Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby Saturnin51 » Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:13 pm

I have an install with Magic 6.2 + NVDI 4 + Jinne. I want to be able to exchange data between my Falcon and a Linux Ubuntu PC. Except the DOS compatible format (512 Mo) can I format in an another format readable both Falcon and Ubuntu, formating cartridge Iomega 2 Go capacity ?
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12283
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby wongck » Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:46 pm

FAT32 ?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby Saturnin51 » Thu Dec 21, 2017 1:01 pm

I try with HDDriver all the avalaible format, in 512 Mo, 1 Go or 2 Go. Only the TOS-DOS format 512 Mo is readable both Atari et PC Ubuntu with the utilities Mtools. Except if I don't know a special way using a personal format that can be defined in HDDriver !

I am disappointed cause I was thinking linux format would be readable on both system. It seems it is not the case
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3925
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby joska » Thu Dec 21, 2017 1:21 pm

Not sure what you mean by "linux format", but MagiC only supports FAT and FAT32 filesystems. So if you partition/format this on Linux you must be sure to select one of these. However, this may not be enough to make this disk readable on your Atari. If you're using HD-Driver you either need a fairly new version that supports DOS partitioning, or you have to use the TOS+DOS format in HD-Driver when partitioning the disk. Which HD-Driver do you have?
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12283
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby wongck » Thu Dec 21, 2017 1:24 pm

If I remembered correctly you can define VFAT in MagiC and that should be almost like FAT32.
I don't use MagiC any more (nightmares for me) but uses Mint So I cannot help much. My SD card is FAT32 in Mint and I have no issues using that.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3925
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby joska » Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:11 pm

VFAT and FAT32 are two different things. FAT32 is the 32bit version of the FAT filesystem. VFAT is a FAT extension that allows long filenames on FAT and FAT32 filesystems.

Like you I can exchange data between my PC (Linux) and Atari using an SD-card. My Milan can access SD-cards with FAT or FAT32 without issues. I'm using HD-Driver 8.x on that machine. No MagiC tough, only MiNT.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby 1st1 » Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:10 pm

My best experience with ZIP drives (100 & 250 MB) is to format the media in the PC. I use HDDRIVER 10.x and BIGDOS.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby Saturnin51 » Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:23 pm

I find out a solution. $83 (Linux Intel) format with HDDriver (8.13) and 2Go capacity under MinT OS, readable on Ubuntu PC.

I have 3 partitions now on my Falcon 16 Mo:
- TOS partition with NVDI for Cubase Audio Falcon.
- Magic 6.2 partition with NVDI 4 and Jinnee 2.5 for wordprocessing and spreadsheet, etc
- MinT 1-18 partition with MyAES 0.96, NVDI 4 and Thing 1.27, I use it for my exchange between the PC and the Falcon.

Magic is faster than MinT, no doubt. It is necessary to run MinT with a CT60 with confort.
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby 1st1 » Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:31 pm

MiNT is much more complex, allmost like a Linux/Unix system.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3925
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby joska » Fri Dec 22, 2017 7:22 am

Saturnin51 wrote:It is necessary to run MinT with a CT60 with confort.


Not it is not. I even use it on my STE quite comfortably. You should try with XaAES or N.AES instead of MyAES. MyAES is targeted towards high-end machines like Hades/Milan/Aranym and machines with truecolour graphics cards. It might not be the fastest AES on a stock Falcon.

1st1 wrote:MiNT is much more complex, allmost like a Linux/Unix system.


Only if you add a lot of unixy stuff to it :)

http://vanillamint.atari.org
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Saturnin51
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: Iomega readable on Falcon and Windows

Postby Saturnin51 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:36 am

OK I'll try with Xaes or N.Aes. Once upon a time, I installed Vanilla. I try also to install it again.

Merry Christmas everybody. [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_17.gif]

I try Vanilla with Xaes and Teradesk. It runs well, faster than MyAes.

Aftet a while, I change MyAes for Xaes (with some troubles) on my MinT partition. With Thing the mouse is blinking and the system is as low than with Myaes. I replace Thing by Teradesk and the result is very good as on Vanilla.

So now I can execute TOS, or Magic, or MinT/Vanilla on my Falcon. It's Christmas !

I must try also N.Aes but I don't read german.
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jamesfmackenzie and 6 guests