Harddisk

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Harddisk

Postby MadDonna » Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:49 pm

Hi,

After years without, I have now 4 atari's (togehter with 2 zx-spectrums, 3 apple II(from witch one is a GS), 2 Macintosh, 3 Commodore 64(II), 2 Amiga's (1 cd-tv), 1 BBC B and a French MSX 1)

One of the atari's is a mega st2, with a separate case, a megafile i presume, see the pictures below.

Image


Image

I want to use the harddisk what is standing on it's side. How can I do that, it is an IBM, 1.05 Gb. The other is a Quantum ProDrive, is that the standard drive? Or is it an replacement.
My last Question, the megafile, how it looks, is that standard? or is it re-enginered.
reprise:
1. Can i use the IBM
2. How do I format it
3. Is the Quantum standard?
4. How the inside of the megafile looks, is that standard?

Regards,

Marco

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Harddisk

Postby Greenious » Thu Sep 16, 2004 3:56 pm

MadDonna wrote:1. Can i use the IBM


Yes, most likely.

MadDonna wrote:2. How do I format it


AHDI should work. (Atari HardDisk Utilities) It is also easily available on the web. But numerous other utils should do the trick aswell. HDDriver, ICD Pro and others come to mind.

MadDonna wrote:3. Is the Quantum standard?


No.

MadDonna wrote:4. How the inside of the megafile looks, is that standard?


No, someone has replaced the insides from an ACSI to RLL interface, to an ACSI to SCSI interface.

SCSI is much better, so you got a good deal.

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby MadDonna » Thu Sep 16, 2004 7:21 pm

It does not work only, it does not matter what the program is i try, the ibm does not respond.
The Quantum does respond, but if i want to format it, it refuses, saying that it is not connected.

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby MadDonna » Thu Sep 16, 2004 7:56 pm

With another toolset CBHD0502 i found the drive after setting a jumper on non-parity (as mentioned in a forum post about a hard disk and a mega ste) i could format it and partitioned it in 9 logic drives. Closed the program after installing the driver. Now when i restart i get a lot of bombs, 4 to be precise.

Any ideas why?

If I follow this procedure, it works, but can it better?

1. Start the Atari, an STE in this case
2. Start the harddisk
3. Run CBHD.prg

Than it gives me a message that it finds the disc with 9 partitions. The other way around it bombs me, harder than a B27. But in this way i have a 1 Gb harddisk, more than sufficient for my goals, programming in C.

Marco

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby MadDonna » Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:39 pm

8O If i connect the drive with the Mega ST2, it bombs me again. In that situation i have to use the Atari driver. :?

What is the difference between TOS 1.04 and the STE TOS according to hard disk handling?

Marco

simbo

Postby simbo » Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:00 am

for a start its a seagate/quantum drive so needs to be horizontal
only maxtor drives can be mounted vertical
this is true for 2 gb drives and below

so lay it flat

now
you need to enable termination on the drive
and also the parity jumper on the drive {but be warned your mega file look altered to take a single chip card and scsi drives

mega files are mostly ahdi>>mfm or rrl

so maybe someone has added a card


however


i think the problem comes that most people try to partition a scsi drive before formating it

formating comes first

so the right method is this


set parity on the drive to off

set in drive termination to on
{if its the last device on the chain like your is the first and last so needs it}
set the drive id jumper to zero or 1 better is zero
{ie not id2 etc as these wont boot with most scsi interfaces and bomb out}



next load the driver tools from the floppy and start the drive up
they all have there methods but ahdi wont support your disk its too big
you need CBHD



its not as simple as just to run it

you need to run it

format the disk too full size

then partition it to small sizes 9 or 10 gb or more {it supports i think 10 or 15 gb max partition size}

then restart the atari and hdd using the floppy

now add a drive c icon {using add a drive menu }

now when the hdd is started this is perfect to restart the
CBHD.prg and set it up finaly copy the the renamed .sys file to the c partition {read all the files on a pc or look in other threads for the english help file }


then once the system file is in the drive
it will auto start

the fact you get bombs means there is hardware unhappy

i think its termination not enabled or wrong drive id



good luck
8)

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby MadDonna » Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:26 pm

simbo wrote:for a start its a seagate/quantum drive so needs to be horizontal
only maxtor drives can be mounted vertical
this is true for 2 gb drives and below

so lay it flat

now
you need to enable termination on the drive
and also the parity jumper on the drive {but be warned your mega file look altered to take a single chip card and scsi drives

mega files are mostly ahdi>>mfm or rrl

so maybe someone has added a card


however


i think the problem comes that most people try to partition a scsi drive before formating it

formating comes first

so the right method is this


set parity on the drive to off

set in drive termination to on
{if its the last device on the chain like your is the first and last so needs it}
set the drive id jumper to zero or 1 better is zero
{ie not id2 etc as these wont boot with most scsi interfaces and bomb out}



next load the driver tools from the floppy and start the drive up
they all have there methods but ahdi wont support your disk its too big
you need CBHD



its not as simple as just to run it

you need to run it

format the disk too full size

then partition it to small sizes 9 or 10 gb or more {it supports i think 10 or 15 gb max partition size}

then restart the atari and hdd using the floppy

now add a drive c icon {using add a drive menu }

now when the hdd is started this is perfect to restart the
CBHD.prg and set it up finaly copy the the renamed .sys file to the c partition {read all the files on a pc or look in other threads for the english help file }


then once the system file is in the drive
it will auto start

the fact you get bombs means there is hardware unhappy

i think its termination not enabled or wrong drive id



good luck
8)


I found it, thanks, I had to rename the cbhd.prg to cbhd.sys in the root of the harddisk, after that it worked fine. You said it already, but I had to read it multiple times before I understood it. Thanks m8. :D Now I can work with the 1Gb harddisk.

Marco

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Postby PaulB » Mon Sep 20, 2004 7:25 pm

An external hard drive needs to be started before the Atari (wait till the hard drive access light goes off). Also the hard drive needs to be switched off before the Atari to prevent corruption.

Paul.

User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contact:

Postby MadDonna » Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:37 pm

PaulB wrote:An external hard drive needs to be started before the Atari (wait till the hard drive access light goes off). Also the hard drive needs to be switched off before the Atari to prevent corruption.

Paul.


Thnx!! :D

Marco

simbo

Postby simbo » Thu Sep 23, 2004 1:00 am

PaulB wrote:An external hard drive needs to be started before the Atari (wait till the hard drive access light goes off). Also the hard drive needs to be switched off before the Atari to prevent corruption.

Paul.


this is mostly true however
if your working on a tune or programing
its better to spin down the drive
{makes the drive last longer then 1 or 2 years otherwise your burn the bearings}

or use the spin down disk command jumper if the drive has one you can connect a small button to power it up and down soft power wise...

after 15 mins it powers down auto with some disks if you dont enable the jumper as non powerdown....
{built into drives firmware some seagates have this i know}

however

usualy only if an atari needs to save something does it need to access hdd

so you can quite happily switch it off after loading say cubase

then when you want to save
switch it on wait few secs till it stops humping the boot record

then save

dont worry the atari using most later drivers will "wait till its ready"

but test it first before laying down an awsome mix

or closing your save game window


also watch for over 5400 rpm drives
and fit a heat cooler to 7200's and above speeds




a point about taped up connections for power

this is a bad idea !!! realy bad

use chocolate boxes these are electrical fitters connections
two screws secure two cables
in a little cylinder mounted in a plastic insulator body

you can buy 3 amp as the lowest level 10 in a strip for about £1
and these are small and neet
always adhear to separate gnd for 12 and 5 v rails
dont just connect all black wires together


but use these connnector blocks
saves any un needed grief from floating live or sensative wires that have come adrift from the twist & tape senario youve got going on there


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests