The Atari Forum Demo

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

The Atari Forum Demo

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:53 pm

As discussed on the Website Discussions forum, I hereby start the project of The Atari Forum Demo.

Goal of this project is to create a multipart demo by the members of Atari-Forum (means this board here).

All users of the board are invited to contribute a part following to the rules below:

* Your part must be standalone.
* Your part may not exceed 100K in size.
* Your part has to run at least on a real Atari ST or STE.
* STE only entries are allowed but must be specially mentioned.
* Your part must run in 512K, 1MB only parts are not allowed!
* Your part may not use extended resolutions or hirez.
* Your part may not load additional data from disk, means a fully linked executable.
* To take part you must state for the loader screen: coder, language (especially if you used DCK, you need to say it), names of artists and musicians
* You may use art and music by others but you are required to give proper credits!
* Atari-Forum must be mentioned in your part, either as a logo, a picture or a larger text. A scrolltext snippet does not count!

Allowed languages and environments are as follows:
* m68k assembler
* C, Pascal, Modula2, Lisp or any higher language on the ST
* GFABASIC, STOS, TrueBasic (all only as compiled GEMDOS executables)
* DCK

Deadline is May 01 2004. The demo will then be assembled and hopefully released to the community.

If at all possible do not spread your work before the complete demo has been released to keep the fun and the surprise alive.
I count on your secrecy :)

Let's hope we'll fill more then one disk! Any contributions counts as long as it fits into the rules above!

Post here anything related, except for your part ;)
I'll state later where to submit your entries and I'll try to find a second independant judge for the rules.

@admins: Could you please make this thread sticky so that it appears on top?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2216
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: The Atari Forum Demo

Postby Zorro 2 » Tue Feb 03, 2004 11:34 am

Hi Simon of ParadiZe !

I would discuss about some points :
1/ Standalone : we must be one to make code ? Not external help with an another coder ?
2/ 100 Ko : maybe 64 Ko of size limit with using data compressor like ICE-PACKER or ATOMIK ?
3/ the demo runs on the family of STF or STE at the origin ?
4/ STE only entries are allowed but must be specially mentioned : can you explain more pleaze !
5/ Your part must run in 512K, 1MB only parts are not allowed : if you use MODULE or big - no precalc - effect, 512 Ko is maybe not enough !
6/ Your part may not use extended resolutions : like overscan border ???
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: The Atari Forum Demo

Postby simonsunnyboy » Tue Feb 03, 2004 11:38 am

Zorro 2 wrote:1/ Standalone : we must be one to make code ? Not external help with an another coder ?
2/ 100 Ko : maybe 64 Ko of size limit with using data compressor like ICE-PACKER or ATOMIK ?
3/ the demo runs on the family of STF or STE at the origin ?
4/ STE only entries are allowed but must be specially mentioned : can you explain more pleaze !
5/ Your part must run in 512K, 1MB only parts are not allowed : if you use MODULE or big - no precalc - effect, 512 Ko is maybe not enough !
6/ Your part may not use extended resolutions : like overscan border ???


Standalone means the binary..ofcourse crews and multicoder productions are allowed. So I want a single .PRG or .TOS file together with a README. This also applies to the fullylinked point.

100K limit means packed. Your contribution should be submitted already packed. If not, state it and we'll try to pack it.
An unpacked contribution may bust the limit but will only be included if it can packed down into the limit.

STE only means: state if your prod is STE only. The shell will only launch parts on STFM that are STFM compatible.
Means STFM users will not see your STEonly part but they will be informed about that.

512K..well you can still do lots of effects with that. I just want to ensure that anyone with an ST can watch the resulting demo. Using a module, well use a tuned/small module then :)

Extended resolutions means: no gfx card or the like. Overscan in ST-LOW _IS_ ofcourse allowed. Should better mean: only real Shifter stuff.

Hope this makes the points more clear.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

WayneKerr
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 7:41 pm

Postby WayneKerr » Tue Feb 03, 2004 8:08 pm

This sounds pretty cool, I hope I get time to produce something for it... will all the parts run from a main-menu Sunnyboy? Or will it just be released as a collection of standalone screens on floppy?

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Tue Feb 03, 2004 9:00 pm

All the parts will be chained together from a shell although I'm not yet sure if it will be interactive. I always preferred demos that kept the user lazy and did not require the user to select the next part to watch.
What's your opinion?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

bpadinha
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 9:49 pm

Postby bpadinha » Wed Feb 04, 2004 1:36 am

I prefer the old-skool screen-selection, and, of course, space-bashing to exit a screen. After all, this is no Amigaaargh-forum demo, is it? :-)

bp

PS - My part already has one effect coded, with 0.5 VBL still free! ;-)

WayneKerr
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 7:41 pm

Postby WayneKerr » Wed Feb 04, 2004 2:41 am

Yeah I prefer the oldskool way also... at least some method to select the parts (since you'll want to go direct to your favourite parts when you watch it again) instead of being forced to watch some demos you don't like :)

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2216
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

with one day of delay...

Postby Zorro 2 » Wed Feb 04, 2004 8:33 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:Hope this makes the points more clear.

Now it's clear for me :P

Normaly I made demos for 512 Ko user, I'll test at the end.

Thanks for "quick" response :wink:
Member of NoExtra Team

Perihelion

Postby Perihelion » Thu Feb 05, 2004 12:35 pm

I think this is a great way to engage some coders, one musn't go through the trouble of putting together a whole demo, but can still do something for the community.
GREAT IDEA

Now, if i could just get myself together and do something ...


tiiiny question; if one were to code like a two parter or something ... should it be divided, say I (or probably someone else) gets really creative/productive and do two screens, should both be submitted and will one be chosen, or should you just submitt the best you have? (and save something for the next release!!)

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Feb 05, 2004 12:43 pm

Warrior Munk wrote:tiiiny question; if one were to code like a two parter or something ... should it be divided, say I (or probably someone else) gets really creative/productive and do two screens, should both be submitted and will one be chosen, or should you just submitt the best you have? (and save something for the next release!!)


If you want to do two parts, feel free to do so. Anything that complies with the rules will make its way into the demo.

The more the merrier 8)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: The Atari Forum Demo

Postby tobe » Thu Feb 12, 2004 9:57 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:You may use art and music by others but you are required to give proper credits!

10 years after, it's still possible :D ?

If i find it, can i bring back a screen i made some time ago (GFA/STE/512k) ?

If i can't find it, did someone need an idea to code in either GFA, 68K or both them ?
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat Feb 14, 2004 4:42 pm

As long as it hasn't been released yet you may submit an old screen too. As long as it fits with the rules, it's ok :)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

bpadinha
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 9:49 pm

Postby bpadinha » Mon Feb 16, 2004 2:04 am

Say, is there any one around who would like to contribute to my screen?

One of the effects requires a nice 8-colour picture (max width = 288, max height = 92), currently I'm using a stretched out Atari-Forum logo, but a properly designed one, or a picture which includes it, or some other reference to it, would come in handy.

Also, for the sound I'm using a very old An-Cool tune, but if someone wants to contribute something new it would be nice. Should be on the "speedy" side though, to go allong with the effects.

Cheers,

bp

User avatar
GT Turbo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:41 am
Location: Alsace, France
Contact:

Some asking :

Postby GT Turbo » Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:49 pm

:?: You are doing a Atari forum demo, when this demo will be released ?

There is some space disponible if we want to contribute to this ?



GT Turbo (C.V.)

I love coding !!!!

User avatar
RaZ
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 4:09 pm
Location: East of France
Contact:

Postby RaZ » Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:03 am

Is anybody out there ?!
We need an answer guys !
Was known as Ozone-design in Cerebral Vortex back in the good ol'years

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:36 am

Read the topic from the beginning :wink:

Deadline is May 01 2004
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
GT Turbo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:41 am
Location: Alsace, France
Contact:

Yes !!!

Postby GT Turbo » Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:17 am

:lol: Sorry, i haven't really read the topic !!! So, we do it a screen for the atari-forum.com demo !!!!

Enjoy it!!!


GT Turbo(C.V.) :wink:

bpadinha
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 9:49 pm

Postby bpadinha » Sun Feb 22, 2004 1:11 pm

Right, I've got a "release candidate 1" ready. Do you want me to send it (if yes, what's your address)?

bp

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Feb 22, 2004 3:07 pm

Drop by on #atariscne. Atm I don't want to do that by mail.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Mon Mar 01, 2004 7:20 pm

Hi simonsunnyboy !

About the demo, will it ran from the AUTO folder, GEM or boot sector ?
From the 512K, how many will be avaible for allocation ?

Bye !
To.
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
GT Turbo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:41 am
Location: Alsace, France
Contact:

How type of code ?

Postby GT Turbo » Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:33 am

:P Hi !

Just one question ?

Do you relocate the screens ? Or we have to write in relatif mode ?



GT Turbo(C..V.)
:mrgreen:
Never forget : Power is in your minds !!!

http://Cerebral-Vortex.net

http://Jagware.org

User avatar
GT Turbo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:41 am
Location: Alsace, France
Contact:

Postby GT Turbo » Wed Mar 03, 2004 9:16 am

:oops: Oups !!

Please forget my last question, i have thinking a little bit and i was thinking to gfa coder, they can't write relatif code !!!!! Like other langage coder !!! :oops:


GT Turbo

Who as not enough sleep last night !!!
8O
Never forget : Power is in your minds !!!



http://Cerebral-Vortex.net



http://Jagware.org

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5215
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:49 am

Standard GEMDOS executables are relocatable and if you can read, only those are allowed :)

Concerning memory, expect to have around 350k-400k from 512k.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
tobe
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:06 am
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Postby tobe » Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:52 am

GT Turbo wrote:...i was thinking to gfa coder, they can't write relatif code !!!!!

Hmm, any *.PRG can be hand-rellocated... I wrote it 100% GFA when i was younger, porting a 68k source from STMag.
Image
:wink:
step 1: introduce bug, step 2: fix bug, step 3: goto step 1.

User avatar
GT Turbo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:41 am
Location: Alsace, France
Contact:

Postby GT Turbo » Mon Mar 08, 2004 4:34 pm

tobe wrote:
GT Turbo wrote:...i was thinking to gfa coder, they can't write relatif code !!!!!

Hmm, any *.PRG can be hand-rellocated... I wrote it 100% GFA when i was younger, porting a 68k source from STMag.
Image
:wink:


Hi Tobe,

I know that all PRG can be hand-relocated but you can write relatif PC code only in asm !!! If the atari-forum shell will dont relocate PRG, only asm code will run !!!


GT Turbo
:lol:
Never forget : Power is in your minds !!!



http://Cerebral-Vortex.net



http://Jagware.org


Social Media

     

Return to “Coding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests