musicmon manual or guide

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

pop
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:35 pm
Location: uk

musicmon manual or guide

Postby pop » Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:02 pm

Hi, is there a guide or manual available for musicmon? coming from a newbie would like to have a go point of view ? :)

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4176
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Re: musicmon manual or guide

Postby Marcer » Sat Dec 06, 2008 7:14 am

Press "help" in the tracker you will get some info/keys etc..

// Marcer
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: musicmon manual or guide

Postby farvardin » Wed May 20, 2015 3:46 pm

this software is strange, it's one of the most user-friendly when it concerns instruments creations, in comparison to other chiptune soundtrackers (like maxymizer), with every thing graphical. But on the other hand the tracking part is really difficult to use and rather counter intuitive, with some buttons with no label, and no user manual. For example, in the bottom right corner, what are the numbers under the "keys:". There is 01 02 03 04 05 it seems it's for the instruments but what is the use of it?

Also sometimes I have 3 differents tracks in a pattern, with 3 different instruments, but one of them has no sound (the track mute is not active).

And if I mute for example the central track, it can play through the left track so I don't understand.

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: musicmon manual or guide

Postby farvardin » Thu May 21, 2015 9:52 am

I've looked more at MusicMon 2.5

It seems my problem with the mute option wasn't happening again with a new clean song. Maybe it was because I selected some "buzz" sounds and made some mistakes? I've loaded a demo song and it seemed to work.

I've written a very short manuel about it:

For editing a track, type the "end" key on your keyboard, then you'll enter edit mode. The editable track will get a green vertical line across it.

You have 2 tracks for playing digi-sounds (samples). You can load and save sample with the "SAM" option on the top left box. When you have a sample, you can switch between synth-sounds (chiptune) and digi-sounds with the blue-green "s" or "d" button on the columns between tracks.
Synth-sounds will get C--1 D--1 ... D--2 notations, while Digi-sounds will get a sample icon with a number after it so you'll easily recognise them.

The magenta button on the far right (below "sound edit" button) is for muting notes while you're playing them (it's pretty useless in my opinion).

The three columns under the "sound edit" button are for sound level of each track. You can also mute tracks by clicking on them (they will get a magenta rectangle around them).

I don't know what the keys buttons under the sound level columns are for.

When in sound edit mode, you can get the SID option by right-clicking on the SID button.

You can create an instrument with a long sound waveform and a short noise at the beginning by selecting "sound", shaping the wave, then select the little "n" below and define a short length with the LEN box.


I hope it can help...


Social Media

     

Return to “Ym rockin'”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests