Beats of Rage

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby LaurentS » Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:42 pm

It would a real pleasure if someone composed 9 level musics + 1 intro music + one hall of fame music + 1 you win music for beats of rage.
The game would be even nicer.

If someone feels OK do to this, I would be grateful

Thadoss

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby nativ » Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:19 pm

LaurentS wrote:It would a real pleasure if someone composed 9 level musics + 1 intro music + one hall of fame music + 1 you win music for beats of rage.
The game would be even nicer.

If someone feels OK do to this, I would be grateful

Thadoss



What are the size and time constraints if any?
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby LaurentS » Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:28 pm

The most important is the size (some levels are really full of datas, eg level 2)

The intro/main menu have plenty of place and the module can be as big as you want.
The same for the hall of fame screen and the you win screen.

For the levels, I think the current modules are close to the maximum size.

If someone wants to do some musics and want to test them in the game, he should contact me, I'll give him a special version where it is possible to go directly to a level.
That would be awesome.

Best regards.

PS : I've improved a bit the enemies IA. Now, they walk to the player if they're too far. Before, they could do an attack, even if the player was far.
I continue to add some little things here and there, and I have a look at the joystick problem.

To have black borders in true color, should I just clr.l $ffff9800.w ? (It seems not to work under hatari, and my screen is VGA, so I can't see if the border became black or not)

Thadoss

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby MacFalcon » Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:18 am

Hi there,

as I wrote on DHS, great work! I really love that type of game... I played the hell out of my STE back then with Final Fight and now will with my Falcon and Beats of Rage ;) Who is first to beat Beats of Rage :D

Would be great if you could fix the joystick bug or even better integrate jag-pad support as that would push the playability to the limit or even above ;)

And I know it may be difficult, but with a 2 player mode this game would kill :twisted:

Great work!

Chris
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby LaurentS » Fri Dec 14, 2012 12:53 pm

Hi,

The joystick problem is already fixed on my current dev version :D
I'm polishing a V1.1 with some remarks I received.
I won't make a jagpad version as I don't own one.
I've also modified a little the enemies AI.

And I'm adding a little something that you will probably like :angel:

I'll try to spread this V1.1 this week end.

For a 2 players version, I'm sure it would be feasible, but I don't know if I'll take the time to do it.

Laurent

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2451
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby christos » Fri Dec 14, 2012 1:58 pm

LaurentS wrote:Hi,

The joystick problem is already fixed on my current dev version :D

I won't make a jagpad version as I don't own one.
Laurent


great about the joystick. It's a shame about the jagpad since you could assign kicks, punches etc to the buttons and make it play better.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5117
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby simonsunnyboy » Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:12 pm

Take this as an excuse to finally buy a Jagpad. It's worth it. Genuine Atari equipment and a standard for modern Falcon games. It is easy to support too. I can give you some code if you need it.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby nativ » Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:25 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:Take this as an excuse to finally buy a Jagpad. It's worth it. Genuine Atari equipment and a standard for modern Falcon games. It is easy to support too. I can give you some code if you need it.



Team Tap :D
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby LaurentS » Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:42 pm

Where do you find this Jagpad nowadays ?

Thadoss

EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 870
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby EvilFranky » Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:52 pm

EBay would be a good place.

Is there a community member who has a spare jagpad that they would like to contribute? :mrgreen:

So is Beats or Rage ran in 16-bit colour?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5117
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby simonsunnyboy » Fri Dec 14, 2012 3:03 pm

LaurentS wrote:Where do you find this Jagpad nowadays ?

Thadoss


Try Ebay as mentioned, you can also look for the complete term "Jaguar Powerpad". It is the controller used for the Atari Jaguar console.
If you are lucky, you can get that grey instead of black issue with blue buttons.

look out for thsoe: http://www.ebay.de/itm/ATARI-JAGUAR-ORI ... 51a496c824
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

f030
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: Beats of Rage

Postby f030 » Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:18 pm

christos wrote:It's a shame about the jagpad since you could assign kicks, punches etc to the buttons and make it play better.


You can do the same for keyboard


Social Media

     

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests