Graphics card for Mega STE

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Graphics card for Mega STE

Postby Silly_Pony » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:09 am

hey all

Got myself a nice Mega STE and found someone selling VME ISA adapters for graphics cards. What I've noticed is with this sort of setup there seems to be 3 choices for card, either an ET4000, or ATI Mach32 or Mach64.

I can find either the ET4000 or the Mach32 easily enough. But which one works better?
1040STe, 1040STf

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 873
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Graphics card for Mega STE

Postby Atarieterno » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:57 am

Better for what?
With ET4000 I only find compatibility with Cubase v3.02, is what I can tell you.
If another card works correctly with Cubase Score, Cubase v3.1 and Cubase Audio CBX: it would be a better card.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Re: Graphics card for Mega STE

Postby Silly_Pony » Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:34 am

Oh, so this thread actually did post. It kept throwing up a bunch of errors.

I thought it was commonly understood faster, more colours, etc is better. I'm not a musician so don't care about cubase compatibility. My monitor can go up to 800x600, would be pleased with a 16 colour desktop. Mostly interested in using it for writing, bit of programming, some boring spreadsheet type stuff.

What I'm concerned about is if one card or the other is going to be too much for the Atari to drive. Mach32 has 2D acceleration, but I've no idea if the Atari drivers put that to use. I can imagine pushing some big 1024x768x 256 colour mode from CPU is going to slow it to a crawl.
1040STe, 1040STf

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Graphics card for Mega STE

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:15 am

ET4000 1024x768/256 Colors Mega STE ...

nova_5.gif



MACH32 1280x1024/256 Colors Mega STE ...

MACH32_MSTE.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Re: Graphics card for Mega STE

Postby Silly_Pony » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:48 pm

Ah the man himself! I suppose that answers that question. Bigger question now is how such cards interact with NVDI, it gives option to choose them when installing, but is it actually doing any VDI speedup with them, or just falling back to acting as a GDOS?
1040STe, 1040STf


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests