ST SPEECH - on Falcon?

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

ST SPEECH - on Falcon?

Postby nativ » Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:35 pm

Hello all!
Can anyone tell me if there is a version of St speech or Dr Tirric? that works on the falcon.
Or failing that a dsp based speech synth, should one exist!

many thanks

Ashley

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Postby lp » Thu Oct 18, 2007 4:19 pm

Search for topic: Speech.tos

This link might work:
http://www.atariactive.com/viewtopic.ph ... speech+tos

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Postby nativ » Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:13 pm

Cheers Lp!

I think that lot just about covers what i was looking for!

:o)

Ashley

(note to self: use Search tool, on atari forum!)

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Postby Dal » Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:30 pm

You just want to make your Atari say loads of nasty things lol!
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Postby nativ » Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:53 pm

Not quite...

Though that's what happened when i took my St and a copy of Dr. Tirric into school and connected to and amplifier. Loud digitized obscenities coming from the music block...

Speaking of offensive language, i have never seen a post regarding the "OH F***" sample in Llamatron? Surely not the only spotter???

Then there's the Qbert clone(doesn't work on the falcon) that swears at you?!

Bo[)}

stevenlee1
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:17 pm

Re: ST SPEECH - on Falcon?

Postby stevenlee1 » Fri Apr 11, 2008 9:02 pm

Yeah, how about the V8600A from RC systems. I built a computer based of the 8085 a while back. I had planned on stuffing it into an Omnibot 2000 toy robot and bought the V8600A to give it a voice. Of course I never finished the project, but I did build the computer. Not wanting to pat myself on the butt.... but not bad for somebody whom never went to school for computer enginering. Anyways, the board sounds good. It does clear, well spoken translation of text into speach. I don't remember what I paid for it though, maybe $150 USD.

Here is the web link-
http://www.rcsys.com/modules.htm

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 865
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: ST SPEECH - on Falcon?

Postby MiggyMog » Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:33 pm

Speaking of offensive language, i have never seen a post regarding the "OH F***" sample in Llamatron? Surely not the only spotter???


I noticed that sample too when I loaded it in to mastersound 2/stereo master :-)

On the speech synth part, It would be nice if one of the experts here altered ST speech to use the DAC on enabled machines(or via cartridges) just for fun though!

I was thinking of making a demo some time ago which would use the speech synthesis but change the pitch to make it sing, I am fundamentally lazy and untalented so it never happened though, lol! I did sample a bunch of my phonetics but that was as far as I got.

Does Audio Sculpture work on the Falcon? you could use that speech synth instead?

Dasiy, Daisy.......
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

User avatar
darklight
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re:

Postby darklight » Thu Apr 17, 2008 10:22 pm

nativ wrote:...

Speaking of offensive language, i have never seen a post regarding the "OH F***" sample in Llamatron? Surely not the only spotter???

...


Yeah my friend & I spotted that - it played if you pressed pause as you died I believe?
Storm Clouds over the Western Front - my WW1 2D dogfighting game for windows
2D Flight Sims - side scrolling aerial combat games

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 865
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: ST SPEECH - on Falcon?

Postby MiggyMog » Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:58 am

Yeah my friend & I spotted that - it played if you pressed pause as you died I believe?


The game only plays 'oh f' and then a sound effect cut the rest, the full thing is in the file :-)
Last edited by MiggyMog on Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

User avatar
darklight
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re: ST SPEECH - on Falcon?

Postby darklight » Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:32 pm

MiggyMog wrote:
Yeah my friend & I spotted that - it played if you pressed pause as you died I believe?


Tge game only plays 'oh f' and then a sound effect cut the rest, the full thing is in the file :-)


Yep, but press pause when you die - it'll play the whole thing :D

It was my mate who discovered this, hats off to him.
Storm Clouds over the Western Front - my WW1 2D dogfighting game for windows
2D Flight Sims - side scrolling aerial combat games

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST SPEECH - on Falcon?

Postby nativ » Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:41 pm

Yep, but press pause when you die - it'll play the whole thing

Yep that's the bit I meant! :o)
How very dare he! (Mr. Minter!)
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
earx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:09 am

Re: ST SPEECH - on Falcon?

Postby earx » Mon Apr 21, 2008 12:15 pm

On the speech synth part, It would be nice if one of the experts here altered ST speech to use the DAC on enabled machines(or via cartridges) just for fun though!


I had the plan to use the STe DMA for it. It wouldn't be very hard. Maybe in the future.. Audio sculpture has the same engine as ST speech and can export to samples.

it's possible to add "stress" to ST speech: the difference between a disinterested "really" and "rEAALLy?!". I only forgot the keys for that, hehehe. Search for the other ST speech threads :)


Social Media

     

Return to “Coding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest