Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Orion_ » Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:43 pm

I just finished a little test program, and It would be very nice if some of you could test it on their Atari machine, especially if you have Milan/Hades/Firebee/TT with graphics card
The minimum machine is Falcon !
There is 2 versions, one in 256 colors, it need at least 640x480 in 256 colors mode
and one 32bits version, it need >640x480 resolution and in 32bits color mode.

You should have a little sound playing during the intro image too.

If you could tell me if its working or not on your configuration, and also describe your machine model and the video mode used. Thank you !

http://onorisoft.free.fr/extern/elansar_falc_test.zip
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Klapauzius » Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:02 pm

Had a quick check on

Falcon CT60
TOS
640x480x256

The intro image comes up in both Falcon and GEM mode.
The sound starts playing, but stops after a second with an unpleseant noise. :wink:
Don't know if it's meant to be that way.
Clicking in the 'main window' gives an alert with the mouse coordinates.

I can also try with CTPCI/ATI video if you want.
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Orion_ » Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:07 pm

Thank you !

I would be interested for the CTPCI test ! because I have a falcon ct60 so I can test the 256 colors mode, but not the 32bits truecolor mode ! (I'm using Aranyms Emulator for that)
Yeah the sound have a little scratch at the end, I still don't know why :/
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Klapauzius » Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:19 pm

Ok,

Falcon CT60
TOS
CTPCI/ATI video @ 1024x768x32bit

Works fine!
Even the scratch was missing this time. :)
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1136
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby CiH » Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:29 pm

Tested on Aranym in Emutos mode, came up fine, tiny intro screen, sound okay and full size game screen in GEM window. (TC version)

Also on Hatari 1.6, basic Falcon mode, Falcon option selected for intro so displayed at reasonable size, game screen came up okay as GEM window, no sound in intro, but 'pinged' with mouse click in game screen. (256 col version.)
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Orion_ » Mon Apr 02, 2012 3:48 pm

Thanks, I'm already testing on Aranym and Hatari while developing (much faster than transferring to the falcon :D)
I finally dropped the GEM compatibility for the 256 colors version because it was too slow and too much constraints.
So I will make a 256 colors Falcon only version (030/CT60).
and maybe later a GEM True Color version for High End Atari Config (CTPCI Radeon & hopefully Firebee)
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Shredder11 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 4:16 pm

Ahh so a Falcon 030 14MB + 68882 FPU like mine will not be able to play your game? I do not have any extra stuff like CT60/63.

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby rian_ata » Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:55 pm

Orion_ wrote:Thanks, I'm already testing on Aranym and Hatari while developing (much faster than transferring to the falcon :D)
I finally dropped the GEM compatibility for the 256 colors version because it was too slow and too much constraints.
So I will make a 256 colors Falcon only version (030/CT60).
and maybe later a GEM True Color version for High End Atari Config (CTPCI Radeon & hopefully Firebee)


If I read the text in bold I would guess your 030 14MB + 68882 should suffice.

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby vido » Mon Apr 02, 2012 8:49 pm

Orion_ wrote:I just finished a little test program, and It would be very nice if some of you could test it on their Atari machine, especially if you have Milan/Hades/Firebee/TT with graphics card
The minimum machine is Falcon !
There is 2 versions, one in 256 colors, it need at least 640x480 in 256 colors mode
and one 32bits version, it need >640x480 resolution and in 32bits color mode.

You should have a little sound playing during the intro image too.

If you could tell me if its working or not on your configuration, and also describe your machine model and the video mode used. Thank you !

http://onorisoft.free.fr/extern/elansar_falc_test.zip


I just did test on my Milan 060.
Soundcard is not working so I didnt hear any sound. I should investigate what is wrong with sound on my Milan.

In TC concerning graphics test application worked as it should. Nice picture in GEM window and it returns coordinates when you click in the window.

In 256 colour it works the same when you choose GEM except colour palete is messed so you see just garbage instead of picture. Falcon mode doesnt work on Milan.

m0n0
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:13 am

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby m0n0 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:28 pm

It would be great if you could also add either 16bit support or std pixel format ( 8bit ) support... then it should also work with my firebee config. (as I said - no 32bit screen here :( ). It shouldn't be to compilcated... :D

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Orion_ » Tue Apr 03, 2012 10:39 am

Thanks for the Milan test !
I'm glad that the truecolor version is working :)

m0n0 > it would be too much work to do 3 differents version.. because it would need to convert the graphics 3 times !
I'm sorry but I will stick with the 32bits version only :/
It's strange that your firebee can only display that modes, I don't understand how a screen can only be 16 or 8 bits, why not using a standard lcd screen ?
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

m0n0
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:13 am

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby m0n0 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 10:55 am

It's strange that your firebee can only display that modes, I don't understand how a screen can only be 16 or 8 bits, why not using a standard lcd screen ?


it is an standard LCD screen ;)

Why is this so strange? AFAIK an screen has some resolutions / bitdepth it can support - and some it can not display....

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby vido » Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:35 am

m0n0 wrote:it is an standard LCD screen ;)

Why is this so strange? AFAIK an screen has some resolutions / bitdepth it can support - and some it can not display....


m0n0, isnt it strange that you have so good computer and so bad monitor? ;)
i think someone should test this in TC mode on FireBee. Maybe joska?

I would, but I still waiting to my FB ...

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Orion_ » Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:39 pm

I made a project page on my website, updated at least weekly
http://onorisoft.free.fr/elansar/elansar.htm#English

The first version released will be Atari Falcon 030 for sure :)
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1136
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby CiH » Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:46 pm

Nice progress page.

Hardly any projects in the past have even got this far.

Looking forward to getting the full game. :cheers:
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

ldv-01
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby ldv-01 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:42 pm

Tested on FireBee TC (FireTOS+NVDI, screen size 1280x1024). The behaviour is the same reported for the Milan 060: after start I have a fixed picture (colors Ok) in a GEM window and it returns coordinates when I click somewere in the window. Closes correctly.
Last edited by ldv-01 on Mon Apr 16, 2012 1:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 672
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Mathias » Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:58 pm

I tested it right now at my FireBee.
The display is 1680 x 1050 @ 32 Bit.
After clicking the TC version, a small picture cam up. Subsequent a bigger one and than the checkbox with "Button 1 @ 839 x 485". I could quit it closing the GEM window.
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

m0n0
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:13 am

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby m0n0 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:13 pm

GEM is supposed to be standard, but not when using high resolution graphics ... because then we have to do all the work on our side to convert the graphics at the correct bpp.. and this is very painful to do..


You can use VDI standard format and then use v_trnfm to convert it to native format - that should work on any machine, at least when the bpp of the image matches the bpp of the screen.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Orion_ » Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:53 am

m0n0 wrote:You can use VDI standard format and then use v_trnfm to convert it to native format - that should work on any machine, at least when the bpp of the image matches the bpp of the screen.

This only works with paletted screen, it doesn't work for true color mode.

ldv-01 & Mathias > Thank you for the test ! I'm so glad it works on firebee ! :)
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 672
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Mathias » Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:51 am

Orion_ wrote:ldv-01 & Mathias > Thank you for the test ! I'm so glad it works on firebee ! :)

And I am glad, that there will be a new high colour game! Keep going!
Give me a ping, if you need further tests at a later stage, and I again don´t get it immediatly ;)
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Orion_ » Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:35 am

The Falcon port is done !

A few more stuff to do but the beta test is taking place !
I did the English version too !
Requirement: Stock Falcon 030 with VGA 640x480 monitor, mouse, and around 50Mbytes of free harddrive space (and tools for files transfers)

I think the game should be available for sale in early/mid July

For coders only, here is a speed coding video of the falcon port :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXVksAdiB6Y
Last edited by Orion_ on Sun Jun 03, 2012 7:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB

User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 766
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby BoNuS » Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:52 am

Like a real comericial package...
Thats been a while since there was a real release on the Falcon ;)
What will it cost when it is out ?
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
( I have just to much Atari stuff)

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4357
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby DarkLord » Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:02 pm

Yep, I'm looking forward to it. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1136
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby CiH » Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:30 pm

The Falcon port is done !


One moment please....

Woohooo! :cheers:

I liked watching the 'coders only' video, it does give you glimpses of other parts of the game world from time to time.
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Elansar : Falcon Youtube Preview

Postby Orion_ » Sun Jun 03, 2012 7:39 pm

BoNuS > I was planning around 15€, maybe a bit more If shipping outside France (I don't know how much it cost to send in europe or us)
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB


Social Media

     

Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron