Allister Brimble's Dizzy tracks

All about chiptunes

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

607
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Allister Brimble's Dizzy tracks

Postby 607 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 1:55 pm

Hi, it's me again!

When playing SNDHs from the Dizzy series in JAM or SND Player, tracks done by Allister Brimble don't loop, whereas tracks from other composers, such as 4-Mat, do. This is probably not specific to the Dizzy series, but they are the only games I'm looking into right now. ;)
Does anyone know why this happens? I guess there is code in the game itself to do the looping? It is an issue for me, as I would like to put the music on YouTube in high quality for people without SND players to enjoy, but I now can't record the loop. I've tried looping the tune myself by simply copying it, but it seems like the end of each tune is also slightly cut short when playing it separately, as opposed to how it plays in the games.

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 865
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Allister Brimble's Dizzy tracks

Postby MiggyMog » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:00 pm

doesnt jam have default of 3 min which can be changed? You could also try https://bulba.untergrund.net/ayplayer_e.htm which supports playing in stereo
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

User avatar
Grazey / PHF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 497
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 12:50 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Allister Brimble's Dizzy tracks

Postby Grazey / PHF » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:24 pm

The music driver (Amiga soundtracker chip routine) needs two values on init.

D0 - Sub tune
D1 - Loop yes/no

Currently the SNDH sets loop to off. However I may modify them so actual tunes loop and small fx and jingles do not loop.

Grazey
http://phf.atari.org - demo coders since 1983
http://sndh.atari.org - Maintainer of the Atari ST chip music archive
http://www.scenemusic.net - Nectarine Administrator

607
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Amersfoort, the Netherlands

Re: Allister Brimble's Dizzy tracks

Postby 607 » Fri Oct 11, 2019 6:28 am

MiggyMog wrote:doesnt jam have default of 3 min which can be changed?

Yes, but this only has an effect if the track either does loop, or is longer than 3 minutes. ;)

Grazey / PHF wrote:The music driver (Amiga soundtracker chip routine) needs two values on init.

D0 - Sub tune
D1 - Loop yes/no

Currently the SNDH sets loop to off. However I may modify them so actual tunes loop and small fx and jingles do not loop.

Grazey

Thanks for your reply! Interesting.
Can I change these values myself?

User avatar
Grazey / PHF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 497
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 12:50 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Allister Brimble's Dizzy tracks

Postby Grazey / PHF » Sun Oct 13, 2019 10:26 am

No. You can’t pass a value to D1 in winjam , sc68 or sndplayer. The sndh’s will need redoing.

In the meantime give me your email and I’ll send update files.

Grz
http://phf.atari.org - demo coders since 1983

http://sndh.atari.org - Maintainer of the Atari ST chip music archive

http://www.scenemusic.net - Nectarine Administrator


Social Media

     

Return to “Ym rockin'”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests