Japtro STe Fix ?

This is where you post all your requests for demos, intros, pubtros etc...

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby Orion_ » Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:00 pm

Is there any fix/patch for Japtro on STe ?
I really like this demo and can't watch it my STe, the machine reboot just after the rotating starfield begins at the beginning of the demo :(

Edit:
I finally took some time to patch this nice demo.
Here is the disk patched for STe:
Enjoy ! http://onorisoft.free.fr/atari/japtro_ste.zip
Last edited by Orion_ on Sun Nov 13, 2016 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1163
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby npomarede » Sun Nov 08, 2015 5:39 pm

The demo runs under Hatari STE TOS 1.62, so I think it should work on real STE too.
Are you sure it's not your floppy which is damaged ?

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby Orion_ » Sun Nov 08, 2015 5:55 pm

npomarede wrote:The demo runs under Hatari STE TOS 1.62, so I think it should work on real STE too.
Are you sure it's not your floppy which is damaged ?

I use a floppy emulator, so ...
And it's on the list of demo that doesn't work on STe: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=1570
(it also crashes the same way on Steem SSE)

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1163
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby npomarede » Sun Nov 08, 2015 6:03 pm

But is it referenced on Steem page because it's not correctly emulated yet, or because Japtro is really not compatible with STE ?
Maybe someone else here could report if it works on his STE.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby Orion_ » Sun Nov 08, 2015 7:43 pm

ok I tried to watch the difference between STF and STe behavior on this demo using Steem debugger

Timer A routine @ $00A388 is started just at the white screen after the screaming sangoku picture.
The problem is, this routine writes to the A1 register which should contain the YM register address $FF8800.
But instead, during that white fading (2 frames), it contains the address $09FBCA, so, the Timer A routine writes junk in the memory.
and specifically at the $09FBCE address which is later used as an index to fetch an address in a table. (Code at $A0D0 / $A0F2)
on STF this index is 0, on STe it is $EC00, which give the wrong offset address, and when writing at this wrong address, it crashes (at $A11A)
I'm not sure why there is this difference on STF or STe about this, maybe a different Timer A behavior.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4851
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Nov 09, 2015 5:08 pm

Yes, Timer A has special behaviour on STE, together with DMA sound. But I do not have any details at hand...IIRC it was described in Paranoid's STE FAQ:
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby lotek_style » Mon Nov 09, 2015 5:36 pm

As far as I remember the demo worked fine on my STe back in the day.
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Nov 09, 2015 6:19 pm

Demo depends on CPU/MFP ratio, which certainly varied between STEs.
It loops on my STE like in Steem SSE 3.7.2.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1197
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby troed » Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:56 pm

Steven Seagal wrote:Demo depends on CPU/MFP ratio, which certainly varied between STEs.
It loops on my STE like in Steem SSE 3.7.2.


IIRC the "only" difference is between between PAL and NTSC STEs (8.02 vs 8.05MHz).

(On ST there are a few others as well)

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby Orion_ » Sun Nov 13, 2016 3:25 pm

I finally took some time to patch this nice demo.
Here is the disk patched for STe, working on Steem SSE, it should work on a real STe
(since Steem was having the same crash behavior I had on my STe)
Enjoy ! http://onorisoft.free.fr/atari/japtro_ste.zip

User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4094
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby Brume » Sun Nov 13, 2016 3:33 pm

Thanks for sharing, Orion ! I like very much this demo, too :)

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby lotek_style » Sun Nov 13, 2016 3:55 pm

What was to patch? It worked fine on my old STe back in the day.
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 333
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby Orion_ » Sun Nov 13, 2016 4:02 pm

lotek_style wrote:What was to patch? It worked fine on my old STe back in the day.

It wasn't working on my STe nor Steem SSE pretty accurate emulation, so ... maybe you could try again on an STe to see if it's working or not ?
Patch detail in the readme. (but I don't know exactly why there is a difference between ST and STe behavior)

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby lotek_style » Sun Nov 13, 2016 4:08 pm

Maybe it's due to different TOS? I don't have the same machine that I had in the early 90's anymore but I can try on my current STe with 4 MB.
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Nov 13, 2016 7:25 pm

Orion_ wrote:
lotek_style wrote:What was to patch? It worked fine on my old STe back in the day.

It wasn't working on my STe nor Steem SSE pretty accurate emulation, so ... maybe you could try again on an STe to see if it's working or not ?
Patch detail in the readme. (but I don't know exactly why there is a difference between ST and STe behavior)


Thx for the compliment (Steem SSE pretty accurate emulation), although in this particular case I'm not sure it is accurate (CPU/MFP clock ratio), there could be another reason, like faster chipset. It's a TODO for me.

What is sure: have the loop effect on my real STE too (4MB, TOS 1.62 UK), that's why Steem SSE behaves this way. :)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Japtro STe Fix ?

Postby Steven Seagal » Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:20 pm

Confirmed on my STE, original loops at first screen, your patched version passes.


Social Media

     

Return to “Demos - Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest