Dead Falcon mobo and Replacement Chips

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Dead Falcon mobo and Replacement Chips

Postby dhedberg » Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:35 pm

Well done! Another bird saved! Awesome! Did Best Electronics still have Falcon030 cases?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
SainT
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:33 pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: Dead Falcon mobo and Replacement Chips

Postby SainT » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:15 pm

I'll give them a try if all other options fail, as I'll need a new videl for the other motherboard anyhow. The shipping with Best to the UK is bloody expensive even for small items, though, so I'd hate to think how much they'd charge for a case! :)

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Dead Falcon mobo and Replacement Chips

Postby dhedberg » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:34 pm

Yes, the only viable option is to find somebody to "relay" the stuff for you.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1779
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Dead Falcon mobo and Replacement Chips

Postby mikro » Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:58 am

I can help you with shipping from US if you want.

User avatar
SainT
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:33 pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: Dead Falcon mobo and Replacement Chips

Postby SainT » Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:19 am

Cheers, may take you up on that! I seem to remember it being expensive shipping from best even within the US when I looked at getting some jaguar die connectors. I've no idea why they can't just post regular airmail for some items and halve the postage.... :(

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Dead Falcon mobo and Replacement Chips

Postby leech » Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:56 am

SainT wrote:H&V sync were reversed, switched those and we're good! Attached an ST keyboard and it now boots to the desktop. That I was not expecting! I could do with finding a case now... it's all a bit precarious attaching keyboards and stuff without a case.

Then onto motherboard number 2. That one is missing a few chips, so could be a bit more fun. :)

HXC2k1 floppy emulator hooked up. Frontier Elite 2 running. Neat.

That's pretty awesome! Always good to see an old bird given new wings!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Dead Falcon mobo and Replacement Chips

Postby Rustynutt » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:21 am

Problem shipping crom the US to UK is the USPS itself. Items under 4lbs can ship First Class. That is $35 to start...... Blows, I get packages from all over Europe very reasonable. There are no more airmail rates here, unless you're Amazon...

Fletch
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:11 am

Re: Dead Falcon mobo and Replacement Chips

Postby Fletch » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:24 am

Sweet! Glad to see the bird flay again.

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Dead Falcon mobo and Replacement Chips

Postby Rustynutt » Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:16 am

Any PLCC socket to DIL adapters? :)
I'd buy an entire board if that's how they come.

alexh wrote:If you need something shipped from the states, just ask, we do have an office over there with some ex-pats.

If you need an NVRAM chip I got several free from Maxim a few years ago. They are in my loft. I'm sure I could spare one.

I have an original Falcon030 110v PSU, it's yours if you want it, perhaps you can swap it for a 220v one? Exxos used to make replacements but he's sold out.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mpattonm and 7 guests