Falcon Troubles

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby KLund1 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:19 pm

Thanks,
I connected it all up, but nothing shows on the working Falcon screen. But I may not have the VT-52 software set right.
It is set at 9600, No parity, Full duplex,8 bit/char,Strip bit On,Xon/Xoff if off, rts/Cts is off.
What might I need to change?
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2101
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby mikro » Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:44 pm

KLund1: IIRC, it is supposed to work with default settings. No need to set anything. If you are using the Atari terminal emulator, that is.

User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 477
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby mpattonm » Tue Mar 24, 2020 10:31 pm

Are you sure your serial cable is "laplink" cable? So that RX pin on one end goes to TX pin on the other end and vice versa?
Where are you from, BTW?

DoG
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:02 pm

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby DoG » Tue Mar 24, 2020 10:46 pm

Did you already got the cart from exxos? Test the cable on two working computers first. The diag cart in the working Falcon and a PC for example.

It could just be that the broken Falcon isn't even starting the cart.

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby KLund1 » Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:41 pm

Those settings I show above are defaults from the Atari STe Language disk.
I am not sure if the cobbled together cable is "laplink' compatible. Which pins are RX and TX and I'll check with a multimeter.
It takes a while for an order from Exxos to get to me here in the USA, San Fransisco bay area.
Thanks everyone for helping.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

sety
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:42 am

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby sety » Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:51 am

KLund1 wrote:It takes a while for an order from Exxos to get to me here in the USA, San Fransisco bay area.
Thanks everyone for helping.


Why are you ordering from the UK? You are less than an hour's drive from BeST Electronics! :cheers:
ATARI FALCON/CT60 @99/25Mhz 512MB - ATARI FALCON/CT60e @101.5/16Mhz 256MB - 520STF 1MB TF68020 - 520ST unmodified (my very first computer) - A couple of useless XE's - and a really cool Atari desktop calculator :)

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby KLund1 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:06 am

I'm blackballed from Best. He will not answer my emails, or phone calls. I try a couple times a year, but no response.
I ordered an 800 computer speaker to pick up at his 'office'. But I forgot about it when things got busy at work. (I worked about 5 minutes away, and for years it was very convenient. No waiting or shipping charges.) I few months later I made another order and he said he would not do my order because I forgot to get the last one. He has not forgiven me for that, even with lots of apologies. I do order from B&C if they have what I need.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

sety
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:42 am

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby sety » Thu Mar 26, 2020 2:06 am

Ouch! You're going to be in strife if you end up needing a custom IC for that Falcon! :(
ATARI FALCON/CT60 @99/25Mhz 512MB - ATARI FALCON/CT60e @101.5/16Mhz 256MB - 520STF 1MB TF68020 - 520ST unmodified (my very first computer) - A couple of useless XE's - and a really cool Atari desktop calculator :)

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2101
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby mikro » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:18 am

KLund1 wrote:I'm blackballed from Best. He will not answer my emails, or phone calls. I try a couple times a year, but no response.

Don't worry, you are not alone, same happened to me, even in a more bizarre scenario - he simply decided not to proceed with my order (I wanted a few smaller items, said the postage would be too much, I was like I don't care, ship it anyway and haven't heard from him ever since). He must have some kind of black list or what. :D So all those badges claiming how great his Atari shop is.... what a BS.

Sorry for being offtopic.

sety
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:42 am

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby sety » Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:55 am

I kind of like Brad. He's okay. Emailing him is like going back to the 1990's which I also enjoy (sorry that's OT as well)

He's old, very quirky, doesn't like MasterCard or Paypal but once you pay him he's actually very good. He also sends packages in a recycled Lynx box with Atari factory tape sealing it. It's an absolute pleasure to receive a package from BeST. :)
ATARI FALCON/CT60 @99/25Mhz 512MB - ATARI FALCON/CT60e @101.5/16Mhz 256MB - 520STF 1MB TF68020 - 520ST unmodified (my very first computer) - A couple of useless XE's - and a really cool Atari desktop calculator :)

sety
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:42 am

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby sety » Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:58 am

...probably not off topic... OP might need Brad if it turns out that Combel, Videl or SDMA are "gubbed" :lol:
ATARI FALCON/CT60 @99/25Mhz 512MB - ATARI FALCON/CT60e @101.5/16Mhz 256MB - 520STF 1MB TF68020 - 520ST unmodified (my very first computer) - A couple of useless XE's - and a really cool Atari desktop calculator :)

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby Rustynutt » Thu Mar 26, 2020 5:42 pm

Bought a couple of Diagnostic Cartridge cards from Wizztronics off eBay late last year. They were less than $20 AIRC, maybe less.
Just look for the auctions for $10,000 Videl's and SDMA IC's :D

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby KLund1 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:41 am

Back on topic, which pins should I check for continuity on my Jerry-rigged cable.
Also what should I see on screen from the working falcon? That is without a diagnostic cart yet? I know I will not see the desktop, but key presses?
off topic - The Atari community has been very kind with me these many years. There also seems to be someone out these willing to sell, or help source parts. THX!!
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

sety
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:42 am

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby sety » Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:44 am

You only need pin 2, 3 and gnd. Pin 2 and 3 should be crossed, so pin 2 is pin 3 on the other end and vice versa. If you have 2 working computers with serial ports you can test it by connecting them together and opening a terminal emulator on each one. Keystrokes you input on one computer should display on the other and vice versa.
ATARI FALCON/CT60 @99/25Mhz 512MB - ATARI FALCON/CT60e @101.5/16Mhz 256MB - 520STF 1MB TF68020 - 520ST unmodified (my very first computer) - A couple of useless XE's - and a really cool Atari desktop calculator :)

User avatar
derkom
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:29 pm

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby derkom » Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:32 pm

KLund1 wrote:Also what should I see on screen from the working falcon? That is without a diagnostic cart yet? I know I will not see the desktop, but key presses?


Without the diag cart running on the broken Falcon, you should see nothing at all on the working Falcon's terminal program. Nothing producing serial output on the broken Falcon -> Nothing displayed in the terminal emulator on the working one.

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby KLund1 » Mon Mar 30, 2020 3:50 am

Ok Thanks everyone.
While I wait, I found a really neat test item, new, for a $1 at a garage sale a few weeks ago. I'm just now looking at it. It is an in-circuit Cap tester. It is a EDS-88A.
I have used it around the Falcon board, and it dose not like some of the caps. I know that this is not a Ultimate Perfect tester, but it should at least point to possible bad caps that probably should be replaced.
Here is what I found possibly bad.
C6 4.7 mfd 25wv
C29 100uf 16v
C50 100uf 16v
C141 10mfd 50wv
See picture. the dark blue diagonal cap the tester also does not like. But I noticed the is it's polarity may not be right. I cant get to under my HD cage to check mine. Is it right? also it is a 10uf 50v cap. The neg lead is not touching the transistor leg.

I am terrible with ordering parts from digikey. There are to many options I do not understand. Often, my part specs are not shown there.
Like what is 'mfd'? or 'wv'. I get what uf is, though. I know that these older parts do not have the same labeling conventions used today.
If the cap has leads at both ends it is 'Axial'? what are the ones called that only have leads on the bottom?
Also what type of caps are these? Aluminum Electrolytic?
would one of you helpful people possibly post a link to a digikey item that would be a good replacement for one of these caps? From that, I should be able to find the rest.
Again thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 477
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby mpattonm » Mon Mar 30, 2020 6:18 am

Most of the capacitors in Falcon are axial - those that have the leads in one axe. Additionally, there is one radial leads capacitor 220uF.
So you are basically looking for axial capacitors of the same capacity value as original (in uF). The other important parameter is rated voltage, all of them must be rated at least 16V. One exception is 4700uF filter cap, you will most likely find "small" enough rated to 10V only, this is still fine. In theory, 6.3 is still OK, but I do not recommend it.
Third most important is that you need to take in account is capacitor dimensions: the higher capacity/voltage the bigger the capacitor. You want to pick one that fits in its particular spot. Ideally, same size as original, or smaller. This already is going to be tough call, as you will soon realize axial cap selection is very limited, compared to radial.
If (and thats a big if) you still have options to choose from, pick one with longest lifetime (in ths. hrs)
Thats is.
To save you some trouble you can check out the list of capacitors here: https://centuriontech.eu/product/atari- ... citor-set/

Edit: forgot to mention: get a good, reliable brand: Vishay, Nichicon, Panasonic.

sety
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:42 am

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby sety » Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:25 am

Oh I thought you had your diag cart already. It is always a great idea to change out the caps, but right now you have Falcon that doesn't start. I would seriously recommend shelving it until your cart arrives. There is no guarantee that the cart will even make a difference but a very methodical approach is best with these things.

These things were built with price in mind, which means there is a heap of sub systems are integrated - nothing is wasted. In the past people would just change every IC until it fired up, and find out that it was all over a 65cent inverter. These days that's not so practical or affordable. :)

At that stage it becomes more of a psychological game, if that makes any sense. The more changes you make while it's not starting, the more you will doubt things and the harder it gets.

It's best to think that there is only one fault! You just have to find it. ;)

Cheers,
Stuart
ATARI FALCON/CT60 @99/25Mhz 512MB - ATARI FALCON/CT60e @101.5/16Mhz 256MB - 520STF 1MB TF68020 - 520ST unmodified (my very first computer) - A couple of useless XE's - and a really cool Atari desktop calculator :)

User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 477
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby mpattonm » Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:31 am

And while you wait for TOS404 and diag cart, you might check for simple things: verify your reset switch function with multimeter and see if you have a jumper on expansion port properly installed, on right spot.

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: Falcon Troubles

Postby mfro » Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:24 am

didn't follow the whole thread, but did you try to reset the NVRAM already?


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests