrote:ok i managed to produce an mp3.

SC-88vl version:
http://tempsend.com/D0743BCB5D

Thank you, there are few wrong notes (not surprising because the music of Dune2 are not composed for a GM expender) but it's far better than my version :wink:

paul92706 wrote:
Xerus wrote:You can download the manual here: http://hol.abime.net/440/manual

thanks xerus! you are cool! :cheers:

...from HOL, Amiga is good for you :lol:

nanard wrote:I cannot get the original DOS Dune II to play music through Tandy 3 voices in dosbox :(

Here the intro music:
http://falcon060.free.fr/divers/dune2-intro-tandy.mp3

and the menu music:
http://falcon060.free.fr/divers/dune2-menu-tandy.mp3
I think that my bad MT32 version is better :mrgreen:

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sat May 14, 2016 8:54 am

Xerus wrote:
nanard wrote:@Xerus : v0.7 is pretty old now.
Have you the same problem with http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160512.zip this is a 32bit windows version compiled with MS Visual Studio 2010.
What is the exact configuration of your windows machine setup ? (regarding MIDI)

I have an error message "Unable to open file 'OPEN.CFG", can you do a complete compilation please?
The files of the previous version are not compatible.


What do you mean by complete compilation ? opendune is just an executable, that expects original Dune II files to be in a data/ sub-directory.

Additionally you can edit your own opendune.ini file to set directories, and other parameters (rescaling, and hqx/scale2x) :
https://github.com/OpenDUNE/OpenDUNE/bl ... ME.txt#L50
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sat May 14, 2016 9:40 am

paul92706 wrote:does anyone have the Answers to the questions for the next conquest? or were can i find them? thanks guys

I should not tell you, but you can crack the game in the C source code :)
https://github.com/OpenDUNE/OpenDUNE/bl ... ity.c#L212
if the function return true, you've answered right ;)
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Xerus » Sat May 14, 2016 5:12 pm

nanard wrote:What do you mean by complete compilation ? opendune is just an executable, that expects original Dune II files to be in a data/ sub-directory.

I thought there were other files because I did not have the file OPTIONS.CFG in DUNE2.
After playing a game I got the file (I copied it in opendune DATA directory or root) but always same problem, the game doesn't launch.
In Error.log I have this message "Unable to open file 'OPTIONS.CFG'."

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby paul92706 » Sun May 15, 2016 8:28 pm

nanard wrote:
paul92706 wrote:does anyone have the Answers to the questions for the next conquest? or were can i find them? thanks guys

I should not tell you, but you can crack the game in the C source code :)
https://github.com/OpenDUNE/OpenDUNE/bl ... ity.c#L212
if the function return true, you've answered right ;)

thanks nanard, ok here is a brief run down on Dune 2 running on a Atari TT030/4meg Stram/16TTram/MT-32 Sound. game and sound play very smoothly, but under heavy battle, the game does seem to slow down a bit or lagg. The sound is great it doesn't break up or chopp, it remains smooth even under heavy battle. Over all it is playable under a TT030 but could use better speed, i am gonna try it on my Falcon CT60 and see if there are any better results. thanks for your great work nanard :cheers:
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Tue May 17, 2016 8:17 am

Xerus wrote:
nanard wrote:What do you mean by complete compilation ? opendune is just an executable, that expects original Dune II files to be in a data/ sub-directory.

I thought there were other files because I did not have the file OPTIONS.CFG in DUNE2.
After playing a game I got the file (I copied it in opendune DATA directory or root) but always same problem, the game doesn't launch.
In Error.log I have this message "Unable to open file 'OPTIONS.CFG'."

I'm sorry, but I think i just found what's wrong.
A big change between OpenDUNE 0.7 and current (and 0.8 ) is that savegames and .CFG files are stores in a different directory.
under windows "savedir", it is %APPDATA%\OpenDUNE
Either there is a bug and the directory is not created if non existing, or there is a permission issue.

You can also use the savedir= directive in opendune.ini to point to any directory you want.
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby LaurentS » Tue May 17, 2016 8:55 pm

Thanks a lot Nanard for the game. I discover it (I didn't have it by the time).

That's a nice game which runs nicely on a Falcon.
I love it.

Respect.
Thadoss

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Tue May 17, 2016 9:56 pm

Is there somebody that can help me with the "stock falcon" sound bug ? (ie : no sound played, and game hangs at house selection screen)

* If you are not a coder, you can help me by sending the error.log/output.log files generated by the debug build (opendune-DBG.tos)
* If you are a coder (or know one) please see what is wrong with my "STE" DMA Sound code :
https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/bl ... ma_sound.s
https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/bl ... sp_atari.c

I see other fixes/improvement for longer term :
- MT32 music fix (not specific to Atari version)
- YM music (a lot of work is needed to retrieve the Tandy 3 voice implementation)
Last edited by nanard on Wed May 18, 2016 8:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Atari030 » Tue May 17, 2016 11:21 pm

I'll get the log for you tonight, matey.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Xerus » Wed May 18, 2016 12:07 am

Here my version:

Edit: I tried to launch the atari patch (fpatch.prg) and the game works on a vanilla Falcon with sound ^^
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Wed May 18, 2016 8:08 am

Xerus wrote:Here my version:

Edit: I tried to launch the atari patch (fpatch.prg) and the game works on a vanilla Falcon with sound ^^

OK, so Either I add a line in README to instruct users to run FPATCH.PRG before launching the game, or I add relevant code in the initialization
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Wed May 18, 2016 10:40 am

4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Wed May 18, 2016 2:54 pm

I think I understand why MT32 is not working right... an initialization phase was removed : https://github.com/OpenDUNE/OpenDUNE/issues/270
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Fri May 20, 2016 6:41 pm

@Xerus: I have added the DUNEINIT.XMI again :
http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160520.zip
http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160520.zip

For some reason Munt still make bizarre sounds... I'm not sure I'm sending the system exclusive message correctly under winows. Can you try the Atari version ?
Dont forget to put mt32init=1 in your opendune.ini file. It should display a message when launching the game
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Xerus » Fri May 20, 2016 9:09 pm

The sound is a bit different but it's not good.
However you progressed.
I see the initialization message and the MT32 led shows that receives information.
I think you're almost there, do not relaxes your efforts :wink:
Last edited by Xerus on Wed May 25, 2016 3:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Tue May 24, 2016 1:38 pm

I think I've got it :
http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160524.zip
http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160524.zip

Do not forget to edit OPENDUNE.INI
mt32midi=1 for MT-32
mt32midi=0 => sound better with General Midi Synth
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1176
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Xerus » Wed May 25, 2016 3:46 am

You did it !
The music is fantastic on the MT32 :D
Thank you very much :cheers:

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1303
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby mikro » Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:25 am

nanard wrote:I definitely need help from a real Falcon coder to tell me what's missing in the DMA sound code :
https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/bl ... sp_atari.c
https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/bl ... ma_sound.s

I guess there is some if(falcon) { init some registers } to add in the initialisation phase ;)

Do you still need a hand here?

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Wed Jun 22, 2016 10:29 am

mikro wrote:
nanard wrote:I definitely need help from a real Falcon coder to tell me what's missing in the DMA sound code :
https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/bl ... sp_atari.c
https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/bl ... ma_sound.s

I guess there is some if(falcon) { init some registers } to add in the initialisation phase ;)

Do you still need a hand here?

yep, I've not touched that code.
The workaround is to run FPATCH.PRG before the game
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Mr.JT » Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:12 pm

Plays great on my falcon (no music I assume as goes to midi?). But it's basically in a letterbox at the top of the screen - should this be the case?!
---------------------------------
14Mb 32MHz 4GB HD Falcon 030 with 19" LCD
STBook NOTEBOOK (!)
Atari Portfolio
2 x 4Mb STe
1 x STFM
Lynx
Jaguar and JagCD plus interesting prototype carts!

Bring on the retro!


Social Media

     

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests