HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STf?

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

zenasprime
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:51 am

HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STf?

Postby zenasprime » Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:55 am

Hi,

I have an original Atari STf from when I was a kid and I was thinking about pulling it out of the garage and crafting some tracks with it using some old sequencing software and onboard sounds but from what I remember there is no sound out. Is there some way I can output the onboard sound so that I can record it?

Thanks,

-z

**edit to fix title to STf not STe
Last edited by zenasprime on Sat Dec 19, 2009 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
coze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STe?

Postby coze » Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:07 am

my STe has two mono audio out RCA jacks ? :?: :cheers:

zenasprime
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:51 am

Re: HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STe?

Postby zenasprime » Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:53 pm

coze wrote:my STe has two mono audio out RCA jacks ? :?: :cheers:


I'm sorry I was in error. I just grab it from the garage and it is a 1040 STf, which does not have audio out.

User avatar
StickHead
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:00 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STf?

Postby StickHead » Sat Dec 19, 2009 7:33 pm

You can isolate the sound from the monitor port with a purpose-built cable. Perhaps you should drop techie_alison a line? I bet she can make what you're after.
The Joy of STicks - YouTube - Blog - Twitter - Facebook
New Developments and old inspirations in Atari ST gaming.

zenasprime
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:51 am

Re: HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STf?

Postby zenasprime » Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:04 pm

Thanks I'll send them a note. :)

zenasprime
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:51 am

Re: HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STf?

Postby zenasprime » Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:39 pm

I sent a PM and an email but no response. Is there any other resource I can use to find this cable?

User avatar
StickHead
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:00 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STf?

Postby StickHead » Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:35 pm

You could ask if ST-Freakz can make you one: http://www.st-freakz.co.uk/
The Joy of STicks - YouTube - Blog - Twitter - Facebook
New Developments and old inspirations in Atari ST gaming.

zenasprime
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:51 am

Re: HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STf?

Postby zenasprime » Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:59 pm

Okay thanks, I got a reply from this fella and it looks like he has what I need. :D

User avatar
AtariFan
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 7:33 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STf?

Postby AtariFan » Mon Jan 11, 2010 8:12 am

Another way would be to use a monitor switch. Besides the ports for colour- and b/w- monitor they often feature an audio (RCA jack) port:

Image

Mister-Falcon
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:55 am

Re: HOWTO: Sound Out for Atari STf?

Postby Mister-Falcon » Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:07 am

Could I ask you what conclusion you came to for getting audio-out for your STf? I'm in the same predicament


Social Media

     

Return to “Ym rockin'”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests