Iomega Zipdrive connected to paralel port ST

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Iomega Zipdrive connected to paralel port ST

Postby MadDonna » Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:20 pm

Hi,

Anyone experience with connecting an Iomeage Zip drive to an parallel port of the Atari (Mega) STe?

greetings,

Marco
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Postby PaulB » Thu Oct 07, 2004 5:11 pm

This subject was discussed on the forum a while ago. The Parallel port on Atari's lacks certain protocols and therefore cannot be used to run a zip drive. Maybe on Falcon or TT i'm not sure but not on Mega STE.

Paul.

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Greenious » Thu Oct 07, 2004 5:17 pm

The ST parallell port lacks a couple of pins necessary to make it work.

It does not get better on STE, TT or F030.

In some cases you can work around it by doing some rewiring. However, I doubt that anyone has done that, or written drivers for a zip drive on atari.

A scsi zipdrive shouldn't cost you too much though.

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby MadDonna » Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:43 pm

That's indeed the story i read on the internet, although I have found a story, that says that there was a cartridge for the ST that makes the cartridge port an fullblown parallel port. Anyone seen one of those things?

The cartridge was made by Woller + Link

http://www.atari.org/hosted/quickfaq/stfaq_3.htm#24

greetings,

Marco
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon

Image

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Greenious » Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:49 pm

Read the link, and it was interesting info.

However, you still need drivers for the ZIP. Never heard of anyone writing parallell port drivers on the ST for it. Also, the cartridge port is infamous for being slow, so I still say that you best way to go, is to get a SCSI ZIP drive.

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby MadDonna » Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:49 pm

Greenious wrote:The ST parallell port lacks a couple of pins necessary to make it work.

It does not get better on STE, TT or F030.

In some cases you can work around it by doing some rewiring. However, I doubt that anyone has done that, or written drivers for a zip drive on atari.

A scsi zipdrive shouldn't cost you too much though.


Is there a cable to connect my scsi Zip to the port of the atari, allthough I doubt that it is a scsi port. It is much wider,and smaller than my port on the atari. I can use it also as usb zip. USB on the atari?
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon

Image

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Greenious » Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:55 pm

Without getting to technical, the SCSI ZIP drive uses a 25pin connector similar to a printerport.

You can buy an adapter that converts it to a standard 50 pin SCSI connector cheap.

But since it is easy to confuse that connector with a printerport, you have to make sure it is indeed SCSI-capable. Otherwise you might destroy your atari SCSI interface.

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Postby jens » Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:44 am

There was a diy solution for the parallel port I think. I want to try it for using a parallel network interface on my ST-Book. 8)
Might be a lot cheaper than trying to find and buy an acsi interface cable to which I'd have to connect an EtherNea...
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mikro and 6 guests