Atari powersupply

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
Techman
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:14 pm
Location: Sweden

Atari powersupply

Postby Techman » Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:22 pm

Today i bought a complete Atari 520 with a SF314 Diskdrive for 5$ :D
Does anyone know what voltage the disktrive / Computer need and the pinouts?

I'm trying to replace the old transformators with new and smaller ones.
Atari Falcon 030, 520ST, 520STFM, 1040STE (4meg), Mega ST4, Megafile 30, Portfolio, Lynx....

simeon
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: SCOTLAND
Contact:

Postby simeon » Mon Jun 14, 2004 9:06 pm

ok
SF314
it will be 15v dc

the drive will need 5v and 12 v supply probably neg to the outside

it will regulate 15v to these two voltages

but checking with a meter is easy if you measure each connector in the power socket to the drive case metal parts
on a continuity range {beep test} one will beep

this connector is the negative rail
the other will measure about 1.5k but only in one direction to the case
{reverse protection diode} this is the positive rail
JUST BECOUSE YOUR NOT PARANOID
DONT MEAN THEY ARENT OUT TO TAKE YOUR SOLE

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Atari powersupply

Postby Greenious » Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:53 pm

Techman wrote:Today i bought a complete Atari 520 with a SF314 Diskdrive for 5$ :D
Does anyone know what voltage the disktrive / Computer need and the pinouts?

I'm trying to replace the old transformators with new and smaller ones.


The 520 needs +5v, +12v and -12v to work. The external floppy should be happy with just +5v.

amprating... well, according to my own 520, it needs 3A on +5v and only a few symbolic mA on +/-12v. (12 volt input only needed for serial communication if I remember correctly)

If serial communication isn't important, you could try without the 12v. Or you get some cheap voltage regulator that can supply the symbolic currents needed from the 5v PSU.

The floppy momentarily needs up to 1A (spinning up, moving heads), although the one I got for my external drive only outputs about 450mA.

Trial & error from here I'm afraid.

Please let us know how your project pans out.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest