Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Fri May 06, 2016 5:59 pm

Hello,
I have been coding for OpenDune for a couple of years now. One of the first thing I've done was to make the code Big endian compatible.
That was to make it run on PPC Macs. Then I added support for Midi under OS X, SDL 2 support, various improvements, Scale2x and Hqx rescaling, etc.

Last week I thought it could be possible to make OpenDUNE run under TOS. It needs a 256 color display, so I focussed on Falcon, who can do 320x200x8bpp
I sucessfully compiled OpenDUNE existing code with Vincent Riviere cross mint, added an assembly Chunky To planar routine.
After seeing the "Westwood studios" logo, I quickly added mouse + keyboard support.
The "port" was quite fast, thanks to work done years ago to be Big-endian compatible ! :)

I don't have a falcon, so I'm testing with Hatari. See the screen captures : http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/showpics.php

You can get the compiled version here : http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160506.zip
or start from the source code : https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/tree/atari

getting the original DOS Dune II v1.07 datafile is quite easy thanks to abandonware sites.

On an emulated Falcon 030 16mHz, the game is slow as hell. Not playable :(
I remember playing the original DOS game on a 386sx20, it had slowdowns, but was definitely playable. We here have the overhead of the chunky2planar conversion, but that shouldn't be that problematic.

Does anyone want to test the game on a fast machine ?
I can try to add TT support if someone wants/needs it. The 320x480x8bpp mode should be ok :)
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1315
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby paul92706 » Fri May 06, 2016 9:42 pm

oh wow! this game bring's back lots of good memories!! :-) thanks :cheers: i would definitley like the TT supported version!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
Atari030
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Atari030 » Fri May 06, 2016 10:54 pm

I'll try it on a CT2. Yes please for the TT. :-) NICE ONE!!!!

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Xerus » Sat May 07, 2016 4:11 am

Superb initiative!
I tested the game on my Falcon.
Under TOS (CT60 / 90MHz), the game is unplayable, too slow.
Under FreeMiNT (CT60 / 90MHz), the game is fast, perfectly playable :)

Without CT60, the game also seems playable at 16MHz (the framerate is acceptable during the intro) with FreeMiNT but I have a problem with the mouse, she is uncontrollable!
Maybe my config has a problem, it would take the opinion of another person.
In summary, the port goes wrong under TOS.

By the way, the sound is missing ;)

Thank you for this port.

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sat May 07, 2016 6:07 am

hum the fact that it works under FreeMint but not TOS shows there must be something about a systemcall.
Thank you for your feedback.

About The TT version, any help on how to setup the 256 color mode and how to se palette entry is appreciated :)
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sat May 07, 2016 6:58 am

OK I found that the gettimeofday() call was a bad idea :)
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

penguin
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:43 am

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby penguin » Sat May 07, 2016 8:45 am

I've wasted hours on Dune II on my PC, thanks for porting the game to the Atari! I will be reviewing it in a future issue of my magazine :)
AtariUpToDate - Atari ST/TT/Falcon software database and version tracker: http://www.atariuptodate.de
st-computer magazine - http://st-computer.atariuptodate.de/

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sat May 07, 2016 8:46 am

OK here is the new version : http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 160507.zip
gettimeofday() is out of the way, so the game is (almost) playable on a Falcon 16Mhz with TOS. Should be really OK with a small CPU boost :)

I also added some code to make it run on TT : the set palette works, but I've no idea how to properly set video mode, so you better have to launch the game in TT Low resolution ;)
is that possible to get 320x240 256color mode on TT ?
According to my tests in Hatari, the game is playable, but the aspect ratio is difficult to bear with 320x480 resolution
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sat May 07, 2016 9:16 am

Still to be done :
    Proper TT video code : either setting a 320x200/320x240 mode, or doubling each line to accommodate 320x480
    Keyboard code : I use Crawcin() for now, It should get IKBD interrupt
    Sound : should not be that difficult to use DMA sound. Dune II only uses 1 channel
    Music : it must be possible to output MIDI music to the Atari Midi ports

Any help from any real Atari Coder is welcome :wink:
specific atari code is there : https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/bl ... eo_atari.c
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

fidzen
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby fidzen » Sat May 07, 2016 11:46 am

Edit: It seems to work with the pak-files from the installation package.

Looks great! I really want to test it on my Falcon and I wonder if some nice
guy could post a link to the data files. I only find installation packages and
it's hard to install on Win 7 64-bit. :-)
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sat May 07, 2016 3:20 pm

4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Maeke » Sat May 07, 2016 3:25 pm

Try using d-fend dos emulator in windows 7, you should be able to install the game. the latest fans updates of d-fend contein a updated version of dosbox.

Playmobil
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Playmobil » Sat May 07, 2016 5:19 pm

Tried to ran opendune under Aranym+Emutos+XaAes.

Don't work... An error log file is created and he say :

Code: Select all

opendune.ini file not found.
Unsupported machine type.
don't know how to set palette on this machine.


Need to try with plain TOS.

Thanks nanard for your work ! :P :cheers:


EDIT : When crash, Aranym not responding, cause in the error log file, it's always don't know how to set palette, like an infinity loop. If it's help you ! :wink:

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sat May 07, 2016 5:38 pm

@playmobil: well it's not an infinite loop, it is there are a lot of palette calls :)
Logo display at start is done with color cycling for fading

You need to have a 256 color mode (8 bitplanes) for the game to display
I don't know if Aranym does this.
If a falcon is detected, VsetMode() is called to set video mode.

I just added DMA sound : sounds weird on Hatari
http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... _SOUND.zip
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

Playmobil
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Playmobil » Sat May 07, 2016 6:21 pm

Ok ! My Aranym Setup is in TC, not in 256 colors... I need to change my FVDI settings and try again !

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1173
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Xerus » Sat May 07, 2016 7:19 pm

The game runs fine with TOS now :)
However, the mouse doesn't work in 030 mode, so FreeMiNT is not responsible.
  
The sound is too fast, I suppose the replay frequency of sample is too high (relative to the original sound).

Continue the fight :cheers:

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sun May 08, 2016 12:06 am

OK, I found the sound bug. I swapped the Mono/stereo bit. bit 7 must be SET for MONO.
https://github.com/miniupnp/OpenDUNE/co ... b8e6cbc388

I have to find sample code for keyboard/mouse handling
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

User avatar
Atari030
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Atari030 » Sun May 08, 2016 12:18 am

I get the same opendune.ini failure on my CT2, then a crash. TOS 7.04 or in stock Falcon mode running in 256 colours.

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sun May 08, 2016 1:31 am

new build : http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... 508dbg.zip
this is a debug build, with messages written to error.log and output.log.

- DMA sound is working better now
- I added proper IKBD handling for both Mouse and keyboard.

still to do :
- Proper TT video code : either setting a 320x200/320x240 mode, or doubling each line to accommodate 320x480
- Midi music : does anyone has a Midi synthetizer plugged to his Falcon or TT ?

@Atari030: which version have you tested ?
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

User avatar
mouse_master
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 7:24 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby mouse_master » Sun May 08, 2016 11:38 am

I'm on travel unfortunately, so I haven't been able to try this, but I have been following. I have a CT60 Falcon and can hook up to an MT32, unfortunately, I have an extremely busy next 2+ months. :( Besides the Falcon, someone probably should also try this on the Firebee.

I am not sure if this will help, but here is MIDI code from ScummVM for sending midi data

https://github.com/scummvm/scummvm/blob ... stmidi.cpp

Not sure if this will assists you or not. If you have any questions, I can try to answer, but I wrote that small chunk of code a long while ago.
My Ancient Website dedicated to the ST:

http://www.geocities.ws/SiliconValley/Vista/5975/

Update? Its gone now....... But an archive of it lives...

MM41
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby MM41 » Sun May 08, 2016 1:45 pm

Nice work Nanard :D ,
I use a stock Falcon 14Mb TOS 4.02FR , the last opendune.tos freeze at the game selection (no mouse no keyboard).
I load the old version and i can try the game but it's impossible to play (the arrow move crazy).
My MT32 is wired if you want test midi sound :)

It's time to try on TT :D

MM41
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby MM41 » Sun May 08, 2016 6:44 pm

It's the same probleme with TT TOS 3.05FR, freeze after 1 seconde when the arrow is moved.
I can ear the voice intro (no sound on my Falcon?) some words are repeated but it's clear :)
With the older version the sound is too speed and the arrow don't work correctly.

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sun May 08, 2016 8:00 pm

Hum I think I need someone to look at the IKBD code to debug it. As everything works fine with Hatari, I don't know what is wrong :-(
I'm looking at midi code from ScummVM. looks pretty simple
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

nanard
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby nanard » Sun May 08, 2016 8:34 pm

with test midi output : http://nanard.free.fr/opendune/OpenDUNE ... I_test.zip
Tell me if you hear something
4MB STE + CosmosEx /|\ MegaST4 + MegaFile 44

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Dune II / OpenDUNE for Falcon (and TT)

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sun May 08, 2016 8:48 pm

nanard wrote:- Midi music : does anyone has a Midi synthetizer plugged to his Falcon or TT ?


You can use Hatari to test MIDI if you're on Linux, see:
https://hg.tuxfamily.org/mercurialroot/ ... -linux.txt


Social Media

     

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AnthonyJ and 1 guest