first thing first.

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

User avatar
XTDP
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Sweden

first thing first.

Postby XTDP » Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:00 pm

Hello all!
I'll get right to it, and ask:

On MedwayBoys menu 99, disk b, there are some music files with the extension .MUS
How do I put them in good use?

I've tried some tracker programs and players but none handles the files.
My intrest has grown from just listening to YM's and SND's to actually
DO THINGS (aw, i know, bad joke) and i found myself knowing very little
about these things.
So I hope this will be some sort of a guide into it, coz more questions will probably follow this. :)
-Where's my resource file!!
-Oisann!?

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11390
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: first thing first.

Postby Mug UK » Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:41 pm

It's been a while since I've seen that disk but from memory, they're more than likely Zippy's Mad Max music hacks that he released from time to time.

There should be an assembler listing you can load into Devpac, change the name of the file in the INCBIN line and assemble to memory. Run the output and you'll hear the tunes.

They won't work in any form of tracker as the replay code is at the front of the file, followed by the music data file.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
XTDP
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: first thing first.

Postby XTDP » Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:58 pm

Thank's!
Ok, I think i understand "replay code in front of music data", file-structure related right? and therefore not tracker-friendly.
But I'm lost when it comes to assembler listings and Devpac.
What is next step?
-Where's my resource file!!
-Oisann!?

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11390
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: first thing first.

Postby Mug UK » Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:36 pm

XTDP wrote:Thank's!
Ok, I think i understand "replay code in front of music data", file-structure related right? and therefore not tracker-friendly.


Yep - a tracker file would be the raw data only for that particular song. Whereas these files are the replay routine in assembly code with the 'tracker data' tacked on the end for as many tunes are needed etc.

XTDP wrote:But I'm lost when it comes to assembler listings and Devpac.
What is next step?


Get a copy of Devpac and place it on a blank floppy disk image (it's program name is: GENST2.PRG) and copy all the .MUS files and the .S file from the Medway Boys disk image onto this new disk image. It'd be easier for you to put the blank disk image in A: and the Medway Boys disk image in B:. When this is all done, launch GENST.PRG, open the .S file and then look (again, I'm guessing) at the end of the listing where there should be an INCBIN command. Whatever filename is in there is the one that will be used.

Press ALT & A to assemble the code. Make sure the assembly destination is set to 'Memory' in the options. Press ALT & R to run the code and listen to the tune.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
XTDP
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: first thing first.

Postby XTDP » Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:00 pm

yeah, it almost works.
The jambala.s and jambala.mus and GenST.prg are present on the disk in A: .
But when assembling I keep getting:

Error 1 unrecognised instruction at line 42: music incbin "jambala.mus"
What may this mean?

I tried some minor changes, to see if something's misspelled or such, but no.
GenST is v1.25, assembling destination can be set to none, screen, printer or disk.
So i tried them all without luck



You were right MUG, it's music hacks by Zippy :) (by notes from top of .S-file)
-Where's my resource file!!
-Oisann!?

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: first thing first.

Postby MiggyMog » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:46 pm

Hi

If you didn't want to resort to coding to play these you could use RAZREZ or such a player which handles these types.
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5101
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: first thing first.

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:55 pm

Or simply look for the corresponding SNDH file instead....
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
Nyh
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1496
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:25 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: first thing first.

Postby Nyh » Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:24 pm

XTDP wrote:yeah, it almost works.
The jambala.s and jambala.mus and GenST.prg are present on the disk in A: .
But when assembling I keep getting:

Error 1 unrecognised instruction at line 42: music incbin "jambala.mus"
What may this mean?

It means GenST doesn't understand the command music. Make from music a label and I think it will work:
music: incbin "jambala.mus"

Hans Wessels

User avatar
XTDP
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: first thing first.

Postby XTDP » Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:04 pm

MiggyMog wrote:Hi

If you didn't want to resort to coding to play these you could use RAZREZ or such a player which handles these types.



Thanks for the tip about RAZREZ.
I found it at PAGE6 on a disk with STOS extensions. Is STOS the easiest (only) way to use razrez?
-Where's my resource file!!
-Oisann!?

User avatar
XTDP
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: first thing first.

Postby XTDP » Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:28 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:Or simply look for the corresponding SNDH file instead....


hehe, that would be the "bail out the easy way" option :)
I'd like to know more. What is a SNDH? what does it consist of, and how is it created?
and maybe most important in this issue: how much hardcore coding know-how does it take
to get a grip of this?
Hopefully the answer comes to me along the way.


Example: A winter's tale demo by Dune has a great music medley, how's that done?
-With lots of coding know-how of course.
- but when specifying to the music only then? is there some other way?
Coz I'd like to monkey around with music and perhaps learn to do a medley like that, in a less coding kind of way if possible :)

-have a banana
- ah :)
-Where's my resource file!!
-Oisann!?

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5101
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: first thing first.

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:11 pm

SNDH is a container format for YM chipmusics.

It consists of
a) a jump table
b) a header with file information
c) the correct replay routine
d) tune data
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
XTDP
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: first thing first.

Postby XTDP » Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:44 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:SNDH is a container format for YM chipmusics.

It consists of
a) a jump table
b) a header with file information
c) the correct replay routine
d) tune data


I see, is it possible to open this file for editing the sound with a program that makes it more visual? like trackerprograms.
-Where's my resource file!!
-Oisann!?

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5101
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: first thing first.

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:38 pm

i think Maxymizer can open SNDH files it saved itself but others cannot. It is a container to ease replay. It is not meant for composing and working.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: first thing first.

Postby MiggyMog » Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:50 pm

I am sure there is a GEM version of Razrez and there a few other similar programs kicking about. likely on Marcer's site.

As simon says the SNDH version is the best file for playback as you can use JAM Player on either atari or windoze.
you can get just about any ST chip music from http://sndh.atari.org/history.php or the fading twilight archive http://fading-twilight.atari.org/

Players can be found there too.

You can generally only edit files in the original editor and usually only in the tracker version and not the version with the replay code & the song combined.(some here http://dhs.nu/files_msx.php)

Maxymiser can load SNDH files as long as the were made with it in the first place.
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

User avatar
XTDP
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: first thing first.

Postby XTDP » Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:56 pm

Thanks guys, I had some answers here that gets me going for a while. More questions will surely turn up later :)

Another thing: sound output.
The sound output is very high, almost (and a little bit) so much that it distorts.
Especially thru RF (but expectations are not very high there, so whatev') but also in the RCA outputs, which i'd like to use :)
The monitor out however has a perfect level of sound output.
Is there a way to fix this?
-Where's my resource file!!
-Oisann!?


Social Media

     

Return to “Ym rockin'”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest