Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
AtariSociety
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:38 pm

Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby AtariSociety » Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:03 am

OK, new to this whole Satan/UltraSatan device. I acquired my 2nd hand with a Mega STe I purchasd a number of years ago. It is the little black box on top of my Mega STe. Has two SD slots. On/Off switch with ACSI cable coming out back that I used to connect to computer. A power plug too.

So, is this an UltraSatan or ?

What I can tell you is using it with HDDriver 8.2 on the Mega STe I was able to partition a 2GB card and it only use 1GB of it. Leaves 1GB waisted. But HDDriver only allowed me to make 4 partitions 256MB each. I think that is because TOS 2.05 I have only allows up to 1GB for size of the drive?

What about the waisted space? Or is there a way to get HDDriver to also make use of the other space?

If not, I will just buy a 1GB card so I can have more data space using the 2nd slot of the Satan device that is unused right now so I can have two SD cards working.

Thanks

TJ

Image
Last edited by AtariSociety on Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AtariSociety
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby AtariSociety » Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:09 am

btw... what is the best partition and format to use when using the UltraSatan?

I did mine TOS as I check marked that box. That means the SD card would not be readable on my Mac or Linux system.

Reason I selected TOS is when I tried TOS and Microsoft, a message appeared I would need TOS 4.x to use it, and my Mega STe is only 2.05, so I stuck with just the TOS selection.

I would like to download new apps on my Mac or Linux system and slap them onto the SD card since I can't download stuff on my Atari, yet.

Maybe there is a better setting so I can use the SD card to boot my Mega STe from and also easily copy data to it from another system.

TJ

User avatar
Dew-It
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: USA, Iowa

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby Dew-It » Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:29 am

I use Peter Putnik's software with ultrasatan. http://atari.8bitchip.info/pphdr.php
Have you played Atari Today?

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2514
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby spiny » Sun Mar 18, 2018 11:07 am

HDDriver should let you make up to 13 partitions.

your ultrasatan has two card slots. partition the top card however you like in Atari format, then get a 128/256/512k etc card and format that TOS/DOS and it'll be readable on a pc too, then use it as a 'swap' disk in the second slot.

User avatar
AtariSociety
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby AtariSociety » Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:29 pm

spiny wrote:HDDriver should let you make up to 13 partitions.

your ultrasatan has two card slots. partition the top card however you like in Atari format, then get a 128/256/512k etc card and format that TOS/DOS and it'll be readable on a pc too, then use it as a 'swap' disk in the second slot.


I will try again but seems when I started typing 511 and did that 4 times, it adjusted them all to 256mb so only the 1st 1GB was used. Going past that and adding a 5th made all the #s smaller again to only use the 1st 1GB.

Maybe I am imagining things and will try again.

Thanks

TJ

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby leech » Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:41 pm

I'd recommend upgrading your TOS to 2.06 as well, it's nice. Now I know the Mega STe's internal SCSI is limited to 1GB drives, I'm not sure the same applies to ACSI though. I am in the same situation, sort of. I have two 2GB SD cards in it, but it only really uses the first half of them. But it doesn't matter much because finding 1GB SD cards these days is hard anyhow, and 2GB ones are cheap.

Edit: http://atariage.com/forums/topic/263242 ... try3718313 answers the question about ACSI connected devices and if you can go beyond 1GB.

But you still are limited by 512mb partition sizes. I think 256mb is good though in case you ever need to run it on an older ST model with only TOS 1.04.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4256
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby DarkLord » Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:21 pm

TOS v1.04 on my Mega ST along with HDDriver allows me to use a 4 gig
SCSI hard drive here with no problems. Eight 512 meg hard drive partitions,
including the C drive, running since the mid '90's for my BBS. No problems.

My conclusion would be that if there is a limit, it's in the Mega STe's hard
drive adapter and not the TOS version (although I agree that if you have
TOS v2.05 you should update to 2.06).

PS Had the same problem with my STacy, which uses the same adapter
as the Mega STe. Replaced it with Alan's internal adapter and an Ultrasatan
- problem gone. :)

HTHs.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby leech » Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:14 pm

Yeah, it was my understanding that it's the hard drive controller itself that only allows reading 1GB hard drive (different than partition size). Which explains why, back in the day, I could never quite get my Barracuda 1.6gb 10k scsi drive to work.

I actually think it's only TOS 1.0 that had really buggy hard drive support and it was limited to 256mb partitions? (thought it was 1.04 though, but I guess not?)

TOS 2.06 has some nice features over 2.05 for sure though. Like the memory check /Atari logo at boot. Plus some other things that are less apparent.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby ctirad » Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:04 pm

I used to have exactly the same problem. It definitely was neither partitioning nor TOS version issue. The SD card size was detected properly by the US itself and both drivers I tried (HDDriver and ICD tools). The partitiong of the whole space passed without any problems, but the TOS had no access to any sector above ~1GB space. The ICD mode was enbaled in HDriver, BTW.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby 1st1 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:41 pm

The limitation is not TSO 2.05, but STacy/MegaSTE internal ACSI-SCSI-hostadapter. (Difference between TOS 2.05 & 2.06 is mainly that 2.06 supports legacy ST hardware)
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby leech » Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:52 pm

Yeah, I was just suggesting to upgrade to TOS 2.06 because in general it is better.

I have an EEPROM burner, I should try making some ROMS.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
AtariSociety
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby AtariSociety » Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:11 pm

I do have 2.06 but have to find a few moments and patience to install. Was something I planned on doing once I got the hard drive or Satan device booting and working.

TJ

ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby ctirad » Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:47 pm

1st1 wrote:The limitation is not TSO 2.05, but STacy/MegaSTE internal ACSI-SCSI-hostadapter. (Difference between TOS 2.05 & 2.06 is mainly that 2.06 supports legacy ST hardware)


No. The UltraSatan device connects to the ACSI port directly. It does not have anything to do with the MegaSTE internal SCSI.

User avatar
AtariSociety
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby AtariSociety » Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:08 pm

ctirad wrote:
1st1 wrote:The limitation is not TSO 2.05, but STacy/MegaSTE internal ACSI-SCSI-hostadapter. (Difference between TOS 2.05 & 2.06 is mainly that 2.06 supports legacy ST hardware)


No. The UltraSatan device connects to the ACSI port directly. It does not have anything to do with the MegaSTE internal SCSI.


I take it the ACSI SCSI card inside the hard drive bay can be removed and then the UltraSatan can just plug right into the same connector where one unplugs the ACSI card from?

In time I may opt to do that.

How are you all mounting the Ultra Satan inside the Mega STe /TT Drive bay? The metal bracket is for large drive so curious how you all rigged that up. Mine is the small black box with dual SD card slots. I may use that internally and then get an external one to so I can do card swaps.

TJ

ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby ctirad » Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:25 am

Here you have the original documentation about possible connections http://joo.kie.sk/?page_id=224

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4256
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby DarkLord » Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:54 pm

I've never hooked an Ultrasatan up to any of my Mega STe's. However, as far
as I know, the internal connector is the same between the STacy and the Mega
STe.

Noting that, I *had* to have Alan's internal Mega STe adapter to use with my
Ultrasatan when I installed it in my STacy. Not saying you can't , but I personally
didn't do it that way. If you remove the original you have to replace it with some
thing else like Alan's design or cable/board made from Jookie's website.

Externally, sure - piece of cake. Internally, requires a bit more be done.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
AtariSociety
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby AtariSociety » Tue Mar 20, 2018 3:33 pm

DarkLord wrote:I've never hooked an Ultrasatan up to any of my Mega STe's. However, as far
as I know, the internal connector is the same between the STacy and the Mega
STe.

Noting that, I *had* to have Alan's internal Mega STe adapter to use with my
Ultrasatan when I installed it in my STacy. Not saying you can't , but I personally
didn't do it that way. If you remove the original you have to replace it with some
thing else like Alan's design or cable/board made from Jookie's website.

Externally, sure - piece of cake. Internally, requires a bit more be done.


I think I will leave mine well enough alone.

hehe.

Yeah appears for me I can only use up to 1GB of space... I can't fill a 2GB card as example. Uses 1st 1GB and rest is just not able to be used... at least with HDDriver.

TJ

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2709
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby alexh » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:48 pm

Slightly off topic but here is the thread about the internal MegaSTe board/cable for Ultrasatan

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=18687

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4256
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby DarkLord » Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:47 pm

I'd say it could be fairly relevant. Thanks Alex. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
crashman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:23 am
Location: Vilanova i la Geltrú - Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Utilize more than 1GB from SD Card UltraSatan

Postby crashman » Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:27 am

Hi,

here:
http://retrowiki.es/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=562

you can find 2 sd images that work on Satandisk, I suppose they will work also on Ultrasatan, that uses a 2Gb card at it's full.
There are two versions, because not all the 2Gb SD cards, have the same capacity, so if you're unlucky to have the lower, you'll loose the last partition.
I think the FAT was touched somehow to use the 2Gb, so if you change it with HDDriver or whatever, it's likely that you'll loose the ability to use the card at it's full size again.

Regards.
260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STFM, 1040STE, 4160STE, STACY 2, MEGA ST2, MEGA ST4, MEGA STE, TT030, FALCON030, FALCON030 with Centurbo 2rB, Firebee
SH204, Megafile 30, Megafile 60, Megafile 44
SM124, SM125, SM146, SC1224, SC1435
Satandisk, Ultrasatan, HxC SD, Hxc SD Slim, NetUSBee, CosmosEX, Gotek HxC, MicroCosmos
2600VCS, LYNX, LYNX II, JAGUAR


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests