720k Floppies with Windows 10 and a USB Floppy drive.

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

boratintheuk
Atarian
Atarian

720k Floppies with Windows 10 and a USB Floppy drive.

Postby boratintheuk » Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:13 am

Hi everyone, I'm new to the ST scene. I'm aware this topic has probably been discussed in myriads, so I'm sorry about that, it's just that some of these guides were 10 years old or the newer ones had conflicting information.

I come from the Amiga scene where floppy disks had no proper way of exchanging data with modern PCs. However I found out that the ST is capable of doing such a feat.

I've been reading that USB floppy drives can't read or format 720k disks... But I also read that sometimes they can?
And I've also been reading that windows 10 also can't read or format 720k disks... But some people say that it can?!
I've also read that certain floppy formatting/writing software can't use USB floppies drives... But I've also seen some guides saying they can?!?!

It pretty much needs to be a USB floppy drive because I no longer own a motherboard with a floppy connector in it.

This conflicting information is confusing me. I'll be receiving my very first Atari STE soon and I'm excited to play with it. I already own a Gotek drive but since the ST can read DOS based floppies I was more interested in using the classic disk format.

I was wondering if I could get some help on all this! I'm considering buying this cheap USB drive: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00RXEWOAA/?t ... rflow17-20 The description claims it supports 720k disks.

I read in another thread that you shouldn't use these cheap Chinese floppy drives but, someone in that same thread said they were able to make this very same model work! (something about covering holes on the disk?)