Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

ranix
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:01 pm

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby ranix » Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:27 am

I'll check to see how well it does on my 16mhz stf this week if I remember

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4256
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby DarkLord » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:29 pm

Going shopping at the mall today - will try to run Elite on my 40mhz Pak 68/3 equipped STacy
with it's 40mhz FPU and see how it does.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby leech » Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:50 pm

I should get the rest of the stuff so that my FPU works in my Mega STe to see if there is any benefit there as well.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby shoggoth » Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:40 pm

Frontier doesn't use the FPU. Not sure it copes with fastram out of the box, but it can easily be patched to do so.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby leech » Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:43 pm

Hmm, thought someone in this thread had said FPU helped. There should be a 'FPU helps' list of games/apps somewhere.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
Rajah Lone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 12:27 pm
Location: Lyon / France
Contact:

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby Rajah Lone » Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:18 pm

http://www.frontierastro.co.uk/Hires/hiresfe2.html
http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/pc/ ... r-elite-2/
https://virtuallyfun.com/wordpress/2009 ... rontier-2/
https://github.com/pcercuei/glfrontier

On PC setup, someone has decompiled ST version, with help of early Hatari and SDL, and add openGL routines. Early work of this project is clearly Atari code, with enhanced sound and some SDL features.

If you don't find it, I have retreived the archives a long time ago, for compilation+test for a FireBee target. Failed.
-> http://ptonthat.fr/files/temp/ (if someone is interested, archive available for a short time)

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby leech » Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:27 pm

Rajah Lone wrote:http://www.frontierastro.co.uk/Hires/hiresfe2.html
http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/pc/ ... r-elite-2/
https://virtuallyfun.com/wordpress/2009 ... rontier-2/
https://github.com/pcercuei/glfrontier

On PC setup, someone has decompiled ST version, with help of early Hatari and SDL, and add openGL routines. Early work of this project is clearly Atari code, with enhanced sound and some SDL features.

If you don't find it, I have retreived the archives a long time ago, for compilation+test for a FireBee target. Failed.
-> http://ptonthat.fr/files/temp/ (if someone is interested, archive available for a short time)

That'd be awesome to get this ported to FireBee / Falcon with Accelerator/SV
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
Rajah Lone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 12:27 pm
Location: Lyon / France
Contact:

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby Rajah Lone » Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:04 pm

leech wrote:That'd be awesome to get this ported to FireBee / Falcon with Accelerator/SV

Then study this project, and try. I tried, but I don't have enough skills to make it work.

"Bon courage" to the ones willing to try.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby leech » Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:08 pm

Rajah Lone wrote:
leech wrote:That'd be awesome to get this ported to FireBee / Falcon with Accelerator/SV

Then study this project, and try. I tried, but I don't have enough skills to make it work.

"Bon courage" to the ones willing to try.

Ha, my current skill level of coding is bash and very sparse amounts of python.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
MagikGimp
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:59 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby MagikGimp » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:04 pm

You may be interested in GLFrontier- http://www.frontierastro.co.uk/Hires/hiresfe2.html. Tom Morton has re-written Frontier Elite 2 to work under the OpenGL graphics system, and the result is a great-looking game which will run under Windows and other systems.
[Original website from the Internet Archive]

EDIT: Oops, already mentioned but the original site may be useful so I'll leave this here.
Want to preserve all those old floppy disks? Then head on over to P. Putnik's Floppy Image page!
Image

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12497
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby wongck » Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:43 pm

MagikGimp wrote:You may be interested in GLFrontier- http://www.frontierastro.co.uk/Hires/hiresfe2.html. Tom Morton has re-written Frontier Elite 2 to work under the OpenGL graphics system, and the result is a great-looking game which will run under Windows and other systems.
[Original website from the Internet Archive]


Thanks for re-posting this.
This sure brings back the good old days of space-sim on the PC for me.
I remembered Wing Commander running on a 10MHz 286 (IIRC) with sound blaster card.... and that was amazing.
Sure nowadays, you can even get that type of graphics on a browser but at that time 90's was black magic.

surely an accelerated Atari should be able to compete with the then 90s Wing Commander?
I mean a 40Mhz 68K accelerator compared to a 10Mhz 286??

I may be wrong about the speed.... but hey, it's over 20 years ago.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
MagikGimp
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:59 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby MagikGimp » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:56 pm

wongck wrote:I remembered Wing Commander
Yet another on my rapidly expanding list of must play games that I never did back then. I swear I spend more time finding out about the games and getting them to run on modern hardware than getting down to the business of actually playing them. I think I must be a kind of meta-gamer; skirting around the edges of games! Oh well, keeps me occupied.
Want to preserve all those old floppy disks? Then head on over to P. Putnik's Floppy Image page!
Image

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby leech » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:29 pm

MagikGimp wrote:
wongck wrote:I remembered Wing Commander
Yet another on my rapidly expanding list of must play games that I never did back then. I swear I spend more time finding out about the games and getting them to run on modern hardware than getting down to the business of actually playing them. I think I must be a kind of meta-gamer; skirting around the edges of games! Oh well, keeps me occupied.

Ha, I'm the same way. With the massive Steam library I have, and all the retro system library of games I have... when I retire I'll have lots to play!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
darklight
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Brisbane
Contact:

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby darklight » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:10 am

MagikGimp wrote:
wongck wrote:I remembered Wing Commander
Yet another on my rapidly expanding list of must play games that I never did back then. I swear I spend more time finding out about the games and getting them to run on modern hardware than getting down to the business of actually playing them. I think I must be a kind of meta-gamer; skirting around the edges of games! Oh well, keeps me occupied.


I'm in a similar position - my steam library is full of flight sims from days gone by. Still haven't even played most of them. I do most of my game consumption via YouTube videos. Which I'll admit is weird.
Storm Clouds over the Western Front - my WW1 2D dogfighting game for windows
2D Flight Sims - side scrolling aerial combat games

ranix
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:01 pm

Re: Frontier Elite poor frame rate - booster required!

Postby ranix » Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:11 am

hey dudes here's a bad cell phone video of the stf running frontier @16mhz.

https://my.mixtape.moe/yamesr.mp4


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests