YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

Neild323
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:32 pm

YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Neild323 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:59 pm

I really, really want a YM module device, midi or USB, so I can use it as a stand alone device for in my band, but also hoping to sequence with it.

I've seen a fair few ready made ones & would rather not go to the hassle of creating one via an arduino unless its relatively straight forward.

I saw a thread on here but the said devices are sold out, and it was from many years ago. So just wondering if anyones aware of any modern YM stand alone devices which could achieve this?

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Atari74user » Wed Jun 07, 2017 6:42 pm

You can try Twisted Electron's AY3. I do not have one myself but have thought about it. Twisted Electron do some interesting devices:

https://twisted-electrons.com/ay3/
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF & Steinberg FDI
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, Soundpool M04, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

Neild323
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Neild323 » Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:41 am

Wow, that thing looks awesome! Thanks for the link. Currently I'm between that & also thinking of getting MiST so I can run real ST PRGs & hopefully run a midi keyboard through it. So looking to see if I could also assign modulators to various controls on my keyboard which would be a dream. Perhaps that way I could avoid taking out my ST to events, & hopefully have a wider choice of sounds & arrangements to play with. Hmmm, the possibilities!

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Atari74user » Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:13 pm

Yeah it looks a nice bit if kit. The MIST could be a good idea, just remember any software with dongles won't work, so song long as that isn't an issue, your quest certainly seems feasible!
:cheers:
Last edited by Atari74user on Sat Jun 10, 2017 7:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF & Steinberg FDI
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, Soundpool M04, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

Neild323
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Neild323 » Sat Jun 10, 2017 4:34 pm

Thanks pal, comforting to hear this direction could suit all my needs, especially for visuals too which I'm working on. Just got to learn more about MiST & see what options I have, very useful to hear this about dongles already. It'd be great if I could use ROMs on it such as MSA or copied PRGs. My friend has cubase & he's selling his ST to me for £50, with the monitor & all (he's an obsessive hardware collector, owns one of the first 5 moogs ever made too, but still only produces with reason!) Shame if I couldn't get cubase working on it though coz I'd have hoped for that. If I find the right software for this, I think I could be onto a big win!

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Atari74user » Sat Jun 10, 2017 7:31 pm

One for the first five Moogs, drool that would be nice. I very much like the original hardware root, it marries well with my collective behavior, clones also, I am not adverse to a good clone. Just to note, Cubase is a another piece of software that requires a dongle, however you can get 'cracked' versions of software to negate the dongle. For Cubase you can head on over to here for the cracked version:

http://atarimusic.exxoshost.co.uk/index ... Itemid=221

I can't couch for stability.
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF & Steinberg FDI
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, Soundpool M04, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

Neild323
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Neild323 » Mon Jun 12, 2017 9:32 am

Ahh that sounds brill mate, thanks for this. I think I need to research the MiST a fair bit to check its going to achieve exactly what I want, but that sounds promising, onto a good start looking into it as it seems. Even if I"m able to run something simple such as Music Studio, hoping a modern usb midi keyboard would be compatible enough to midi map parameters for the knob controls, I'd be in utter bliss!
So excited to see it come together. Currently working on a remix of 'Revenge of Doh', so excited about all of this. I circuit bent a saisho keyboard the other week & as it happens, what ever I did almost identically matches the sound of the synth used in that game. Hopefully all this work will take me to Japan, where I plan to meet my wife :-) haha

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Atari74user » Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:44 pm

There should be no reason other than hard work to map any MIDI controller to the MISTs MIDI / MIDI over USB via Cubase Mixer Maps. Of course some equipment do like to play hardball. The MIST has been tested with a cracked version of Cubase as the MIST WIKI testifies: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki/Midi

Looking forward to the Revenge of DOH remix! Just had to remind myself of that tune!
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF & Steinberg FDI
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, Soundpool M04, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

Neild323
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Neild323 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:17 pm

I bow down to you Sir! So happy you've taken the time to support me here & point me in the right direction. You will get a special WAV-plate of the finished tune, I'll be only playing it live so will have no release, if you want it of course! So many things to work on at the mo but I think this will hopefully have a lot of longevity in it, to know this is possible is a great start & I guess all thats left, is doing it! Thanks so much!

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Atari74user » Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:42 pm

My pleasure, glad I could help somewhat! Indeed, it would be a pleasure to receive a WAV of your remix. I find it interesting what you are doing as I share that interest. I have been fiddling with Chiptune and have incorporated a few bits of hardware into my small studio. The studio is in pieces at the moment, as I have moved and now the room which will be my studio is having the electrics sorted ready to set it up again. I have injected some new equipment in the last year, and the 'Chiptune' gear has been some of that, allowing me to indulge in some of my interests, that of music, music technology and old computer technology, it's a nice marriage wrapped up in a big dose of nostalgia of course.
:cheers:
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF & Steinberg FDI
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, Soundpool M04, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

User avatar
iceman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby iceman » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:42 pm

The MiST is great (I use it for MIDI sequencing) but be aware that there are only two MIDI ports.

The timing is at least as tight with the MiST as an ST, even in STeroids mode. It's great fun and not so expensive.

Great programs to play with are: Cubase Lite, AEX, and Music Mouse (a toy really). The Cubase cracks are flaky at best.
Atarian since 1989. Atari 1040STFM, 4MB 520STe with UltraSatan and Unitor N, A dodgy 1 MBSTe that bombs out after a few minutes, and a 14MB 48MHz Falcon 030 with NetUSBee and Soundpool 8 channel DAC. Plus my new MiST!

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Atari74user » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:25 am

Neild323, you may be interested in this, I know I am:

https://facebook.com/catskullelectronics

Look at the YM2149 synth post. A potential up and coming YM2149 synth based around a Teensy board.
:cheers:
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF & Steinberg FDI
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, Soundpool M04, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

Neild323
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Neild323 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:04 pm

Hey there Atari74 & Iceman!
So sorry I didn't see this response till now, I'm catching up on this site at the mo.
Still considering a MIST but in the meantime I've been looking at other ways to control my Atari in a DAW taking a midi in from a USB to midi interface via ableton. Still need to test that plan though, getting used to maxYMiser & musicmon on steem till I'm ready.
but wow, thanks for the heads up on that Atari74! I've just messaged catskull to ask more about it. If it can be controlled in a modern DAW, hoping that's what its for, I'm laughing! Just need to be sure what parameters can be editted & if it's just preset sounds, or if I can send midi data to change synth sounds in it, if not then just the notation so I can sequence with it.
Looks promising tho!

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby FedePede04 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:30 pm

Hi Neild323
you don't have any preset sounds, only sound register, you need to code it all (make routines for), freq, volume, envelope, vibrator ect.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

Neild323
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Neild323 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:49 pm

Thanks Fedepede,
I'm curious what I could do with it, I"m not sure exactly how its designed to be used. I'm guessing I'd send code to it written in stos for eg, but would this code be coming from say steem for example, or could your YM2149 windows tracker use this? I'm still learning a lot about these kinda gadgets & how they work, sorry if I'm missing something most people generally know about.

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby FedePede04 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:23 pm

hi
if it is a pre made one then i don't know that it can do,

but if i should make one, i would add a chip where i made the synth software on, and not like in my window player, the problem is, all the fx like vib, arpeggio and more important sid fx need to be played precise whole the time or maybe you can hear it.

but i think you should be able to stream the ym format to it, it is only 14 data every 50hz, and maybe also my format it is up to (6x14) every 50hz.

an other way to go could be
my ym2149 emulation(sound vice) is very close to the real deal and
i have many times thought of adding a midi part to my program, so that you can use it as a midi synth, and that could save you for a lot of work, and give me some more work instead of :lol:
but i would probably first, have time for it, in the new year.

btw i did a opl3 gm midi synth (Driver) for DOS, many years ago, and is quite a big task.
so find out what you what to do before you start doing something like that.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

Neild323
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Neild323 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:30 pm

FedePede04 wrote:hi
if it is a pre made one then i don't know that it can do,

but if i should make one, i would add a chip where i made the synth software on, and not like in my window player, the problem is, all the fx like vib, arpeggio and more important sid fx need to be played precise whole the time or maybe you can hear it.

but i think you should be able to stream the ym format to it, it is only 14 data every 50hz, and maybe also my format it is up to (6x14) every 50hz.

an other way to go could be
my ym2149 emulation(sound vice) is very close to the real deal and
i have many times thought of adding a midi part to my program, so that you can use it as a midi synth, and that could save you for a lot of work, and give me some more work instead of :lol:
but i would probably first, have time for it, in the new year.

btw i did a opl3 gm midi synth (Driver) for DOS, many years ago, and is quite a big task.
so find out what you what to do before you start doing something like that.


That would be awesome, with a chip built in to run the software for the sounds, if your thinking of putting something like that together that'd be tremendous! Would be a great earner too.
I've made some amazing sounds in your ym2149 program which I've used in a tune I'm currently making visuals for, I gotta give it to you, it's very powerful. I exported seperate tracks for synths/noises to put into ableton & edit further. If you could program a midi in function yes, that would make life amazing!
I've been using Maxymiser through steem via USB midi which worked a ok, although I'm due to test a second USB to MIDI interface so I can sequence it from my DAW on another machine, eventually I'll try that with my Atari, sequencing on my mac's DAW into Midi in which should avoid latency issues. All a working progress though. I'm sure many would crave for a midi function (not hinting at all, haha)

I'd need to find out more about this device. There's some coding which is midi mapped to channels 1-3 which comes with it, whether thats for external software or built in I'm unsure. If it involves intense programming it does leave me to ask how much I'm willing to take on-board (unintended/terrible pun). Unless I feel I'm able to learn the basics enough to achieve mediocre/simple results. I'm always keen to learn but if it's something which requires a lot of in depth knowledge & years of mastering to conquer, I'd need to leave it as a side project & not get too involved if it takes me away too far from writing material. So yes, it's true what your saying there, but it'll be cool to hear back from the manufacturers about it to see what they say. Here's where the product is, & source code they've put up too: https://catskullelectronics.com/YM2149 & https://github.com/trash80/Ym2149Synth

FedePede04
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 951
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby FedePede04 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:49 pm

Hi
i had a brief look at the source code, (don't know much C) and for me it look like they have done some the midi functions, so maybe it could be that it is a fun little device.

I also found this in my search
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUPs2pv5d_g
https://electronicfields.wordpress.com/ ... -and-midi/

you could try an contact that author and hear what i can do. the schematic are there and also the source code for the device.

thanks for liking my program :D
i could send you the latest version of my program, in a couple of days, just need to finish some minor things, i have add turn the channels on/off on the main panel.
it will only export the audio from the channel there is on. you can also do it now but you have to turn the channels on/off in the tracker.

i will have a look at the program in the new year, but right now i am coding on Enduro Racer, i am in the process of adding sample drums to Project Ymer, so i can get 3 channel YM and stereo drums in Enduro r title screen.
----
I am also thinking about, if i shall add the midi to the old program, or if i should start all over and make maybe a 16 channel 32 poly ym2149 synth.
but i will decide later on that, i had promised my self no more tracker/synths :lol:
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

Neild323
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: YM Stand Alone Sound Modules? I want one!

Postby Neild323 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:22 pm

Hello again,
I've started a chat with them & it's looking clearer to me now.
They said 'there are preset sounds, but they're controlled with MIDI CC commands so you can customize them'. So I asked if these commands would be controlled from a DAW like ableton for example, using parameters like vibrato to edit in the sequencer, as you would with a modern General Midi based sound module.
They said 'that should be fine' but I want to check some more details like, when they say it can play 3 channels, would that appear in my DAW as 3 seperate channels (perhaps Bass, synth & Drums)? I know the YM chip can only play 3 voices at once, so 3 channels makes sense. & then I'd imagine if you wanted a change of voice you would need to develop or type in some code (from someone experienced in synth CC code) for change of the desired voice.

That video you shared is interesting. That's pretty much exactly what I want to achieve. I'd be interested to see how it works & if theres something I'm misunderstanding in the process of that setup, but without myself going into detail to understand it better, it seems pretty logical.

In the long run though, if I'm spending a long time coding & less time playing with features in a more user-friendly program like maxymiser for example, I might figure out that I'd be better off syncing my Atari through USB to MIDI from my DAW, than learning how to code synth sounds for devices like this. I'm sure theres 1000 ways to get around it though!

Looking forward to the next release btw :-) If you'd be kind enough to prompt me when its ready I'll be straight on it!

Would love to hear enduro racer beefed up with some phat drums! Great tune choice too, & if I could get some samples running on that I'd be laughing.

But, if you created that dream of a YM machine you spoke of, a 16 channel YM Synth? Wow, that would change the game for everyone!


Social Media

     

Return to “Ym rockin'”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests