Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

User avatar
projectwoofer
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:01 pm
Location: Frankfurt
Contact:

Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby projectwoofer » Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:15 pm

Hello to everybody!

I'm a bit new to all this so I wonder if anyone knows if there are trackers (preferably with MIDI support) that would work on high resolution mono...the thing is that I've connected my STE to a VGA monitor and can only display mono rez. Apart from that, all the "pro" MIDI and audio software that I use works only in mono rez...I see that this is not the case for trackers and I wonder why???

...(I would not want to mess with scan doublers-if anyone was wondering! :D )...
Sinclair ZX Spectrum+Currah μSpeech
Commodore 64C+MSSIAH
Atari 1040 STE, 4MB RAM, TOS 2.06, UltraSatan

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1359
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby Marakatti » Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:53 pm

Only one I know is the rather excellent Audio Sculpture, has a midi-support too -> http://www.dhs.nu/files_msx_digi.php
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
projectwoofer
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:01 pm
Location: Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby projectwoofer » Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:16 pm

I see that in that website there are the categories chipmusic and digimusic...what's the difference between them?
Sinclair ZX Spectrum+Currah μSpeech
Commodore 64C+MSSIAH
Atari 1040 STE, 4MB RAM, TOS 2.06, UltraSatan

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5103
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:31 pm

Digimusic uses sampled sounds while chipmusic creates music by controlling tone generating circuits (which basically output standard waveforms which various registers can manipulate).
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
projectwoofer
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:01 pm
Location: Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby projectwoofer » Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:56 pm

Ok, I got it! :)

Well, I've downloaded Audio Sculpture v.1.0 (the only one that works on a mono monitor too!). After a very quick look though, I didn't manage to see anything that has to do with MIDI...will try a little more though...maybe anyone knows a download link for a newer version of AS (for mono resolution)?

As far as chipmusic is concerned, any ideas on a chip tracker which works on mono rez (pref. with MIDI support)? :roll:
Sinclair ZX Spectrum+Currah μSpeech
Commodore 64C+MSSIAH
Atari 1040 STE, 4MB RAM, TOS 2.06, UltraSatan

User avatar
Nyh
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1496
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:25 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby Nyh » Mon Sep 01, 2008 2:04 pm

projectwoofer wrote:Apart from that, all the "pro" MIDI and audio software that I use works only in mono rez...I see that this is not the case for trackers and I wonder why???

Monochrome monitors were most used by professionals on DTP and MIDI. MOD trackers and chipsound trackers where used by game and demo makers who where using low and medium resolution. For the professionals the quality of MODs and chipsound was far too low.

Hans Wessels

User avatar
projectwoofer
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:01 pm
Location: Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby projectwoofer » Mon Sep 01, 2008 2:29 pm

Nyh wrote:
projectwoofer wrote:Apart from that, all the "pro" MIDI and audio software that I use works only in mono rez...I see that this is not the case for trackers and I wonder why???

Monochrome monitors were most used by professionals on DTP and MIDI. MOD trackers and chipsound trackers where used by game and demo makers who where using low and medium resolution. For the professionals the quality of MODs and chipsound was far too low.

Hans Wessels


Well, I'm a professional musician and use the Atari for MIDI since 1989. The thing is that I 'd want to experiment by tweaking the internal chip (I already have the Electric Cow's Chip Synth) but was looking for something more. I 'm a fan of lo-fi music and believe that sounds like these can be easily combined with high-tech music with very nice results! :)
Sinclair ZX Spectrum+Currah μSpeech
Commodore 64C+MSSIAH
Atari 1040 STE, 4MB RAM, TOS 2.06, UltraSatan

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5103
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Sep 01, 2008 3:17 pm

Actually I think early versions of MusicMon did work in mono too. However I don't know if this is true for the latest 2.5 release.
Perhaps Dark Angel (the author of MusicMon) can tell you...
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
d0us
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby d0us » Mon Sep 01, 2008 3:21 pm

I think musicmon v.1 is the only hi rez chip tracker. I do believe it has midi note input, but you can't use it as a synth like soundchip synth as for as I am aware.

Musicmon 2.5 can be used a polyphonic synth and 3 sts can be chained up to give a total of 9 voices.

Maxymiser is another chip editor than can be used as a synth and can also act a midi sync slave.master.

However, these two programs are not mono compatible.

E.P.S.S. acts as a midi synth module using samples like a tracker. Works in mono I think.

If you want a tracker that sequences midi data on the Atari ST. You iwill be lucky to find it.

As far as I know, Sojtjee's Homsetudio is the only tracker on the Atari (Falcon only) that provides midi out (not just midi sync).

You can purchase breakthru which is still on sale for about 130 pounds which can use samples and save in the .mod format.

havoc
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:05 am

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby havoc » Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:56 pm

sentry/xlr8 chip composer exists in a monochrome version..

gwEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:43 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby gwEm » Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:30 pm

havoc wrote:sentry/xlr8 chip composer exists in a monochrome version..


i second havoc's suggestion - great tracker

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby nativ » Thu Aug 22, 2013 8:24 pm

There was the Digit Soundtracker ( featured on an STF coverrdisk) at least a demo did
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
scarrabri
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 12:24 pm
Location: England Stoke on trent
Contact:

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby scarrabri » Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:44 pm

havoc wrote:sentry/xlr8 chip composer exists in a monochrome version..

Hi can I just ask a quick question where does one download a tracker for the Atari ?
Atari STE
Atari ST
Typhoon cordless mouse
Ultrasatan 8 gb st card

evil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:03 pm

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby evil » Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:24 pm

scarrabri wrote:
havoc wrote:sentry/xlr8 chip composer exists in a monochrome version..

Hi can I just ask a quick question where does one download a tracker for the Atari ?


Try here: http://dhs.nu/files.php?t=chipeditor

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1446
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Are there any trackers that work in high rez/mono?

Postby troed » Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:35 pm

evil wrote:
scarrabri wrote:
havoc wrote:sentry/xlr8 chip composer exists in a monochrome version..

Hi can I just ask a quick question where does one download a tracker for the Atari ?


Try here: http://dhs.nu/files.php?t=chipeditor


... and where's the xlr82snd util that Google can only find mentioned without link in your BBS? ;)

edit: New name or surpassed by SNDHconv? http://sndh.atari.org/tools.php

/Troed


Social Media

     

Return to “Ym rockin'”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests