Power Supply Centuriontech or Exxos

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Bama
Captain Atari
Captain Atari

Power Supply Centuriontech or Exxos

Postby Bama » Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:07 am

Hi Y’all,

I am looking to purchase five new power supplies (520STFM, 1040STE, Mega ST4, Falcon, & Falcon MKX).

Does any one have experience with Centuriontech or Exxos PSU’s?
I would really appreciate your opinions and comparisons.

Thanks,
:-)
BAMA

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru

Re: Power Supply Centuriontech or Exxos

Postby joska » Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:10 am

I have no experience with either, but judging from the technology used I would choose the Centuriontech PSU. exxos' PSU use a big, heavy transformer while the Centuriontech PSU is a modern switch mode design and also cheaper. While a toroidal transformer works just fine, it's very heavy and they can also hum quite a bit when the washers degrades.

Personally I wouldn't have bought any of them. A PicoPSU and an external brick leaves a lot more room for internal add-ons and also moves the heat source to the outside of the cabinet. But this needs modifications to the PSU (or a custom cable) and also some bracketry, so not as simple as installing one of the above.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Bama
Captain Atari
Captain Atari

Postby Bama » Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:53 pm

PicoPSU would certainly be less expensive.

joska wrote:A PicoPSU and an external brick leaves a lot more room for internal add-ons and also moves the heat source to the outside of the cabinet. But this needs modifications to the PSU (or a custom cable) and also some bracketry, so not as simple as installing one of the above.

Any long term problems from using a PicoPSU?