Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

smoston
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:22 am

Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

Postby smoston » Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:32 am

Hello, checked out Maxymiser with Steem Emulator set to STE, 2mb ram, tos 206 file got it all working ok

The digidrums wouldn't work until TOS 206 was being used. Now that's fine.

The demos sound really amazing by the way. Thanks.

Please help me out. Using home made samples kicks allota's ass. How do you do it though?

In the manual it says:

Hint: you can also load microsoft .WAV files saved in PCM 8bit format into
maxYMiser without too much effort. Firstly use 'sign/unsign' and then trim the
first 44 bytes from the start of the sample.

So in Cooledit you first convert your own samples from 16 bit 44100 to 8bit 44100 then you save as Microsoft 8-bit PCM .wav format.

How do you cut away the first 44 bytes from the sample? In notepad the file is gibberish. What software are people using to achieve trimming the first 44 bytes out of the sample? Having tried to make a hi hat sound, it played as pure noise through the Maxymiser software :-(

Thanks for your help in advance, fellow board members. This board looks awesome!

Can't wait to get home and try out MYM on my STe 4mb ;-) ;-) Midi control for teh win.

mOdmate
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

Postby mOdmate » Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:35 am

S.E.EXT (or Control+E) -> Start 0000 -> Start 002C ?

> the digidrums wouldn't work until TOS 206 was being used. Now that's fine.

That's strange, as they even work on my STF with TOS 1.4.

smoston
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

Postby smoston » Fri Aug 21, 2015 3:46 pm

Getting too much distortion on the samples, a snare drum is changing into full spectrum white noise. A 400Hz sine wave is playing like a square wave with harmonics. Is saving the file as 25600hz rate a better idea? There doesn't seem to be a 55100hz option in the software.

smoston
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

Postby smoston » Sat Aug 22, 2015 11:52 am

My samples were in mono! Should they be in Stereo?

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2357
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

Postby lotek_style » Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:44 pm

I also have the same problems with my "own" made samples for the use in maxymizer...
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

smoston
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

Postby smoston » Wed Sep 02, 2015 11:57 am

Ebay had an Atari "Sound and Music" package for £15, arrived really quick too. The cart has a monophonic input. The software is available online too, there's one called Sample Maker and another called Music Maker Plus (STe)/MusicMaker (STfm). It seems pretty good. The samples save in .AVR format for use in Octalyser. No idea if .AVR will work in Maxymiser. Gonna try it soon. Hope to share drum samples soon! (Waiting for a usb mouse cable to arrive from ebay hehe.) :D

User avatar
xfalcon
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:10 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

Postby xfalcon » Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:28 pm

I had the same problems to load my samples.
The best way is to convert the samples to wav 8bit mono (22050)
Load the sample. Choose S.E.EXT. and click on Sign/Unsign.
If you choose the STeDMA cannel to play the sounds it maybe sounds not like you what.
That because the octave is set to 1 on default, I think. Press F4 for the fifth octave and then Q. Than you hear your sample in the right octave, hopefully.
It didn't work for me with 32 or 44 khz. I will try some other sample rates

regards
chis
Last edited by xfalcon on Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Falcon030 14 MB+Dayna Port::MegaSt4+Hydra, Overscan & UltraSatanDisk

User avatar
xfalcon
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:10 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

Postby xfalcon » Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:41 pm

Here we go ;)

The best sample rate is 16390. You can hear the original sound on octave F4 and key Q.
Or sample rate 24585. Original sound: F4 and T
As sample rate converter I have used 525 8)

regards
chis
Falcon030 14 MB+Dayna Port::MegaSt4+Hydra, Overscan & UltraSatanDisk

vitaflo
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 4:34 am

Re: Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

Postby vitaflo » Sat Sep 19, 2015 4:13 am

These are my old notes on this, might be helpful.

In 525 and do the following:
  • Under Export options do the following:
    • File Type: AVR
    • Format: Mono Signed 8-bit
    • Check Maximize Volume
    • Convert Freq: Atari 12292 Hz (can also use 8195 Hz for longer sample w/ less quality)
  • Under Import select your WAV file.
  • Hit Export and give the file a name.

In MaxYMiser:
  • Import sample in the load sample area
  • Click the S.E. Ext. button
  • Change the Start value to 0044 (gets rid of signed data "pop")
  • Correct playback is Octave 3 (F3) T on keyboard (Q if sampled at 8195 Hz)
  • Note sample may be soft. Volume increase is destructive. Consider using YM volumes of $a or $b instead to match sample volumes if it's a problem.

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11175
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Preparing digidrums for maxymiser?

Postby Mug UK » Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:13 am

I converted a load of old PC sample CDs into 11Khz mono samples. They will all be .WAV file format. Would these be of any use?
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk


Social Media

     

Return to “Ym rockin'”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest