FALCON030 New or Secondhand keyboard.

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
RPCGAMES
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 6:32 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.
Contact:

FALCON030 New or Secondhand keyboard.

Postby RPCGAMES » Tue Dec 26, 2017 3:18 am

Hi Guys, Do you guys have a second hand keyboard for the Atari Falcon030?
Our keyboards RETURN key and 0 key on the keypad don't work.
We're programming Centron3D for Falcon030 at the moment and pressing the ENTER key on the keypad
is the only solution cos the RETURN key doesn't work.

I also herd that an Atari ST keyboard will work as well.

Please let me know. Thanks guys and Merry Christmas to all.

Pete
CEO / RPC-GAMES!

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12155
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: FALCON030 New or Secondhand keyboard.

Postby wongck » Tue Dec 26, 2017 4:43 am

Yes, the Atari ST keyboards will work on the Falcon.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2628
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: FALCON030 New or Secondhand keyboard.

Postby alexh » Tue Dec 26, 2017 1:30 pm

Get an ST keyboard and gently swap the keys

User avatar
RPCGAMES
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 6:32 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.
Contact:

Re: FALCON030 New or Secondhand keyboard.

Postby RPCGAMES » Tue Dec 26, 2017 9:22 pm

Thanks guys, I'll hunt for a Atari ST keyboard. If you know of any please let me know and I'll purchase it from you.

Pete
CEO / RPC-GAMES!

fidzen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: FALCON030 New or Secondhand keyboard.

Postby fidzen » Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:21 pm

RPCGAMES wrote:Hi Guys, Do you guys have a second hand keyboard for the Atari Falcon030?
Our keyboards RETURN key and 0 key on the keypad don't work.
We're programming Centron3D for Falcon030 at the moment and pressing the ENTER key on the keypad
is the only solution cos the RETURN key doesn't work.

I also herd that an Atari ST keyboard will work as well.

Please let me know. Thanks guys and Merry Christmas to all.

Pete
CEO / RPC-GAMES!


If the keys doesn't work it most likely needs a good clean.
I have disassembled two Falcon keyboard and cleaned all the contact surfaces under each key.
Works like a charm after that.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari Stacy 2 with 4Mb RAM and 20Mb HD.
Atari Lynx II with new LCD and VGA output.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

User avatar
1024MAK
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 584
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:58 am
Location: Looking forward to summer time in Somerset, UK...

Re: FALCON030 New or Secondhand keyboard.

Postby 1024MAK » Thu Dec 28, 2017 4:42 am

Yeah, the first step is to take it apart (take some photos as you go if you are not likely to remember how it comes apart). Then clean the gunk and dirt off. Let everything dry, the reassemble and test it again.

It is also possible that there may be a dry joint or two on the keyboard PCB. Or, if the micro controller is in a socket, that it needs pressing firmly back into it's socket.

Mark
Falcon, Atari 520STFM, Atari 1040STE, more PC's than I care to count and an assortment of 8 bit micros (nearly forgot the Psion's)

User avatar
RPCGAMES
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 6:32 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.
Contact:

Re: FALCON030 New or Secondhand keyboard.

Postby RPCGAMES » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:24 am

Thanks for the info guys. I'll take our keyboard apart and give it a good clean. I'll try the Keyboard controller too. If it's still faulty then I'll buy an ST keyboard. :)
Pete :)


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests