Falcon CPU

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Falcon CPU

Postby mpattonm » Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:06 am

I wonder is there any real difference between Motorola made CPUs badged SC414230FE16 for Falcon and generic countepart MC68030FExx, provided that they are in same TQFP packaging?
I mean can Falcon board be fitted with such generic CPU?

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby mzry » Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:18 am

Try searching the forum a bit, I'm sure I've seen this explained many times before.
Falcon ct63e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - SCSI2SD - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby mrbombermillzy » Sun Jul 22, 2018 9:25 am

Yeah, Im sure Doug (DML) posted about this a while back.

I think the gist of it was, that the F030 CPU was a nonstandard/custom version, but one of the 'regular' 68030 package types was going to be tested and was expected to be pin compatible...Not sure if he ever posted the results though.
Last edited by mrbombermillzy on Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby mpattonm » Sun Jul 22, 2018 9:56 am

Since I newly acquired almost empty board, I am tempted to try. The PCB itself is in a pretty good shape, it might withstand two soldering waves.

@mzry I really have not found a post that would give clear yes/no to my question, that is why I asked. Could you point me up please?

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1588
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:07 am

Try Google -> site:atari-forum.com SC414230FE16
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby mpattonm » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:52 am

same four threads found.

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby mrbombermillzy » Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:01 am

mpattonm wrote:Since I newly acquired almost empty board


Good luck populating that! 8O

Maybe PM Doug to see if he was successful with the CPU swap?

Then let us know! :wink:

ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby ctirad » Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:59 am

mpattonm wrote:I wonder is there any real difference between Motorola made CPUs badged SC414230FE16 for Falcon and generic countepart MC68030FExx, provided that they are in same TQFP packaging?
I mean can Falcon board be fitted with such generic CPU?


Afaik, It was never proven by a real experiment, but the chips are most probabaly the same.
In early 90. Atari was not in position to afford any customisation of the CPUs and also there wasn't a technical reason for doing that.

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby mpattonm » Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:12 pm

ctirad wrote:
mpattonm wrote:I wonder is there any real difference between Motorola made CPUs badged SC414230FE16 for Falcon and generic countepart MC68030FExx, provided that they are in same TQFP packaging?
I mean can Falcon board be fitted with such generic CPU?


Afaik, It was never proven by a real experiment, but the chips are most probabaly the same.
In early 90. Atari was not in position to afford any customisation of the CPUs and also there wasn't a technical reason for doing that.


My thoughts, exactly.

mpattonm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby mpattonm » Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:29 pm

By the way, here is the ultimate answer to my own question: YES, both CPUs are idential and interchangeable.
See attachement - everything working nominal with generic Motorola CPU.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby ctirad » Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:11 pm

:cheers:

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Falcon CPU

Postby mrbombermillzy » Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:02 pm

Great news! 25 years later we know for sure! lol

Well done! :cheers:


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests