STM1 Mouse - dead ?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

spacedmonkeys
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:58 am

STM1 Mouse - dead ?

Postby spacedmonkeys » Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:15 am

Bought a 'spare' STM1 mouse on a whim, it was lowball ebay win so why not.
Turns out it doesn't work :roll: .

Mouse port is fine as my usual STM1 and Speedmouse both work.

Symptoms: If I turn the STE on with the mouse connected, I get a repeating keyclick noise. When the STE boots up there is no pointer. Wiggled the connector/cable and it seemed to briefly display the pointer which whizzed straight off the screen (once or twice) but mostly there is nothing, no pointer, no selection box.

Are there any things I can do to get it working? Or just throw it in the bin as a dead loss.

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: STM1 Mouse - dead ?

Postby mpattonm » Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:36 am

In any case, do not throw it in the bin. I am sure someone can repair it for you.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: STM1 Mouse - dead ?

Postby czietz » Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:39 am

Check (e.g. with a continuity meter) if one of the mouse buttons appears to be always pressed. Iirc, the keyboard/mouse processor (IKBD) will malfunction when it detects a mouse button pressed at power-up.

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 881
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: STM1 Mouse - dead ?

Postby Atarieterno » Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:44 am

It is an excellent opportunity to install the Lavago laser kit, but first check the continuity of all the wires that make up the cable.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

spacedmonkeys
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:58 am

Re: STM1 Mouse - dead ?

Postby spacedmonkeys » Wed Sep 26, 2018 7:26 am

Have added some photos.
Don't have a multimeter to test the wires yet (I'll get one this week, always useful).
But the inside looks ok to me, I've cleaned up any dirt and gunk.
Anyone see anything obvious?
https://flic.kr/s/aHsmqG9rd8


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sigix and 6 guests