Page 1 of 3

FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:18 pm
by yerzmyey
Heh, finally after several weeks we managed to light up a spark of The Force ;) into my new Atari Falcon. :cheers:
Well, the sound works weird because one channel was broken so (only for now) we plugged beeper instead of the broken channel, but still better than nothing.

Of couse I'm testing only demos for original Atari 'factory' configuration (I'm a fan) so they're mostly kinda old demos however some of them are really great.

I think people should also make progs for pure Falcon 030, as a real oldschool platform, still being powerful.

New demos for expanded Atari F are great but don't show the power of original config. :)

I wonder how many users have pure 030? Many of them or rather few?

For owners of the original config I'll try to make soon some list with the best Falcon 030 demos.
Hm.

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:43 pm
by Marakatti
Nice to hear it's flying again :)
I think too that while the new CT60 demos are great, they have somewhat lost the true "Falcon spirit". Still have one almost stock Falcon here, only modification being the FalconWings 14mb memory upgrade.

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:11 pm
by nativ
Hi,

Mine is standard 4MB, just fitted a 16mhz FPU, which ought to open things up a little!

Good luck

Ashley

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:59 am
by BoNuS
I have 2 real Falcon's (well one is at Simbo's place at the moment) but both have 14 Mb mem.
But I often work on the Hatari 1.3.0. with Falcon emulation which works also fine.

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:03 pm
by lotek_style
Hey Yerz welcome to the Falcon scene :P ... Well I have an unexpanded falcon except of the 14Meg Ram replacement.

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:22 am
by yerzmyey
All: guys, that's really cool news that people still value the original Atari config! :)
I started to watch all demos from POUET ;) but finally my vertebral column got broken, heh, so now I must wait some time and make some break. ;) However the old demos (I started from1993) are really cool. Of course there was a problem with music (only short loops or ripped musix) but the demos themselves are beautiful.
I hope in next years people also were making progs for the pure machine.
Sometimes there are still new guys on the Falcon, so I will finally prepare some list (also to show to ppl from other platforms on parties, hehe).

Lo-tek: Thanx, man. :) I appreciate this. I was hunting for the machine for about 5 years, haha. :) Finally I spent on it one salary, hu hu hu. ;) And some atarians helped me to revive it. ;)
As I understood, Your ppl made a pure Falcon demo actually "last times", I mean in 2003. :) I will try to watch it too however I use only diskettes to transfer stuff from PC, so for now I wonder how to pack/depack the main MP2 file. Hm. We will see. ;) I must see such a new demo for standard device. :)

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:10 am
by lotek_style
Yerz: Unfortunatly my group is currently quite dead when it comes to demostuff... Also it's not sure if we will ever return. It all depends on the coders. Well the demo you are speaking about (BEAMS) was
finally released in 2005 (first shown at EIL in 2003 but changed a lot since then). For transfering huge files you can use SPLITTER.PRG. You can split them on PC under STEEM and then use a couple of
real disks for the transfer. Then join the file again on Falcon :) I suggest to get a CD-ROM for Falcon and then burn a copy of our falcon archive:

ftp://ftp.untergrund.net/users/ae/No_Fr ... r_v1.0.iso

:)

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:28 pm
by yerzmyey
lotek_style:

>Yerz: Unfortunatly my group is currently quite dead when it comes to demostuff... Also it's not sure if we will ever return. It all depends on the coders. Well the demo you are speaking about (BEAMS) was
finally released in 2005 (first shown at EIL in 2003 but changed a lot since then).
------------------
Man, this demo roxx. :) Finally I managed to find the Splitter and move the demo into my AF.
I will tell You that this music is exactly this kind of composition that would be a huge hit on some MTV, VIVA or something like that. ;) The listenner cannot run away from the song even hours after watchin' the demo, hahah. :)
Anywayz. I do hope Your group will continue to make progs for 030.
Well, I will test FlexTracker prolly, one day, but for now the audio-out is still broken. (Not too bad for demos but definitelly not for making own music ;) ).


>I suggest to get a CD-ROM for Falcon and then burn a copy of our falcon archive:
ftp://ftp.untergrund.net/users/ae/No_Fr ... r_v1.0.iso
--------------
Wow, that's interesting. So maybe I will.
What is CD's connection on standard AF? Some PC-like or do I have to get some special cables (or special CD drives, hehe)?

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:09 pm
by mikro
yerzmyey: yeah, welcome :) about your question, you know, it's kind of complicated, there were always ongoing discussions what should be standard config... 4 MB? 14 MB? FPU? Non-FPU? I take myself as (very non-representative) example: I love coding for 030/DSP, 060 stuff is only some bonus, when I don't have energy to get my hands dirty :) But. I'm really lazy. I'm lazy to rewrite some of math routs which use square root precalcs, sin/cos precalcs... into fixed point math. And I'm even more lazy -- to optimize my stuff for <4 MB (splitting into parts, compress, share things) ... so in the end my demos requite FPU, 14 MB RAM and they don't show anything worth of it :)

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:08 am
by yerzmyey
mikro wrote:yerzmyey: yeah, welcome :) about your question, you know, it's kind of complicated, there were always ongoing discussions what should be standard config... 4 MB? 14 MB? FPU? Non-FPU? I take myself as (very non-representative) example: I love coding for 030/DSP, 060 stuff is only some bonus, when I don't have energy to get my hands dirty :) But. I'm really lazy. I'm lazy to rewrite some of math routs which use square root precalcs, sin/cos precalcs... into fixed point math. And I'm even more lazy -- to optimize my stuff for <4 MB (splitting into parts, compress, share things) ... so in the end my demos requite FPU, 14 MB RAM and they don't show anything worth of it :)


Hahaha, good one. :)

Well, as I'm a new guy in the neighbourhood, so I assume it's a machine in 'factory' state, so 16Mhz and 4Mb. I dunno what HDD I have but rather small as it starts to be full of demos after some weeks, hahaha. :)
Btw, if You need some digital music for some production then let me know. :twisted:

I noticed that last times MP2 files are more popular than MODs of multichannels (well, a pity), so theoretically I could provide even my symphonical music but first I would have to learn how to make MP3 from WAV, hehe. ;)

greetz!

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:14 pm
by yerzmyey
...anyway, for now I have to fix the Falcon to the end.

Sadly the sound is not fully functional - one stereo channel has burnt and at the moment we don't have the chip that is to replace. We connected in this place the internal speaker sound for now, which gives some equivalent. Enough for demos but surely not enought to make music, sadly.

What I mean is - there are two the same chips near to sound-output: one for left channel and one for the right. Our guess is - one of them is dead and therefore the channel is dead too. Jack-output is surely (99%?) OK. In this case my atarian friend Pionokio used additional mono sound output (from internal speaker) and connected it temporaliry instead of the dead channel. Like I said it's enough for demos but still not enough for music-making, heheh. ;)

I was checking out the schemes and it seems like it can be found here
http://uk.geocities.com/mayaka2001/ATAR ... MATICS.zip
on the picture "10.gif" (right/upper corner).

There are "HEADPHONE LEFT OUT" and "HEADPHONE RIGHT OUT". On both there are two twin chips (or anything) named "FB". One is L37 and the second one is L38. Pinokio suggested one of them is burnt.

We will see. Or rather - hear.

Are there any specific names for the chips described by me? If I would look for them in shops...? What to ask about?

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:06 pm
by yerzmyey

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 12:29 am
by [ProToS]
if you can read french there is a howto for fix that
http://www.yaronet.com/posts.php?s=90911

or using google translate

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:00 pm
by yerzmyey
Wow! Thanx, man.
I forwarded it to my hardware friends.
We will see if they can do anything about it.
Thx again!
Y

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:18 pm
by yerzmyey
OK, if everything goes well, today I'll try to connect a CF card (4Gb) to the Falcon, as an additional HDD.
We will see if it works or not. ;)

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:57 am
by wongck
yerzmyey wrote:OK, if everything goes well, today I'll try to connect a CF card (4Gb) to the Falcon, as an additional HDD.
We will see if it works or not. ;)


Yes, it does work!
So long as you can set the one devices as master and the other one as slave.
I have tested with DVD drive, CD drive and CF drive. :cheers:

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:46 pm
by yerzmyey
Argh.
We found too late it works with small IDE ribbons only. And we didn't have a small ribbon for 2 drives.

Well, maybe next time.
Meanwhile we managed to fix the sound!! :)
So now I can try to make some multichannel stuff on Falcon, heh. ;)

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:50 pm
by earx
yerz: congrats! the falcon is a fun machine. but as you now know, nowadays you gotta fiddle a bit with hardware. ;) i love the standard falcon as well. a ct60 is powerful but isn't my style. i still dig the good old 030+dsp ;) good luck making some music with it. have you found a favourite tracker so far?

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 7:32 pm
by yerzmyey
At firts I will try FlexTracker and AceTracker. :)
And then - we will see. ;)

Also, finally, I will add the CF card, I have to! ;)

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:21 am
by nativ
ROCK ON! :twisted:

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 12:35 am
by wongck
yerzmyey wrote:Argh.
We found too late it works with small IDE ribbons only. And we didn't have a small ribbon for 2 drives.

There are 44pin to 40 pin IDE adapters on ebay. :mrgreen:

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 5:17 pm
by yerzmyey
wongck wrote:There are 44pin to 40 pin IDE adapters on ebay. :mrgreen:


Actually I'm grateful for this info because I had no idea such a thing extists. :)
However it wouldn't help us back then, as I had to go 200Km to another town, to repair the Falcon. :)

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 1:20 am
by wongck
yerzmyey wrote:Actually I'm grateful for this info because I had no idea such a thing extists. :)
However it wouldn't help us back then, as I had to go 200Km to another town, to repair the Falcon. :)

You mean someone 200KM away was doing this for you?
It's not too difficult to put the adapter for the IDE cable.

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 7:31 pm
by yerzmyey
This is not the end ;) I will force him to add the cad sooner or later.

Re: FALCON WORKS at last :)

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:42 am
by Factor6
Yerz, for how much was your Falc? I sold my one for 5000 CZK 2 years ago (not much). It was a 14MB big tower machine with Phantom, 2 HDD, CDROM. I was disappointed of demos, they all looked like from a DOS based PC. Maybe I'll get a new one, but only in original state. So good lunk with youtr Falc. I got a 520ST+ at last. I ever wanted this model :)

F6