CF card + HDDRIVER 10.02 in Falcon

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide

CF card + HDDRIVER 10.02 in Falcon

Postby ST Graveyard » Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:43 am

Hello all,

I'm new to the Falcon and also to prepping a CF card for any machine :-)

Currently I'm trying to make my CF card compatible with a WIN7 PC AND my Falcon. I'm using HDDRIVER 10.02.
I have read that for the CF card to be readible on a PC, you need to have 'revers cycle' active when making the partitions. Well, when I do this, the program bombs.

So what do I have. I have a sandisk 2GB SD card in the card reader. I format this using the HD Driver util, I make 5 partitions of 400 mb. I can make TOS partitions, WIN partitions and TOS + WIN partitions. This all works fine. I install the driver on C and the Falcon boots. But my card reader can not read it on the WIN PC. So when I try to make a TOS + WIN partition using revers cycle, the Util crashes.

I can also format FAT using my cardreader on my PC. So at first I thought it was the reader, but once I format it using windows, all works wel, but than I cannot use it on the Falcon ofcourse.

Anybody out there ever experienced these crashes when using partition with 'revers cycles'?

Thanks,
Maarten
Atari Legend IS back!

www.atarilegend.com

mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero

Re: CF card + HDDRIVER 10.02 in Falcon

Postby mfro » Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:45 pm

Windows has that strange attitude to ignore anything but the first partition (which must be an Atari only partition if you want to boot your Falcon from it) when it detects a removable medium.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator

Postby Dal » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:15 pm

I would use a dual CF reader and dedicate the card in the secondary slot to being TOS/DOS compatible.