RAM

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
membot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 8:57 am

RAM

Postby membot » Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:19 pm

hello! good to have the forum back! it was truly missed :D

question : not too long ago i upgraded my ste's ram to 4mb and noticed a slightly longer wait for the system to boot. i was wondering if this means the ram is "slow" or is this normal?

also received a stacy2 just recently and bought a "universal" power adaptor for it. seems that the adaptor has a bit of trouble doing it's job...i have had to turn the stacy on, plug the adaptor into the stacy then plug the adaptor into an outlet in order to power up :?

i hope this hasn't damaged anything...

it would be nice to use the stacy's rocker switch so if someone has some insight into this, mod for the adaptor? spare stacy power supply? i'd love to hear it!

once the stacy is on, it's totally solid, cubase is dare i say, smoother... 8O
but i have not been able to run any diagnostics to check the hard drive, ram and the like. any tips?

many thanks!!!

atari-forum4ever :twisted:

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2214
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Re: RAM

Postby Zorro 2 » Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:59 pm

membot wrote:question : not too long ago i upgraded my ste's ram to 4mb and noticed a slightly longer wait for the system to boot. i was wondering if this means the ram is "slow" or is this normal?

It's normal mister membot :wink:
The TOS will check all periphericals who would be succeptible to be connected on your STE. You can bypass this long long long time with a disk with a specially boot who don't make the long test. If you interest to test this boot disk, I can manage to send it for you if you can.
Member of NoExtra Team

User avatar
membot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 8:57 am

Postby membot » Thu Nov 18, 2004 4:12 pm

zorro 2, thank you for the info and the offer :)

the wait isn't that bad...just wanted to make sure my RAM is o.k.

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2214
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Fri Nov 19, 2004 9:25 am

membot wrote:zorro 2, thank you for the info and the offer :)

the wait isn't that bad...just wanted to make sure my RAM is o.k.

It exists many utilities for testing memory, you can download them on my website/galerie if you can.

If you've bad memorys, your STE bombs many time !
Member of NoExtra Team


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests