UK vs German KB swap

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 561
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

UK vs German KB swap

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:41 pm

Think I know the answer, can't be too sure.
Am installing a TT Touch kit for Falcon.
Does the keyboard language layout default to NVRAM setting?
Swapping out one circuit board and IC for another is tit for tat?

Have a very interesting photo once done :)

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: UK vs German KB swap

Postby mfro » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:22 pm

Rustynutt wrote:Think I know the answer, can't be too sure.
Am installing a TT Touch kit for Falcon.
Does the keyboard language layout default to NVRAM setting?
Swapping out one circuit board and IC for another is tit for tat?

Have a very interesting photo once done :)


No. TOS 3.x ROMs come in different language versions that also bring their keyboard layout with them: if you plug a UK keyboard to a German ROM TT, you still have the German keyboard language. The only multilingual TOS is Falcon TOS.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4148
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: UK vs German KB swap

Postby joska » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:32 pm

This is a Falcon...

TOS does not know or care what's printed on the keycaps.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: UK vs German KB swap

Postby mfro » Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:41 pm

joska wrote:This is a Falcon...

TOS does not know or care what's printed on the keycaps.


Ah, I see. Thanks for correction.

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 561
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: UK vs German KB swap

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:35 pm

mfro wrote:
joska wrote:This is a Falcon...

TOS does not know or care what's printed on the keycaps.


Ah, I see. Thanks for correction.


Didn't want to throw a dead NVRAM into the equation :)

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 561
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: UK vs German KB swap

Postby Rustynutt » Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:20 am

Wish I could remember whom it was sold this really cool keyboard/antenna set-up!
Imagine wanting this Falcon bad, and bad it surely is!

Thing is, I'd of never known if not for replacing the KB cups. Damn thing actually works.

Replacement will take-up the only spare Falcon KB PCB assy I have, but one less thing for "an" owner to worry about. Whomever they may be.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4148
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: UK vs German KB swap

Postby joska » Thu Sep 20, 2018 9:00 am

Lovely repair, looks like something I could have done :D
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests