Got my First TT030!!!

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Got my First TT030!!!

Postby KLund1 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:01 am

Finally back to Atari after a long absence. Work, family, etc.
I scored not 1 but 2 TT's!! This is my first time ever to have one. I've had every other model. But they are in bad shape. I'm starting with the better of the two.
What I have done so far:
Opened it up.
Blow dusted everything visible.
Pulled out the mother unit.
Opened all the RF shielding. Blow dusted again.
Pushed down all socketed IC's They were all sightly lifted.
Opened and dust out the PSU. Very full of dust. Looked at the caps. They look ok, nothing bulging or appears leaking.
Cleaned heads on FD
Tested HD on other PSU. It spins up but make a lot of noises I do not think it should. Probably dead. I do not think this is needed for just boot testing?
It has a 32 meg daughter board holding the 68030. It was siting at a 20' angle to the motherboard, tilted towards the back. I reseated it level.
There is a Atari memory board with 4x4Mg 30 pin simms. (is this the Fast RaM)? I have a 386 min MB I could test the simm with. Could I remove this and would it still boot at least just to the desktop?
I connected everything back together. I forgot to take a pic of where the internal speaker is connected. I think it is the J803 header, the 2 pins towards the back?
Double checked connections, and powered up with no keyboard, no monitor. The PSU appears to be working. Fan spins. I connected my ATX PSU tester to the molex and it shows good. Yes I know this is not the best test.
I did not get a beep, no FD activity.
I connected my MSTE keyboard, and the LED lit, so there is power to the MB. Still no beep or FD activity.
I have 2 SVGA monitors. Both work with my Falcon. But I only get a 'No Singal' when they are connected TT. I do have a Commodore 1084S, and several Atari monitors. I have a SC1435 but it just has a 9-pin connector.

What should be my next steps in trouble shooting this TT?
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
Gaiyan
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby Gaiyan » Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:41 am

I would measure PSU voltages to confirm it's ok even though you tested molex connector. If you have a working MSTE you could swap the PSUs to verify it.

Yes, the 4x4MB card is TT-RAM. You should remove it for troubleshooting a dead unit. Same with ST-RAM, if you have one you should remove it. The mainboard has 2MB built-in.

Remove daughterboard and make sure there are no bent pins.

There are no beeps on the TT.

Use standard VGA monitors to test. The 1084S and SC1435 will not work.

Take, and post pictures so we can eyeball any potential issues.
Image

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1001
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby czietz » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:41 am

KLund1 wrote:It has a 32 meg daughter board holding the 68030. It was siting at a 20' angle to the motherboard, tilted towards the back. I reseated it level.


I hope no pins were damaged when this "tilted" before you got the computer. The pins on the daughter board look fragile to me.

KLund1 wrote:There is a Atari memory board with 4x4Mg 30 pin simms. (is this the Fast RaM)? I have a 386 min MB I could test the simm with. Could I remove this and would it still boot at least just to the desktop?


There is some ST-RAM soldered onto the mother board. You can remove the TT/Fast RAM board and the TT would still boot.

KLund1 wrote:I connected everything back together. I forgot to take a pic of where the internal speaker is connected. I think it is the J803 header, the 2 pins towards the back?


On my TT it is connected to J803, but to the pins towards the front.

KLund1 wrote:Double checked connections, and powered up with no keyboard, no monitor. The PSU appears to be working. Fan spins. I connected my ATX PSU tester to the molex and it shows good. Yes I know this is not the best test.
I did not get a beep, no FD activity.


Unlike, e.g., a PC, there is no beep at boot on a TT.

KLund1 wrote:What should be my next steps in trouble shooting this TT?


Service manual https://www.dev-docs.org/docs/htm/searc ... nd=C302483 and diagnostic cartridge.

DoG
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:02 pm

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby DoG » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:45 am

Speaker connection below. J803 as mentioned. Pin 1 is signal. 2 & 3 are ground.

Atari_TT_speaker_J803.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

MM41
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby MM41 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:09 am

You must control the psu voltage when linked to the mother board,
unplug extra ram and drive,
i have already had a black screen with a bad floppy drive, (12v short circuit :( )

Tell us about your tests

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby KLund1 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 11:34 pm

Thanks everyone!!
It WORKS!!!
I get to the desktop with it stripped down to bare!
OK, now I put the Fast Ram (FR) module back on. No boot.
The FR edge between the 32Mhz daughter card, and the FR MB white connector dose not have enough space between to let it white pin cover slide in. So when I push down on the FR, the 32Mhz lifts out towards the front.
Now these are Atari OEM parts, they should fit, right. But it looks like the gap is about 1mm too thin.
I'm sure this is not the first time this has happened. What is the usual fix for this? Cut a section of the FR white pin cover?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby stormy » Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:28 am

Just try to hold the chip down as you push it in. Treat her like the bad girl she is. ;)
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby KLund1 » Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:47 pm

The flat bottom edge of the FR white connector sits nicely on the 32mhz pcb top edge with the CPU supporting from one side. It dose not look like it would slide off the pcb edge with pressure.
I do not see a way to hold down the 32mhz board while pressing the FR down. There is only about a 1/2" clearance between them. My finger is thicker that that. Using a screwdriver may prove dangerous if it slips.
Also if the FR somehow dose get in, I'm afraid it might bend or twist the pins of the 32mhz in the MB. Also and future disassembly/reassembly would be difficult or dangerous to those pins.
Other suggestions?
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby Bikerbob » Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:35 pm

Klund1.. where are you?? if you are interested in selling the 2nd one .. I could be interested.

James

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby KLund1 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:45 am

Fixed the FR.
Very high tech device was used to effective results: emery board, dark side.
(nail file!!) ;)
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby KLund1 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:16 am

Added the 2Mb ST-Ram board.
4mb ST-ram
16mb TT-ram
Sweet !!!!!! :)

Need some TT030 diagnostic software.
I do not think ST or Falcon stuff will work fully.
Anyone have something good you could attach here?
tried the HD. HD driver 10.14 did not see it. Scanning the bus freezes the system after Bus 1. And the noise was really bad.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12770
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby wongck » Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:43 am

KLund1 wrote:Fixed the FR.
Very high tech device was used to effective results: emery board, dark side.
(nail file!!) ;)


Yes, it is always good to have some high tech device.... around wife's dressing table like hair pin, nail varnish (for isolation) etc. :wink:

Glad that you have your FIRST TT030 working !!
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1960
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Got my First TT030!!!

Postby Eero Tamminen » Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:27 pm



Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests