Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby Orion_ » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:19 am

Image

I present you my new adventure game, Philia: the Sequel to Elansar!
Elina’s husband is now in danger!
Can you save him through Elina’s mysterious subconscious?

Explore three worlds and solve over 15 puzzles by trying to understand how they work.
A minimum of 3 hours of gameplay needed to finish the game.

The game is available in French and English on CD for Windows, Mac, Linux, and for the Atari Falcon 030 !
See here for the CD ordering page: http://onorisoft.free.fr/elansar/philia_en.htm

Gameplay Video: http://vimeo.com/81008620
Atari Falcon 030/060 version Video: http://vimeo.com/81445559

Image Image
Image Image

Image
Last edited by Orion_ on Fri Jan 24, 2014 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RobS
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:45 pm

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby RobS » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:20 pm

Hello,

did you plan a firebee version ?

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby Orion_ » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:30 pm

No firebee version, because I don't own a firebee anymore, and the Firebee is not mature enough to make a real game (the true color display is far too slow)

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4178
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby DarkLord » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:37 pm

I'd be interested in a "full"version, nothing cut down...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1095
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby CiH » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:40 pm

I'm interested!

I'd also opt for the full CD version.
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2579
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby alexh » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:02 pm

I would be interested in the full CD version. But preferably an "all formats" CD containing the Falcon and the PC versions. Would that be possible?

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby vido » Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:20 pm

I am sorry to hear there will be no FireBee version as I dont have CT60 Falcon.
I dont care if the GFX right now is slow as this will improved in the future ...

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4849
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:21 pm

I'd buy a CD edition if the price is ok and the game runs on a standard Falcon without CPU accelerator.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4094
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby Brume » Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:39 pm

Will buy a full CD :D

jok
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby jok » Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:48 pm

ALso buying CD -- if stock Falcon supported (with some restrictions maybe) that would be great.

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 821
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby jfl » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:15 pm

vido wrote:I am sorry to hear there will be no FireBee version as I dont have CT60 Falcon.
I dont care if the GFX right now is slow as this will improved in the future ...

Same here. I would gladly buy the game for the FireBee. But I understand Orion's position: the 'Bee video is awful and must not be fun for a game developer.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4070
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby Dal » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:40 pm

Am I the only one who'd pay for a full version that exploits the SuperVidel? :)
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby wongck » Fri Nov 15, 2013 1:18 am

jfl wrote: But I understand Orion's position: the 'Bee video is awful and must not be fun for a game developer.

I was surprise that the bee video is slow.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4178
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby DarkLord » Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:16 am

Dal wrote:Am I the only one who'd pay for a full version that exploits the SuperVidel? :)


I'd pay *extra* for that! :wink:
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby vido » Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:20 am

jfl wrote:Same here. I would gladly buy the game for the FireBee. But I understand Orion's position: the 'Bee video is awful and must not be fun for a game developer.

I really like Elansar for the FireBee and I would really like to se also Philia for the FireBee. I also understand Orion if he cant build the game as he would like to be, but that will improve and I, as you, just want to send him a sign there is someone interested on it and hope there will be FireBee version one day :)
I would maybe buy CD anyway just to support Atari development but then I dont know what to do with it.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby Orion_ » Fri Nov 15, 2013 9:43 am

vido wrote:I dont care if the GFX right now is slow as this will improved in the future ...

It will not be improved magically, I think that the game developer will need to use special blitting function to speed the process, and those don't exist yet.
One year ago when I made Elansar for Firebee, they said that the video will be improved in the future, one year later, still nothing :/

Dal wrote:Am I the only one who'd pay for a full version that exploits the SuperVidel? :)

I would gladly make a truecolor high resolution supervidel version, because there we have a fast video using the built in blitter, unfortunately supervidel is too expensive for me (is it even still on sale ?)
I wonder how many people actually have one ? I don't know if it's worth the effort. :/

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4178
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby DarkLord » Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:38 pm

Orion_ wrote:I wonder how many people actually have one ? I don't know if it's worth the effort. :/


Don't know how accurate it is, but in the SV message thread here at Atari Forum,
the same question was asked and a "rough" count of people who posted payment,
and notifications that the unit was sent was a bit over 100...

Don't know how much that has changed (if any) since that was posted though, as
it was a little while back.

HTHs.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1095
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby CiH » Fri Nov 15, 2013 9:18 pm

Am I the only one who'd pay for a full version that exploits the SuperVidel? :)


Possibly not the only one, but I'd settle for any CT6x related extra's :mrgreen:
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby LaurentS » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:20 pm

Hi Orion_

I repeat what I said you on another thread.

Here, I totally agree with simonsunnyboy.
Only Standard Falcon 4 Mo interrest me (the real machine has enough power unexplored yet, so why adding it extra CPU, supervideocard, ...)

Let's explore the Standard Falcon capabilities as great ST coders did for the ST.
So, OK for a standard 4 Mo Falcon version; not interrested by any extra alien hardware version

Regards

Laurent

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby Orion_ » Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:22 am

LaurentS > If you had to port your RACER game to Android or PC, you would have to rewrite it from scratch, this is the exact same problem for me.
The game was made for modern system, 1280x720 32bits pictures, full motion video, PCM 44khz stereo music, etc...
You just can't port this straight to a stock Falcon with 4Mbytes of ram.
I ported my game library to Falcon yesterday, and after some test I can say that, the game will be playable on a stock Falcon with 14Mbytes of ram, it will be rather slow, so Accelerated Falcon is recommended, it's pretty smooth on a CT63.

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1095
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby CiH » Sat Nov 16, 2013 11:33 am

Everything that Orion said in his last post. .


I'd agree with that. There should be room for both your approach and Laurent's hardcore coding of a standard Falcon030. You will get quite different games, but both are equally welcome.
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2046
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby calimero » Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:47 pm

if it is not to complicated, SuperVidel version will be awesome!

maybe you could raise prepaid to buy SuperVidel for yourself (if it is still available!)...?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

Dromedary
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 4:07 am

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby Dromedary » Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:02 pm

Multiformat CD with Atari support would be cool. I'd buy that even if I don't have the machine to play with the Atari code at the moment. If that's not included I probably buy the copy from Google Play.

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby nativ » Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:56 pm

I guess you could really scale the video cut scene's back using Virtual Dub to a level that's useable with a stock falcon( could be quite low! ) or a more reasonable level for the accelerated machines! ( The Mega CD could do FMV! :D )

good luck!
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2046
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Philia: the Sequel to Elansar

Postby calimero » Fri Nov 22, 2013 2:50 pm

^
I think that stock falcon can replay 15fps or more, 320x200 animation with cinepak compression...!
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X


Social Media

     

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest