ROM port Ethernet adapter

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:09 am

Hi!

Is anybody still around who uses this hardware with the MiNT drivers (rtl8012)?
Some changes have been done in the driver's delay functions and I need a tester to check that nothing is broken.

Thanks!
Last edited by Galvez on Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:02 pm

I use this pocket network card only with STING.
I don't think the original driver works with the latest versions of Freemint (>= 1.15?) but it's so old in my memory...
The only thing I'm sure is my card has never worked with a CT60, no matter the driver.
Last edited by Xerus on Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 794
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby 1st1 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:57 pm

That is NetUSBee and Hydra network card. I have such a setup on my TT and EasyMiNT. But currently my nfs-Server is down as I had to reinstall my physical home server and I have not completed that nfs task yet. So currently difficult to test...
Last edited by 1st1 on Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 794
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby 1st1 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:58 pm

double post
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:59 pm

1st1 wrote:That is NetUSBee and Hydra network card. I have such a setup on my TT and EasyMiNT. But currently my nfs-Server is down as I had to reinstall my physical home server and I have not completed that nfs task yet. So currently difficult to test...


No, I don't mean those romport devices (NetUSBee or Hydra), the hardware I mean is the one linked by Xerus.

http://www.asamnet.de/~hilgarte/ether_e.php
http://users.otenet.gr/~papval/ethernet.htm

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:15 pm

If no one proposes, I will try to remake a mintnet config that works; so I could test your driver if you want.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:48 am

Xerus wrote:If no one proposes, I will try to remake a mintnet config that works; so I could test your driver if you want.

Great! Thanks!

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:04 pm

OK, I installed the latest version of VanillaMiNT 1.19 (thanks Joska) with the driver rtl8012.xif (version 1.3).
A ping on my internet box works well even if oddly I can't ping other machines in my network unlike STING ?!
In mode 030 the driver works well, with a 060 the driver is not detected at boot.

So if you want I can test your driver ;)

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:18 pm

Wow! Thanks a lot!
I've attached the driver.
rtl8012.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:36 am

Tested.

At boot FreeMiNT displays:
"RTL8012 ethernet romport driver version 1.10"
On the desktop, if I ping my internet box, everything is fine, no packet lost.
And by testing Highwire I can surf on Atari-Forum.
For me all seems ok.

In 060 mode, the ethernet pocket is well recognized but after that it doesn't work anymore.
A ping gives nothing, no packet sent, no receipt.
But it's not your fault, the driver has never worked with a CT60.
Last edited by Xerus on Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Sat Feb 17, 2018 7:37 am

Xerus wrote:Tested.

At boot FreeMiNT displays:
"RTL8012 ethernet romport driver version 1.10"
On the desktop, if I ping my internet box, everything is fine, no packet lost.
And by testing Highwire I can sur on Atari-Forum.
For me all seems ok.

In 060 mode, the ethernet pocket is well recognized but after that it doesn't work anymore.
A ping gives nothing, no packet sent, no receipt.
But it's not your fault, the driver has never worked with a CT60.


OK, thanks for the report. I've just realized that the driver is built for the 020-60 by default, so the changes I did doesn't affect it. Sorry for that.
As a way to pay you back for your time if you're interested I can take a look to the drivers code to see if we can make it work with the CT60.
So if you want tell me and I'll send you a debug version of the driver.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:38 pm

No need to pay, I just wanted to help "for free" :)
But if you think it is possible to run the driver on CT60, I am fully available to do all the tests you want.
After all, it could also serve other people!
In short, if you have a little time to modify the driver, I will be your beta tester :wink:

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Sun Feb 18, 2018 9:57 am

OK! so let's try it. I've attached a debug version of the driver, the thing is how I get the debug log :-)

I see that VanillaMiNT has toswin2 installed so toswin2's console should catch the debug messages.
Because it's a xid driver the module is loaded during the boot so the debug log will be split in two, first the boot.log that is saved in the hard drive, if you press the shift key when MiNT starts to boot you can access a built-in menu, enable "boot.log to file" I think is option number 9, also in this menu choose the "Console" as debug output and the debug level to "ALERT, DEBUG" . Send me please the the boot.log and then the messages caught by the toswin2's console when you try to ping.

If you have the hardware and the cable it's possible to get the debug messages through the serial port with another computer.
https://github.com/freemint/freemint/wi ... erial_port

rtl8012d.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:41 pm

Here is the boot.log
NB: if this option is enabled, impossible to go on the desktop, xaaes crash and the computer reset.
Another problem, TOSWIN2 didn't create a con.log (in ramdisk or on the hard disk)...

So I made a video with my smartphone, you can download it here:
http://falcon060.free.fr/video/pocket-debug.3gp (92mo)
It works well with VLC.
I put a heavy resolution (truecolor) to have a slow scrolling and readable.

As you will see, there is an activity (and somes errors), probably an attempt to exchange with my Internet box.

Otherwise one of the symptoms, when there is an activity (rare) with the led that lights on the pocket ethernet, the movement of the mouse is stopped briefly on the desktop!

Goodluck :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:49 pm

Thanks a lot for the video log :-)
I hope I can work on this during this week,
I'll tell you as soon as I have something.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:08 am

Hi Xerus,

Did you try to do a ping after you recorded the video? If don't, could you please try?

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:51 am

It's strange, I don't always access to the desktop with the driver in debug mode.
Sometimes I have an almost infinite boot with values that are repeated hundreds of times, always the same:

pid 8 (mgw): rtl8012_recv_packet:0
pid 8 (mgw): rtl8012_recv_packet:1536
pid 8 (mgw): rtl8012_recv_packet:out of mem (buf_alloc failed)

hundreds of times

pid 9 (dhclient): rtl8012_recv_packet:0
pid 9 (dhclient): rtl8012_recv_packet:1536
pid 9 (dhclient): rtl8012_recv_packet:out of mem (buf_alloc failed)

hundreds of times

pid 13 (gluestik): rtl8012_recv_packet:0
pid 13 (gluestik): rtl8012_recv_packet:1536
pid 13 (gluestik): rtl8012_recv_packet:out of mem (buf_alloc failed)

hundreds of times

pid 0 (MiNT): rtl8012_recv_packet:0
pid 0 (MiNT): rtl8012_recv_packet:1536
pid 0 (MiNT): rtl8012_recv_packet:out of mem (buf_alloc failed)

hundreds of times

pid 1 (xaloader): rtl8012_recv_packet:0
pid 1 (xaloader): rtl8012_recv_packet:1536
pid 1 (xaloader): rtl8012_recv_packet:out of mem (buf_alloc failed)

hundreds of times

pid 3 (sh): rtl8012_recv_packet:0
pid 3 (sh): rtl8012_recv_packet:1536
pid 3 (sh): rtl8012_recv_packet:out of mem (buf_alloc failed)

hundreds of times

When I arrive at the desktop, ping is useless, no activity as if mintnet (or pocket ethernet?) was down.

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:50 am

Thanks for the report!

I've attached a new debug module for you to try.
I think the 060 was reading registers to fast.

rtl8012d.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:46 pm

Sorry I'm out of time but I did a quick test without debug mode.
The computer is working oddly, it is very slow.
When I move the cursor on desktop, it reacts 2,3 or 4 seconds later.
I will make a video tomorrow for dbug mode :wink:

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Thu Feb 22, 2018 8:21 pm

The driver hooks in the VBL interrupt and there is a debug message in the interrupt handle.
I have removed that message, this should improve the system responsiveness.
Please try better the module attached .
rtl8012d.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:15 pm

Without debug mode, I have the same symptoms as the previous driver, machine that responds with a lot of lag.
In debug mode, I can't access to the desk, I have this sentence that repeats itself infinitely:

pid 1 (xaloader): rtl8012_rec_packet: out of mem (buff_alloc failed)

Let us keep up the fight :)

Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:30 am

Hi Xerus, I'm quite confidence about the issue being something related with timings, but there are so many places where I can add delays that the "trial and error" mechanism is not an option debugging with no access to the hardware, it would be very boring for both of us.
I think one thing it could help is if you send me a video.log of the driver working in 030 mode, please use the same driver you used to make the first video. In that video some errors showed up but It seemed that the driver handled them, I would like to see if those errors appear in 030 mode too.
Also a video log in 060 mode of the last driver I sent you before it gets stuck in the infinity message loop it could give me some ideas if something changed with my last changes.

Thanks a lot!

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Mon Feb 26, 2018 6:32 am


Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Galvez » Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:33 am

Thank you!

I've attached a new driver, testing only the 060 mode is enough.
I'd need a video log please :-)

rtl8012d.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Xerus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 9:31 pm
Location: France

Re: ROM port Ethernet adapter

Postby Xerus » Tue Feb 27, 2018 6:15 am

Your latest version is a big step forward.
First I see the LED that turns on many times, the network card receives info :)
Secondly the machine is no longer intermittently stopped, the mouse moves normally.
On the other hand, there does not seem to be any exchange with the internet box.

http://falcon060.free.fr/video/latest-driver-060.3gp


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests