The Atari Forum Demo

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
GT Turbo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:41 am
Location: Alsace, France
Contact:

Postby GT Turbo » Fri Mar 26, 2004 4:01 pm

Perihelion wrote:
That's the last time i code STF screen !!!

How so?
(btw, love your "quote" about the mind)


But we will do some STE and Falcon screen and games !!


That's better !!! :P


GT Turbo (Cerebral Vortex) :wink:
Never forget : Power is in your minds !!!

http://Cerebral-Vortex.net

http://Jagware.org

User avatar
SoLo2
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 4:09 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Postby SoLo2 » Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:52 pm

This post was supposed to
be replied along this thread.
So here it is. :twisted:

"The Beasts are finalizing their
contribution to the Atari-Forum
MegaDemo!!!

Hope to be able to squeeze it
a little bit, although it is less
than 100KB. Will try ICE-packer
sound K00L enough.
The music piece
needs still some retouches,
this will be by T-1000.

SoLo2 (The BEASTS)"

Well, the final version has now
be sent to SimonSunnyboy.
Now let's wait impatently for
the Final Product! :lol:

_________________
room for space,
ed for editor,
delfin for beast,
sunshine for sport,
waitress for 6
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*~~~
The Beasts
http://so_o2.tripod.com/tbc.html
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*~~~
The BITS Club http://bits.atari.org

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

^^

Postby Orion_ » Mon Mar 29, 2004 3:13 pm

since 2 month that I started to code on atari st I made one or two cool effect, maybe I will try to make a screen too :)

User avatar
GT Turbo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:41 am
Location: Alsace, France
Contact:

Re: ^^

Postby GT Turbo » Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:25 am

Orion_ wrote:since 2 month that I started to code on atari st I made one or two cool effect, maybe I will try to make a screen too :)


YES !! Welcome Orion !!

Contribute to this demo, if you need help, you can contact me and there is enough cool people on this forum to help you !


GT Turbo (Cerebral Vortex) :P
Never forget : Power is in your minds !!!



http://Cerebral-Vortex.net



http://Jagware.org

bpadinha
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 9:49 pm

Postby bpadinha » Wed Mar 31, 2004 1:03 am

An updated version (tracker tune!) has been sent to your e-mail, Sunny.

Still, no signs of my (hypothetical) other screen, though...

:-)

bp

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:19 am

As bp was a bit curious for the piece of text: this text is intended to be displayed while loading your screen.
If you supply a message the it will be watched by the viewwers of the demo. Therefor it is a short 3 line message to those :)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Mar 31, 2004 9:07 am

Just wanted to let you know that my screen for the demo is in the run too. Hope to finish it soon so I can concentrate on the shell. It will be STE only too *eeek* but i just couldn't resist to begin playing around with STE hw scroll ;)

And afaik Cooper will do a screen too so expect 2 demo screens from Paradize and the shell.

Contributions I've seen sofar look very good.
This demo will be quite ok IMHO.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Wed Mar 31, 2004 9:29 pm

Candidate version ! :D
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
SoLo2
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 4:09 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Parts preview.

Postby SoLo2 » Fri Apr 09, 2004 12:53 am

Hello,

I asked before, but my post
got lost. :wink:

I wanted to discuss with you,
if watching the parts of the
demo by the coders would
not be an option.

I wuold be grateful if this
happened, so that I can decide
a little bit what to include in
my intro, but also to know
what kind of flair to give,
or what kind of music.

On the other hand, it maybe
not worthfull, if it only serves
for copying the others screens
What to do? I dunno...
Hey look, what an intro!
:roll: :?: 8O :idea:

Well, what do YOU think :?:

Should the parts be distributed
and a little bit discussed by
all constituyents before release :?:

Of course, this could be too
high a burden, if there are many
many coders, or the organizers
don't have too much time free.
:wink:


Thanks,
SoLo2
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*~~~
The BITS Club http://bits.atari.org

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:20 am

Read the rules. Parts should be kept secret. Main reason is that all people will get the resulting demo and that no one feels that his screen is not good enough. Do a screen as best as you can and wait for the full demo.
I really can't stop you sending your parts to others to discuss but this kills a bit of the general "let's see how others will do" feeling.
I personally wouldn't show finished parts before release.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:42 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:I really can't stop you sending your parts to others to discuss but this kills a bit of the general "let's see how others will do" feeling.

It may also help them to bring something, and having second and third look is alway a good thing !
But of course, we souldn't spread them before the release !

I hope the demo public is larger than the demo coders :wink: !
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
mr.man
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Postby mr.man » Fri Apr 09, 2004 5:02 pm

I'm interested in doing some music for the atari-forum demo. My media of choice would be noisetracker format, but if someone can give me a url for a native atari st composer and a format then I will have a try with that. If anyone has any "type" requests I will try an acommodate them, although I can't do too many in less than a month. Rest assured these will be brand new compositions which would be nice for a brand new demo :)

Regards,
mr.man

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Fri Apr 09, 2004 5:19 pm

Hi mr.man,

You should try Sid Sound Designer, very funky sounds and low cpu costs, good for demomakers :wink: !
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
mr.man
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Postby mr.man » Fri Apr 09, 2004 6:44 pm

Hi tobe,

Thanks for the recomendation. I tried to run SSD under Steem emulation but I don't get any sound. Is there anything I can do to fix this or am I going to have to dig out my 1040?

Regards,
mr.man

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Fri Apr 09, 2004 6:55 pm

First, dig out the 1040 :wink: !

The sound works fine with me, take a look inside the Steem threads here on this forum.

I hope we will heard nice bip bzzz soon !
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby Orion_ » Sun Apr 11, 2004 7:49 pm

*phew*, still the scroller to finish, then my screen will be done :)

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Fri Apr 16, 2004 10:54 am

Exactly 2 weeks left :)
One thing: please do mail me your parts. I tend to forget about URLs where to grab your stuff. Mail them and if at all possible state if it is yet-another preview or already the finished screen. IIRC the only "finished" screen submitted sofar was by SoLo2. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
frost
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2002 2:50 am
Location: Limoges
Contact:

Postby frost » Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:12 am

tobe wrote:You should try Sid Sound Designer, very funky sounds and low cpu costs, good for demomakers :wink: !

damn, you must be drunk ! :lol:
My blog, mostly about Atari and demo stuff.

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Fri Apr 16, 2004 2:24 pm

Yes i was :lol: !
I forgot : kill mfp interrupts :wink: !
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby Orion_ » Sun Apr 18, 2004 2:40 pm

hahaha, 100KB down to 32KB, thanks Icepak :)

I've just a little problem, my scroller is too fast cos for low CPU cost I scroll 16 pixels each vbl. I tried to skip scrolling for example each 3 vbl, but it flicker and it's not very readable :(

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Sun Apr 18, 2004 6:34 pm

Use 2 fonts, the second shifted by 8 pixels (or 4 fonts, shifted by 4, 8, 12 pixels), or use the blitter !
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
RaZ
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 4:09 pm
Location: East of France
Contact:

Postby RaZ » Sun Apr 18, 2004 11:51 pm

I'm not promising anything but GT Turbo told me about a rather fast 4 pixels scroll rout he could send you, Orion, give him a PM if you want it.
Was known as Ozone-design in Cerebral Vortex back in the good ol'years

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Mon Apr 19, 2004 8:53 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:Exactly 2 weeks left :)

I'm going to mail you my finished screen this evening (GMT) !
a bit impatient :D !
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby Orion_ » Mon Apr 19, 2004 4:50 pm

is there any restriction like no bss section ?

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Apr 19, 2004 5:34 pm

No restrictions for BSS section. Any ready-to-run GEMDOS executable will be ok.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee


Social Media

     

Return to “Coding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests