STE repair

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

STE repair

Postby Bikerbob » Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:48 am

Posting here as well for those that might help and not on exxos forum.

I have an STE in this condition.

https://ibb.co/h7NVb2m

Note the W102 W103 area... I did not do it.. this is the way I got the board. There are traces in that area that seem to have been damaged.

not positive but i think this is an attempted repair https://ibb.co/GxG5D3j

It was using an exxos Tos Switcher in the ROM sockets - I dont have a STD set of TOS at the moment. Thinking trying to get it to run again with the Switcher might be my best bet.

Really need to get a Super hi res shot of the area on a good STE board. Suggestions??

James

mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby mpattonm » Thu Sep 19, 2019 5:42 am

Yep, I have seen this board here before. What I think you need is a schematic.
http://www.gossuin.be/images/schemasata ... 600dpi.pdf

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby spiny » Thu Sep 19, 2019 6:41 am

Give me a few hours to dig out one of mine and I'll take a pic.

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2756
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby alexh » Thu Sep 19, 2019 6:52 am

These jumpers are to select the ROM I/O configuration.
Image

Someone has badly soldered them. They probably haven't damaged the board or if they have, like you say they have modified the underside..

27C1000 are readily available big EPROMS you can use for TOS 2.06 without changing the default STE jumper pads in this area so I've no idea why anyone would solder these days.

In order to get the right EPROMs you need to work out what the ROM I/O jumper setting is.

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby Bikerbob » Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:34 am

Thanks for the replies guys.

I am trying this with an Exxos STE tos switcher. it would be the 28pin 27c1000 so 2-3 on each.

The underside of the board is wired like this..

w103 pin 2 to 3 and from pin3 to Tos HI 32

Tos HI 2 to C114 top to Tos Low 24

I have viewed the schematic as best I can.. All I can really do is go to all the local ICs and check that all the connections are made.. The Burned out section of the board is around traces that either go to or thru pins 32 to 37 on the DMA chip.. if the DMA was out.. I could see where they all do.. but I am not going to try and desolder the DMA.. not with the equipment I have. A proper Desolder station is needed.. my $40 chinese gun sucks.

James

derkom
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:29 pm

Re: STE repair

Postby derkom » Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:46 am

I've put up some hi-res pictures for you here. Good luck!

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby spiny » Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:14 am

loads here too:

https://imgur.com/a/5oUQO5V

this STe is one I modified to have jumpers rather thanthe resistors, other than that, it's stock.

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby spiny » Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:17 am

Also, I can only assume the previous owner only owned an iron like this:

Image

User avatar
kodak80
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby kodak80 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:37 am

With regards to the STE jumpers to TOS ROM connectivity, his Eagle schematic may be helpful. I created this recently from a hand-drawn version created by a friend.

STE TOS ROM schematic.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards | MiniCosmosEx
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.ataristreview.com

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby Bikerbob » Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:04 pm

Ok, here are some marked up pics.

These are the spots I am worried about. Not sure where they run to.. Cant seem to find things they go to.

https://ibb.co/album/n8eXgF

What is the circuit in pic I have posted with all the E pads.. and what are the E Pads for?? they dont seem to attach to anything.

James

tzok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby tzok » Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:00 pm

Your "e-pads" are configuration jumpers. They could be read at some I/O address. I think only one of them has any use of all, and is used to inform TOS 2.x that the machine is equipped with a HD floppy.

Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1300
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

Re: STE repair

Postby Chandler » Thu Sep 19, 2019 5:29 pm

You'll need to change the TOS rom sockets too

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby Bikerbob » Thu Sep 19, 2019 6:01 pm

Chandler wrote:You'll need to change the TOS rom sockets too



WHy? I am using 28pin roms.. so nothing will touch the end of the socket. so nothing should be an issue there with a mangled socket.

James

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby Bikerbob » Thu Sep 19, 2019 6:08 pm

kodak80 wrote:With regards to the STE jumpers to TOS ROM connectivity, his Eagle schematic may be helpful. I created this recently from a hand-drawn version created by a friend.
STE TOS ROM schematic.png


Thanks but what do these points refer to?

TOS Schematic1.jpg


James
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: STE repair

Postby KLund1 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 8:36 pm

Just wondering, did you try and do some clean up of the area? ISO, vinegar, lemon juice? Perhaps adding some solder then use a solder sucker, or braid to remove the bad solder?
Dose not part of the TOS switcher you are going to use go over the melted section of that socket? There might be some clearance issues. Also it might be just good to have a properly working socket since you already have the board out.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

tzok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby tzok » Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:09 pm

Bikerbob wrote:Thanks but what do these points refer to?
To the Address Bus lines A16 & A17 on MC68000.

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby Bikerbob » Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:12 am

Ok I think this is the key Tzok.

https://ibb.co/MBWSgXS

I think this trace is the Address 17 line that is supposed to go to W104 pin 1..

I have run a jumper from that Via to W104 pin 1 .. seems all addresses are now linked.

I am going to try it.

Do I need a floppy installed to try this??

James

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby Bikerbob » Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:35 am

Fixed! - fired up and working.

Have an HXC Gotek with it.. need to figureout how to setup the USB drive... off to the website!

James

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2634
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby spiny » Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:40 am

Bikerbob wrote:Fixed! - fired up and working.

Have an HXC Gotek with it.. need to figureout how to setup the USB drive... off to the website!

James


nice one :)

derkom
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:29 pm

Re: STE repair

Postby derkom » Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:49 am

KLund1 wrote:Dose not part of the TOS switcher you are going to use go over the melted section of that socket?


The Exxos STe TOS switcher uses only 28 pins, so he can get away with the melted sockets, as long as they're not melted to the point of shorting.

If it were me, I'd probably just pull them and solder the TOS switcher to the board, to hide evidence of the carnage. :mrgreen:

Congrats bikerbob on getting it working! :cheers:

tzok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: STE repair

Postby tzok » Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:09 am

Jumpers are needed because ~OE, A15 and A16 on ROMs have different locations depending on used chips (Mask ROM/27C1000/27C010). ~OE is hard wired to GND, and two most significant address lines are connected respectively to the Atari A16 and A17 address bus lines (as Atari address bus starts at A1, while and ROM address bus starts from A0).

TOS Switcher by Exxoss expects these lines to be set up like for 28 pin Mask ROMs.

Actually the JEDEC standard is 27C010 (or 27C1001 - it is the same). 27C1000 is very hard to find, and it has pinout more similar to Mask ROMs, yet it has 32 pins, just like JEDEC compatible 27C010.

ranix
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:01 pm

Re: STE repair

Postby ranix » Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:35 am

Congrats on the repair

User avatar
Timnaber
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:12 pm

Re: STE repair

Postby Timnaber » Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:06 pm

Also congrats on the repair.
ST: TT030 10/32 MB; Falcon 030 14MB(2); Mega STe 4 MB; Mga 4 stock(3), 1040STf 4 MB(3); ST 4MB (2); Megafile 44 (3); Megafile 30(4)

8-Bit: 320XE w/Ultraspeed+/FIXXL; 320XE; 130XE w/Ultimate 1MB; 600XL w/Ultimate 1MB; 800XL w/Omnimon XL/Boss XL/Omniview XL; 800 w/Incognito; 48K 800; Black Box Enhanced (3); 1050 Super Archiver II; 1050 Happy (2); XF551 360K(2); XF551 720K; 8-bit Hard Drive Tower 480 MBs.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests