VGA-Adapter for Atari ST.

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Firecooler
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 3:48 pm

VGA-Adapter for Atari ST.

Postby Firecooler » Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:56 pm

Hi,
i wan't make a VGA-Adapter for Atari ST.
But i wan't how, can it select all 3 resultions ST-Low, ST-Mid and ST-High?

Fire :?

simbo

Postby simbo » Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:43 pm

hi res

isnt in colour so is a monocrome signal
it is possible by adding another shifter chip
or by choosing a monitor that has a composite input

but again must be able to handle the refresh rates

ive seen these but nothing beats a good 15" paper white hires for that monocrome mode {no colour info }

you can however tap off the rgb signal while in this mode

but youll only get half a picture and the top on the bottom and bottom on the top

so... back to adding another shifter

appart from this some graphics cards made for the pc can be added

but again why ?? monocrome mode will never give colour anyway??

so .. give up use monocrome out ??to drive a hires mono monitor
and the rgb monitor connected for med and low
best you can do with little expense is make a switch box that also pulses the reset
so when you switch the computer resets auto


well you can always try this first with your rgb monitor and a little vero board and some resistors and a switch



Monitor
Female 13 Pin DIN Pin Function
1 Audio Out
2 Composite Video
3 Clock Select
4 Monochrome detect/Clock in <<<<here to
5 Audio In
6 Green
7 Red
8 12V Pullup <<<<here
9 Horizontal Sync
10 Blue
11 Monochrome
12 Vertical Sync
13 Ground <<<< or here
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Gaiyan
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Postby Gaiyan » Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:49 pm

To use a VGA monitor on an ST is pretty simple. On a regular (all recent) monitors you can only diplay ST-High resolution as regular VGA monitors can't sync down to 15Khz. To be able to use all 3 resolutions, you need a multisync monitor (NEC 3D for example) which can sync down to 15Khz. NOTE: Not all so-called multisync monitors can do 15Khz.

Joshua.

Firecooler
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 3:48 pm

Postby Firecooler » Sun Jul 18, 2004 8:03 am

I have a old Commorce 64-Monitor, i hope it can snyc down to 15 khz, is that possible?

I need the EGA/CGA to VGA Adapter Pin Connector. :?

User avatar
Gaiyan
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Postby Gaiyan » Mon Jul 19, 2004 2:22 pm

If it is a Commodore 1084 monitor, yes, it will work as it is an RGB monitor, not VGA.

Joshua.

Firecooler
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 3:48 pm

Postby Firecooler » Mon Jul 19, 2004 3:48 pm

Gaiyan wrote:If it is a Commodore 1084 monitor, yes, it will work as it is an RGB monitor, not VGA.

Joshua.


hmmm, how do i connect with RGB?!?

User avatar
Gaiyan
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Postby Gaiyan » Tue Jul 20, 2004 9:19 am

Just join the signals from the Atari ST to the corresponding ones in the monitor...

You need:

Red
Green
Blue
Ground
HSYNC
VSYNC

http://www.gamesx.com/hwb/co_AtariStMonitor.html
http://www.gamesx.com/hwb/co_C1084dd.html

Do some research on Google. You'll find lots of other pinouts and guides.

Joshua.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest